We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice burgers, friendly atmosphere and great vibe.”
Review of Sporvejen

Sporvejen
Ranked #44 of 2,378 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
91 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice burgers, friendly atmosphere and great vibe.”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I went there coming out of a meeting with a fire in my belly and a craving for a burger. I was not dissapointed. Located on the absolutely lovely and charming Gråbrødre Square in the center of Copenhagen. The square is dominated by a large and beautiful Yggdrasil-esque tree and has a number of eateries with by and large look very good. I had made my choice however.
Its quite simple. You get burgers of a variety and thats it. I choose the bacon cheese and added some fries on the side. To sum it up. Great and fresh, trimmed down burger - none of the fancy stuff - just plain old good. The meat was lean and made to perfection. Fries were excellent, spiced in a wonderful way - and I found myself wanting the portion to be bigger. Service was friendly - mostly students, luckily bright ones. I recommend the place for its simplicity and the great location. Next time it will be a double frie session and a pint of beer to go. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Allan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    259
    44
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Mixed experience”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Went for a quick cheese-bacon-bacon burger with a colleague before a preview on the Danish movie "Dirch".

The service was fine and the taste of the burger was also ok. The reason I'm ending up the "2 bullets" is the partially raw minced meat in the middle of the beef.

If "Sporvejen" was able to avoid partially raw meat - I would end up at "3 bullets".

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LikeBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not the best burger in town - but a fantastic venue”
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Sporvejen, a good memory from my childhood - we where there on a wunderful sunny evening in Copenhagen. The area is one of the best for sitting out-side - a true gem in Copenhagen. And the restaurant has not changed. Inside still made like an old tram. And out side 10-12 tables. An informal place that only serves burgers. However, I was not impressed by the burgers - the meat was not juicy or tender. And there was a lack of taste. The fries were sad as well. The Advocado/Gucamole on my Burger was nice though. Since this is the only thing they serve, they should be able to compete on the food - but no. And the server, looked very tired. I'm hestiant to recommend this place for the food, but for the location - yes go there and get a beer.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KasperJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herning, Denmark
Level Contributor
106 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fine burgers, but they have to excercise to make their french fries better v(they are to boring). But better than the...”
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Fine burgers, but they have to excercise to make their french fries better v(they are to boring). But better than the "golden seagold".

Helpful?
Thank STLHerning
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
540 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 600 helpful votes
“Good food, cheap in comparison!”
Reviewed May 3, 2009

Our first evening in Copenhagen, we walked around looking at menus being shocked how expensive it all was. Plus, I'm a vegetarian, and that limited our options. Tired, our feet aching after a long day, we finally stumbled upon this place. The menu is limited to burgers, chicken and omelets, but the service was good, and we were pleased with the price. We did not actually go inside, but sat at an outside table, where they had blankets for those who caught a chill. We were quite satisfied with this find.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rooindie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sporvejen also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Sporvejen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing