We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIMB.... The New Happiest Place on Earth?”
Review of Nimb Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nimb Hotel
Ranked #2 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2009

We had the good fortune of staying here twice, and were given different rooms on both occasions.
The short story is- this is one of the best (and certainly most unique) hotels we have ever stayed in.
The overall feel is more like you're staying at an eccentric wealthy relative's summer manse than a luxury hotel.
Our first room was #14, relatively small and without the incredible Tivoli view. It is in the front side of the hotel, on a very busy street across the street from Central Station. While compact, we found it lovely and it had everything the other rooms have, except a bath tub, a fireplace, and of course a good view. It was exceptionally well-designed and comfortable, and with the windows closed, we managed to get a good night's sleep.
On our second stay we were given a much larger room with an incredible view over the gardens and restaurants of Tivoli, and glimpses of beautiful old buildings beyond. Again the room was perfectly equipped, gorgeous and comfortable. There was a sitting area next to the double set of Moorish-arched windows, and a fireplace opposite the bed. Both rooms had a Bang & Olufsen TV which pivots on its stand depending on where you are using the remote from. The bathroom was breath-taking, and this time included a large and extremely comfortable freestanding tub. The Tromborg bath products are the best we've encountered anywhere and would make a lovely gift (travel-sized sets are available for purchase).
We were blown away by the food. Breakfasts are extraordinary, and guests can enjoy them in the room or in the utterly stunning Bar. Great coffee, an assortment of rustic breads and delicate Danish pastries, and a multi-tiered tray of cold meat and cheese provide a hearty start to the day. There is an even larger breakfast available, which includes more items such as eggs, and which will keep you going virtually all day long.
By all means, enjoy a perfect lunch or dinner at Restaurant Herman. Our multi-course dinner here was by far the best meal we had during our month-long trip through several countries. Herman has been assigned one Michelin star but we're sure another is on the way. We did not try the other, more casual restaurant, but heard varying things about it.
We really enjoyed the service, and found everyone we dealt with casual yet professional. There is a certain level of quirkiness here, but we really enjoyed the rather informal approach contrasted with the edgy elegance of the decor.
We also had a ball wandering through Tivoli at different times of the day and evening. Especially charming were the older, rather decrepit rides, though there is a handful of fast and scary ones that older kids would love. I should mention that well-behaved children would enjoy staying at Hotel Nimb, but it perhaps is not ideal for more rambunctious kids.
Do not expect tranquility here. There will be quite a bit of noise in your room. Maintenance crews prepare the grounds quite early, and rehearsals for various shows and parades will be going on constantly before Tivoli opens at around 11 a.m. The sounds will continue all day and well into the evening. Just get into the spirit of the place, and enjoy the music, the delighted squealing of children having the time of their lives, smile and remind yourself how fortunate you are to be staying in one of the most special places you'll ever see.
I must agree with other reviewers on a few things. A shade on our skylight would have been a welcome addition, and management should invest in carpets for the main hallway, with is rather echoey with the sound of clattering high-heeled shoes night and day. Also we had an odd incident late one night- our rain shower started leaking, quite furiously, while someone in a neighboring room was showering. I do hope Management can sort these few small issues out.
Thank you, all staff at Hotel Nimb, for your kindness and generosity during our 2 wonderful stays.
You MUST stay here if you're going to Copenhagen. This is truly one of those special, magical places that you will never forget.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank travelmikeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 367 of 440 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2009

It’s all about the food at the Nimb. This new Copenhagen hotel is housed in a dramatically-restored building with two restaurants, two bars, a dairy, a food store and a hot dog stand. And that explains the quirky charms of the hotel: it’s not really a hotel with great food, it’s a great gastronomic space that has become a hotel, too.

During our stay we ate in one of the two restaurants (we skipped the Michelin-starred Hermann because their prix fixe menus didn’t really work for vegetarians), spent time in the bar and the wine bar and bought food (and chocolate) in the food store. The wine bar is located in the basement of the building and the cozy ambiance is contrasted with long, almost German-Biergarten-style tables and rows and rows of wine bottles on the wall. We visited on a weeknight and had the place to ourselves, but the friendly wine steward told us that on some nights the place can be jammed.

As a hotel, the Nimb is unique. It has only 13 rooms in two wings with a cavernous bar in between them (a former ballroom) that connects the two wings of the hotel where the rooms are located. The bar has hardwood floors and comfortable, small-scaled furniture, which adds a slightly odd sense to the large scale of the room, but we enjoyed having breakfast there in the morning and drinks there at night. The staff was friendly, even if we were only walking through the bar to our room: the bar serves as kind of a hallway too, because if you’re staying in the far wing, you have to walk through it to get to the rooms.

And those rooms. We had a lovely junior suite with a fantastic bathroom and even more wonderful view of Tivoli Gardens. The platform bed was comfortable, but not the best we’ve slept in. Each room blends antique furnishings and modern style (they all have Bang and Olufsen TVs, for example). The rooms are charming, but they do take some getting used to - they have armoires instead of closets and the floors are hardwood instead of carpet.

We visited the Nimb in late May, so it was bright in Copenhagen for much of the day. It was odd that the skylight in our room had no shade - we got used to sleeping through the sunlight in the early morning, but if you’re a sleeper who likes the dark, make sure to ask for a room with no skylight.

We also found the lack of air conditioning a bit of a surprise in a hotel of this caliber. Yes, Copenhagen is a northern European city, but it does get warm in the summer. Fortunately, the hotel brought us a fan to use at night, but it was odd to be staying in a such a high-end hotel and having to rely on a portable room fan to be comfortable.

The service in the Nimb is uniquely Danish and quite good once you get used to the different rhythms of life in this country. Copenhagen is not known for good hotels (there are surprisingly few very good high-end hotels there although that is slowly changing) and we had the feeling that the Nimb is probably the best of the new breed of hotels that have been opened in Copenhagen in the past few years. It’s very expensive, but if you can get a good deal, it’s a worthwhile, and enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MJPBAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2009

This interesting property overlooks the central tivoli gardens; on the weekends that means bands and horses and carriages marching in the afternoon right underneath your window and it a wonderfully festive feeling to be overlooking the gardens and to be able to use your room key to walk through them at all open hours. Great place to bring the kids and for something of a more authentic local experience than the regular hotel thing. The rooms are decorated in an offbeat modern danish manner and the bathroom of my junior suite was quite large. Most of the rooms seemed to be decorated around the same theme if not all the same size. Breakfast and dinner in the brasserie were decent but nothing outstanding; in fairness I can't say I'm a big fan of Denmark cooking based on what I had and I was a bit disappointed considering the fuss this hotel makes over its food. The fine dining menu was a fixed menu nearly all meat and shellfish so I didn't go there since I don't eat those things. Service was friendly. What you don't get here is a gym (although you can use the one in the hotel down the street), or a spa or a bellman outside the hotel, but basically all the other stuff is fine. The other issues are that there is no A/C so you have to keep your windows open which means there is some noise from large outdoor clocks that chime and cleaning in the gardens in the morning, but it really was not bad enough for me to complain and I assume that A/C is hardly ever needed here -- this might be a real problem if you were here during a hot period though. I am told to avoid room 14 which faces the street and train station. I met some travelers checking in who were refugees from the D'Angleterre hotel which I've been told for several years now is overrated. Location right across from the central station is also a big plus; you have tons of taxis, buses and trains to get you anywhere you want to go.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 649ic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2008

This is a small luxurious boutique hotel backing onto Tivoli gardens appearing Taj Mahalesque. We booked directly (getting a great deal compared to the usual rack rate) and speciifically selected a room (there are only 13). All rooms have their own fire places and the furnishings were very comfortable. The rooms still looked brand new. The only minor negative was the shower door which could have been a better fit (they are rectifying this shortly). The staff were extremely helpful, showing us around their fantastic deli, suggesting restaurants and places of interest.

We also had an embarrasing incident with the fireplace (i forgot to open the vent, smoking out the room) which the staff dealt with in a very nice manner. We found the hotel conveniently situated with no more than a 15 minute walk to any attraction. In fact it is just across the road from the main station so we were in our room within 30 minutes of touching down at the airport (don't be tempted to waste money on a taxi, the journey by train is idiot proof).

The restaurant in the hotel is a must, we sat by the chefs on the stools which was a real treat.

This hotel was exactly what we were looking for and we are extremely fussy customers (it's not unusual for my wife to say don't unpack before she's double checked the room).

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank fussycustomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank kristianv432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: どのお部屋も素敵ですが、予算に応じて広さが選べます。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yuji W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Heidi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#4 of 118 in Copenhagen
339 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,620 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#9 of 118 in Copenhagen
314 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#13 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,514 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nimb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nimb Hotel

Address: Bernstorffsgade 5, Copenhagen 1577, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#2 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#10 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: $420 - $1,318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nimb Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Nimb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nimb Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing