We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to start our European Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nimb Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nimb Hotel
Ranked #5 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great way to start our European Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

My wife and I were guests at the Nimb Hotel on the nights of May 22 & 23, 2011 (Room 8).

We had a wonderful 2 night stay prior to our Baltic Cruise on the Emerald Princess.

I own the Ocean Lodge and The Lodges at Cannon Beach in Cannon Beach, Oregon and your hospitality was as good or better than ours. I know very good service when I see it.

From the moment we arrived at the Nimb and Henrik help unload our bags, to the moment we left for the cruise dock, our stay at the Nimb was PERFECT.

The check-in procedure is very efficient and allowed us to get to our room quickly where we unpacked, retrieved our cameras and set off into the City for our first look at Copenhagen. The Nimb is centrally located so anywhere we wanted to go was just a short walk or train ride away. And the access to the Tivoli Gardens is a real plus. We were pleasantly surprised to walk out of the “back” of the hotel and see the Moorish architecture and the night lighting which is so different from the main street entrance.

We had breakfast twice on the veranda and met both the cook and the server - both were very friendly and helpful as we picked out a true Danish Pastry and ordered eggs and bacon. The warm blankets on the second morning and the hot coffee were a perfect way to start the day.

Thank you to Kuno for the time spent with us explaining the train system to the Little Mermaid and the Botanical Garden. When we return we will venture further out into the countryside since we are comfortable with the train system. Thank you to Michel in the upstairs bar who suggested several restaurants for our group and the one we selected was just perfect for eight. Thank you to Henrik for your Tivoli suggestion on the first night - although you should have told us about that roller coaster ride that goes upside down.

Our room was wonderful and the housekeeping service was quick and efficient. On the first night we requested a floor fan and it was delivered promptly. We prefer some type of airflow in the room at night and the fan along with the open window and the very comfortable bed made for great sleeping. We will try the fireplace if it is cold next time we visit.

Our best memories of the Nimb are in the upstairs bar with the eight of us after a long day of walking. It is such a light and open space and we met other repeat guests who said they would always stay at the Nimb when in Copenhagen. So will we.

Room Tip: Let the hotel pick your room. They are all wonderful. We liked Room 8.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank OregonStateTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    61
    12
    7
    8
See reviews for
63
204
13
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

Nimb is an odd hotel. Not one of the world's greats, but beautifully done inside. Michelin-starred restaurant, beautiful eclectic scandinavian design, a Great Hall that doubles as a bar and attentive customer service. But it's in an odd building, oddly overlooking the Tivoli themepark and backing onto the station. Which makes it a little odd. Or maybe eccentric. It's expensive but definitely nice, IF you get one of the rooms overlooking the gardens. In fact there is only ONE room that doesn't overlook the gardens. It's terrible and overlooks a taxi rank, a 4 lane highway and the train station. Don't make that mistake and you;ll have a lovely time here.

Room Tip: AVOID the one cheaper room overlooking the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skimeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for three very expensive nights in late July. Our one room suite was the most expensive we've ever stayed in. An excellent experience for most is a balance between cost and product. In the case of the Nimb, the cost wasn't justified by the experience.

The staff was lovely. But the cable wouldn't work properly, our door was left unlocked, dinner reservations that were to have been made weren't and the lack of any carpeting made for very loud neighbors. It was, for the money, not worth it.

This is an experience that was colored by how dear its cost was. Had the Nimb charged 30% of its rate, I would have felt great about the hotel. But for its sky-high price, it was a dud.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDGrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
150 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

What a great hotel! Centrally located ,full of quirky character and really outstanding food.
Many hotels in Northern Europe are quite simply dull and at the risk of "stereotyping"effecient and clinical.This property is a very pleasing antidote.
Somehow the sometimes erratic service is in keeping and easily forgiven.
A previous review concluded that a second Michelin star is on the way for Restaurant Herman.Couldn't agree more .This is cooking out of the very top of the draw.Immaculate sourcing,truly accomplished cooking served with flair and imagination. Having eaten at a UK 2 star property the week before departing on this evidence the mystery inspectors of the red book need another look at Herman.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank second row
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

Highlights:
- great service
- dinner at Herman was exceptional and amongst one the best meals I have ever had with an emphasis on what is currently in season and a fine balance between being artistic without being too pretentious. I will not be surprised to see them get a second Michelin star is they keep this up. The sommelier was delightful too and paired out courses for us.
- breakfast the next morning at the Brasserie was also wonderful
- nice sized room and bathroom
- free internet
- wonderful location

Lowlights:
- no parking although the hotel did arrange parking across the road at the Radisson Blu hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pacman888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

I am conflicted in my review of Nimb Hotel... this place is wonderful, except for the street-side Room 14, which is where I was.

*Nothing beats the location - right between the train station and Tivoli.
*The service and food were both exceptional (breakfast was amazing).
*Free access to Tivoli was definitely a highlight - I ate many meals in the park and it was so much fun to be able to wander around.

Room 14 is nicely decorated, very clean, and the street noise was not the issue for me (though it might be for someone not used to living on a busy street). It was very hot in Copenhagen while I was there and the staff was amenable to helping and brought a fan to our room. I think that just in general that room is not worth the price you are paying for it and in itself doesn't meet the spectacular feeling of the hotel.

That being said, I still had a great experience at Nimb because they work to give you that. (Thank you to the guy at the front desk who suggested Le Le for dinner - it was perfect).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GooseNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
us
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

From the moment I stepped into the lobby, I could not have felt more welcomed....the staff is very friendly, not in the least stuffy....the hotel is a lovely mix of modern and antique....the rooms are very comfortable....the bar room is a real wow experience.....there are at least 4 eating venues available on premises and then there is the Tivoli Garden eating places which, it seems, can be quite good.....you have free access to the Gardens which is good, the noise from Tivoli would be my only 'compliant'....Nimb is located across from the central train station, so easy to get around, but you can easily walk to most tourist places from Nimb.....I look forward to being a guest there again....maybe while Tivoli is closed!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelgal092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#7 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,145 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
Copenhagen Marriott Hotel
#10 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel D'Angleterre
Hotel D'Angleterre
#1 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#22 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nimb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nimb Hotel

Property: Nimb Hotel
Address: Bernstorffsgade 5, Copenhagen 1577, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#2 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#10 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nimb Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nimb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nimb Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing