We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy food at reasonable prices!!”

Frk. Barners Kaelder
Ranked #90 of 2,310 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Inner Vesterbro
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Yummy food at reasonable prices!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

I ate here multiple times and all the food was good. The prices were by far better than in most places. We had the snitzel, liver, mince meat and stew and all were great. We went here based on the recommendation of our hotel Star Hotel and it was very close to the train station. Note prices duing lunch are much better. We spent an average of 40 usd per meal per person during dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tunera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    441
    118
    47
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shandon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“So average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Herring apart, what is "traditional Danish"about lamb chops,liver,wiener schnitzel and plaice? Nothing,actually. No chef here,just a cook. Boiled potatoes and frozen peas a speciality. The apple cake was a thin mysterious base, with 5cms of pureed apples dumped on top. Truly awful.
Restaurant was busy. Not too many discerning diners here.......

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tbonjour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A very nice meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I had the streaky bacon and my wife had the soup. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was very good and seemed reasonably priced - for Denmark (more like Australian prices than Central Europe prices). We also had the apple cake for desert which also tasted great.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MajesticM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
375 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Proper Traditional Danish Country Food in a Relaxed Environment, Reasonable Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Hi this is a small cosy propper Danish Restaurant serving what I am told is very traditional fayre. I have to say the menu was varied and interesting the food was well prepared and cooked the service was bright and pleasant. The food was enjoyable tried the Herring 4 ways was very good as a starter, and traditional stew also very good. Portion sizes are generous and the pricing is fair in this expensive city. There is a undercover sort of Patio area at the front and the main restaurant is in the cellar, it has a busy feel and is a little cramped for space. I would certainly recomment if you want to try some real Danish cooking and dishes. I will return next time in this city for sure. Thanks good experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shart7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Busy place....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I'm staying across the street (Hotel Axel Gouldsmen) and went to Frk for dinner; obviously very convenient. I made reservations earlier in the day and he was able to squeeze us in. The restaurant has indoor & a patio seating. The indoor is in the basement, but its fairly nice. The service was VERY slow; had to wait 5 minutes for a beer, the food was wonderful; we both had the lamb chops that came with roasted potatoes and garlic. I think we just caught them on a busy night; give me a shot if you want authentic Danish food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yates26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frk. Barners Kaelder also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Frk. Barners Kaelder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing