We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grab a table, if you can.”
Review of Nyhavns Faergekro

Nyhavns Faergekro
Ranked #142 of 2,378 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Price range: $11 - $34
Cuisines: French, Danish, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Buffet, Reservations
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Description: Restaurant Nyhavns Faergekro has maintained the charming and maritime Nyhavn atmosphere. Every day the restaurant offers freshly made 'smorrebrod' the famous Danish open faced sandwiches, as well as a herring buffet with more than 10 homemade, herring specialties. Guests can also chose between 20 different homemade aquavits, brewed with handpicked berries and herbs like St John's Wort, yarrow and woodruff. The evening menu consists of simple and traditional dishes made from the best produce in season as well as a selection of desserts.
Kincardineshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Grab a table, if you can.”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We managed to grab a table for two outside, during an extremely busy, sunny, lunchtime. Being one of the first restaurants along this strip, it is always going to be busy. Looking at the menu, I wasn't impressed, not being keen on Herring or egg based, mayonnaise dishes. Our waitress, (dressed in the most unflattering dress uniform ever!) was attentive and helpful. She said she would ask the chef to prepare my meal without above ingredients and this was cheerfully. done with without any fuss. The sunny day added to the lively atmosphere and the food was all good. Even though the portions were huge, we cleaned our plates. A lovely way to spend a sunny afternoon. .

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sybil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    367
    107
    41
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
91 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Danish food in the heart of Copenhagen!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We tried this restaurant during a walk in the wonderful Nyhavn, to have a danish "frokost" in a beautiful spring day. Like most of similar places located in the Nyhavn, it has small tables by the street, a choice of danish delicatessen and good prices, considering we are actually in one of the most beautiful and touristic streets of the entire Denmark. The herring buffet proposes a wide choice of herring, marinated in lots of ways. Waiters are kind and the service is very good. We will be back for sure when walking again near the Nyhavn.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pietro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayotn, OH
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Herring anyway you like.”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

On the Nyhaven Canal. Nice location and atmosphere. The buffet is good if you like herring. First time trying it and found out I did like it. Would go to back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A good place to enjoy herrings”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We missed the herring buffet (only until 5pm) but we enjoyed a lovely tasting of 5 variation, all delicious. We also tried smoked salmon and cod and everything was really good. The location of this restaurant is really perfect, in the lovely Nyhavens street. Thus mean that the prices are higher that in other places, but I think it worth the experience. The girl that served us was really nice and helpful. The basement dinner room was a little bit cold (some guest were having dinner with the jackets on!), but I think the upper room have to be warmer.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roseruf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointing...”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Trying to understand (at least 5 minutes speaking with personnel), how i can use buffet. Get no answer. In result... Launch plate wasn't very bad, but only one thing which do not allow me to say "terrible at all" is Danish bread...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peteris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsUlrikE, Manager at Nyhavns Faergekro, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Peteris O
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our restaurant. We take great pride in giving our guests the best possible service, which is why we are very sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations, when you visited our restaurant. We have talked your experience over with our staff to ensure that no guests will have a similar experience in the future. We hope that you will pay us a visit the next time you are visiting Copenhagen, so we can give you a great experience in our restaurant.

Best regards
Nils Ulrik Egund, Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nyhavns Faergekro also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Nyhavns Faergekro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing