We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful atmosphere”
Review of Cap Horn

Cap Horn
Ranked #118 of 2,458 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: French, Danish, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Description: You will find Cap Horn a short walk down the cobblestone street of the charming quay, Nyhavn. Every day Cap Horn's chefs prepare dishes based on the seasonal offerings of fresh produce. Cap Horn prefers to use organic produce and all of the ingredients are carefully selected with a focus on quality and with consideration for our climate.
edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“wonderful atmosphere”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

It was freezing cold when we visited last month. The welcome from the staff here warmed us instantly. Food was superb and the hot chocolate at the end of my meal was best I have ever had! Gorgeous log fire burning in the background and I would recommend a meal here if you visit this city.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lynniemac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    624
    205
    62
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely place to eat on cold evening”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Spent ages looking for somewhere serving Danish food and found Cap Horn on Tripadvisor. Very efficient and polite staff, excellent food and a roaring fire which made all of the difference on a cold snowy evening!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldmonkeyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Just what you'd expect by the harbour, and it was good!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We happen to be staying a street away so decided to have a look at this famous harbour and we were not disappointed as it was very pretty. We were not sure where to eat and as one of our colleagues is a vegetarian we had to screen all menus first. This restaurant appealed to us because of the friendly staff at the door and were not disappointed. Inside its typical 'harbour' style if that makes sense, a bit dark and so comfortable on a cold evening like we had.. The service was good, the waitresses knew what they were serving when asked questions ( always a good sign !) the food is based on organic ingredients and it tastes good. We didn't take starters we went straight on the main course and it was tasty our only complaint was that the portions were rather small, therefore we had no choice but order desserts.. I recommend the cheese platter with Danish organic cheeses, it was delicious. All in all, a good experience, good food and nice place that kept a certain feel of authenticity in a very touristic area. It was pricey however not much more than other places in DK. Btw good beer as well.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank veronique d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, England
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Friendly and good in a great position”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Went because we were staying round the corner at the Admiral Hotel so passed Nyhavn all the time, and because of the the TA reviews. Weren't disappointed. Really friendly, welcoming service. Super atmosphere - this was March and bitterly cold so we were of course inside and the blazing log fire was a nice touch. Food was very good rather than special. Not cheap but nothing in Copenhagen is, certainly with the exchange rate to sterling as it is now. What was impressive was that the quality, service and pricing was as good as it was given its position in what must be the most touristy spot in Copenhagen. In most European cities you'd avoid places in such a prime position because they'd either be tourist-traps or mega-expensive or both. This was none of those things, just good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A&A_F-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just a great place to eat and chill”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Can't recommend this restuarant more. Casual relaxed atmosphere, good food, lovely service. Eaten here on several occasions when visiting Copenhagan and always recommend to visitors.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Newmains33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cap Horn also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Cap Horn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing