We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicous local food in wonderful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cap Horn

Cap Horn
Ranked #109 of 2,308 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Pub, Gastropub, European, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Description: You will find Cap Horn a short walk down the cobblestone street of the charming quay, Nyhavn. Every day Cap Horn's chefs prepare dishes based on the seasonal offerings of fresh produce. Cap Horn prefers to use organic produce and all of the ingredients are carefully selected with a focus on quality and with consideration for our climate.
Scotland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Delicous local food in wonderful location”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Situated right on Nyhaven, the most photogenic spot in Copenhagen, with tables outside. There are so many restaurants here, all vying for custom and we were lucky with this choice. We shared a light lunch of 3 different open sandwiches and some herring and every component part was delicious, including the bread. The restaurant was very busy so the service was rather less prompt than we would have wished. However, the staff were very friendly and obliging.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HeckyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    590
    192
    60
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Sor-Trondelag, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Frk Henriette and rest of the crew made a perfect meal to us!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

After two weeks roadtrip in Italy, visiting various restaurants (from excellent to not_so_good...) it was a feast coming to Cap Horn! Met by a smiling Prinsesse Line we were placed at a good table by the window. Frk Henriette followed up an served us delicious food; burger for the young ones and "Frokosttallerken med sild" and beer with snaps for the older ones. It was a perfect meal, tasty and well balanced amount and price! Thank you all for a work well done, I can surely recommend Cap Horn for a nice, Danish meal!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Conrad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thoiry, Rhone-Alpes, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food, great view”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I ate here because we had read about it in Lonely Planet. It seemed popular with both tourists and locals as it was completely full (outside). We had the herring starter and the smorrebrod lunch menu and both were delicious. My boyfriend and I shared both the starter and the main simply because we wanted a light lunch, but it was also a good way to reduce the cost. We still left full and had thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful view one has of Nyhavn whilst eating at Cap Horn.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stanford E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Most awful restaurant I have ever eaten. Don't waste time and money.”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Ok. The place is located in the tourist strip in CPH - so you know where are you getting in. But still, you think it cannot be so bad... The portions are for birds and the prices are ridiculously expensive even or such a city. Example: my lamb was TWO bites and it costed 25 eur. Other dishes were also disappointing. They charge 3.5 euro for the bread. Please don't waste time and money. A kebab place is ways more value than this.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathrine U, Manager at Cap Horn, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Maott
Thank you for writing a review of our restaurant. We take great pride in choosing the best produce in season for our menu, which is why we are very sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations, when you visited our restaurant. We have taken your critique to heart and will do everything to ensure, that no other guests will have a similar experience in the future.

Kind regards
Kathrine Ulrich, Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Mixed Experience”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I ate here a few weeks ago and had a fantastic meal with a small group of colleagues at a table overlooking the front. The waitress was fantastic and the food super. On the strength of this first visit I took a larger party a week later and had a completely different experience. Whilst the food remained good the service was terrible, bordering on ridiculous, and really spoilt the meal. I felt very embarrassed after recommending this to my colleagues and won’t take the gamble it might be great / or very poor so it’s unlikely we’ll return.

Just shows that poor service really can ruin what might have been an excellent meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobeTrottingChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cap Horn also viewed

 
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Cap Horn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing