We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem In Copenhagen”
Review of Nimb Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nimb Hotel
Ranked #2 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Gem In Copenhagen”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Regretfully, It has taken me about two years to write this review. However, Anthony Bourdain's show on Copenhagen this week brought back so many memories that I felt I should write. The Nimb is a beautiful boutique hotel located right on Tivoli Garden. You could not ask for a better location. Entertainment. Dining. Shopping. Copenhagen has plenty of hotels, but not many good ones in my opinion. The Nimb stands head and shoulders above all others. The rooms are spacious. The decor is a bit spare ( not uncommon in Denmark) but lovely and comfortable. The views into Tivoli can be magnificent. The upstairs bar is such a great room, beautifully designed with lots if cozy places to sit and relax. The hotel restaurants all were excellent.

Above all, I have to commend the service. It was top notch and always gracious. My husband took quite ill at The Nimb ( with pneumonia) and was hospitalized for nine days. We had only planned on staying two nights, and I was there for nine. I stayed in several rooms, ate many meals, and interacted with many team members. During this difficult time everyone was so incredibly wonderful to me. They even sent flowers to my husband. They went out of their way to be helpful. They were flawless in their service. I am incredibly grateful to have been at The Nimb during this difficult time. I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    64
    13
    7
    8
See reviews for
66
219
13
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Has to be the best place to stay in Copenhagen! A great hotel with an attached theme park to it. Hotel staff was very welcoming and friendly. Food on the property was not too bad as well. Had breakfast, lunch and dinner too during my 3 day visit. Location is good too. One small incident by the bar, outside the patio, a staff came by and rudely said to smoke outside the property. She pointed out to the corner which was only 2 feet away. Said that where I am smoking, the hotel guest can smell the smoke. What would the difference of 2 feet do? The person concern works at the bar at night. Watch out people, we have a potential thorn on this rose. Either than that all is well at this hotel.

Room Tip: Best view is garden view. Noisy during the day time but at night can see theatre from room. Pretty a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ItsEzry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel because it was listed in two booking agencies as 5 star. It was very expensive but failed by a long way to live up to 5 star expectations. With only a dozen rooms it is way too small to have the facilities expected in a 5 star hotel but perhaps the listing as "boutique" should warn potential guests of that. On the positives:
1 The room decor was nice, an eclectic mix of old distressed furniture and modern design, put together well but not amazing.
2. Handy walking distance to town, and the tourist information centre. Directly across the road from the central railway station.
The negatives;
1. There are wooden floors throughout . This means you can hear chairs scraping in adjacent rooms and even the corridor has no carpeting outside some rooms. You WILL hear your neighbours arrive and leave.
2. The hotel is wedged between a main road and an amusement park, which was fortuitously closed for our stay. Despite this maintenance people starting early in the morning to set up fixtures for future events with tractors cruising by under the hotel windows.
3 The hotel reception area is tiny and there is nowhere to sit and wait for someone.
4. No air conditioning.
5 Finally my biggest gripe was the housekeeping. After a night of wheezing I wiped down the top of a large wardrobe to find it black with dust. Floors needed to be mopped more thoroughly too.
Copenhagen has a seeming shortage of 5 star options but in most cities around the world the Nimb would not even rank as a decent 4 star option. The price, perhaps reflecting the lack of competition, is outrageous. Book somewhere else and book early!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MaggieGong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maghera, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Upon starting this review I must make a special thanks to Peter the hotel manager for arranging all the bits and pieces and meeting space for our time in Copenhagen.

The Nimb Hotel is a stunning SLH Property (Small Luxury Hotel) which has a convenient location just 1 minute from the train station. The hotel is designed with clean, neat lines throughout and finished to a high standard. The breakfast in the morning is stunning and well laid out – the coffee was just like an Italian coffee. The restaurant/bar area is perfect to hang out and chill.
We used the hotels meeting facilities which is, interestingly, situated within the Tivoli gardens. The meeting room had all the facilities one needs with complimentary water (still and sparkling) and coffee.

The hotel is joined together with a bakery which is also a must to go in for some Danish pastries.
Overall a wonderful time in the Nimb Hotel and will most certainly be back.

Not allot of rooms (17) so book in advance!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank europelover26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Beautiful setting within Tivioli...wonderful restaurant suggestions and very helpful in all other aspects. Most expensive hotel in Copenhagen...unfortunately no air conditioning. Lovely morning breakfast with special seeded flat bread (don't forget to ask for the recipe!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpc1424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Nimb is a small boutique hotel that is part of a large restaurant complex in Tivoli. We stayed only one night, but loved the place. There are only about 14 rooms, each of them different. We found ours to be very comfortable. The service is excellent on every count. The location is central, right across from the train station. How good that is for you depends on what you are doing and why you are in Copenhagen. You get Tivoli, whether you want it or not. The hotel is at the "quiet" end of the park, near the band shell, not the amusement park. You can come and go as you please from Tivoli as a Nimb guest. We enjoyed the view, the activity, and the opportunity to walk around Tivoli (which is now an urban amusement park, not a quiet garden as maybe it once was). We stayed on a Saturday night in July, so it was probably as busy as it gets.This would not be for everyone, but it worked for us. A summer visitor will probably have the windows open. I don't recall if there is air conditioning in the rooms (it is rare in northern Europe); we were there on a relatively cool, rainy day. In the winter, with the windows closed, you won't hear much from the park.

There is a wide choice of restaurants in the hotel complex, in the park, and in the immediate area. We enjoyed the hotel's three meal restaurant for breakfast and lunch, and snacks at the Anderson bakery in the same building. If you are taking a train, grab a sandwich from Anderson's. It is both cheaper and much better than anything you will get on the train or in the station.

Cabs are abundant, with the train station across the street.

Yes it is expensive, perhaps the most expensive place in Copenhagen. It is for the upscale traveler. You get what you pay for, which is not always the case. It turns out that it is not all that much more expensive than the big chain hotels in an expensive city, especially if you are only staying one or two days. This is an excellent urban boutique hotel on every count. We found Tivoli on balance to be amusing for a one day stay, just be aware that it is very much there. We would pay the premium and stay here again for the staff, the food, the rooms, the location and, in fact, the opportunity to come and go into Tivoli as we pleased and watch the birds and the people.

Room Tip: Talk to the hotel about what is available. Some rooms on the second floor require you to go through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spunkymoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen, Norway
Level Contributor
65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

For our yearly trip to Copenhagens Tivoli Garden we decided to try out Nimb as it is as close as it gets to Tivoli. We booked online the only room without view direct towards Tivoli ( cheaper), and we were so happy when they upgraded us to a large room with fantastic view to the beatyful Tivoli Garden. The room was great as well as the bathroom. Linen and towels fantastic!
The breakfast is very delicate, all organic and fresh with small details to make you happy.
We also had dinner at Nimb Brasserie - also very good.

We had a great stay at Nimb.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrammenDrammen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,814 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
200 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#10 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel D'Angleterre
Hotel D'Angleterre
#1 of 116 in Copenhagen
726 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,271 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nimb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nimb Hotel

Property: Nimb Hotel
Address: Bernstorffsgade 5, Copenhagen 1577, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#2 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#2 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#10 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nimb Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Nimb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nimb Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing