We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst meal in Scandinavia”
Review of Restaurant Koefoed

Restaurant Koefoed
Ranked #67 of 2,350 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Price range: $41 - $165
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Description: Vi bor under gadeplan i lyse og smukke rammer med hvaelvede buer og hyggelige kroge. Vores gaester kan bade finde et stille hjorne for to og nyde at vaere del af et storre selskab. Pa Restaurant Koefoed byder vi pa dejlig mad & vin, den bedste service og de hyggeligste omgivelser.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Worst meal in Scandinavia”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Recommended by the Hotel d'Angleterre. Attractive small informal restaurant with lovely, knowledgable servers. Everything else was downhill. They are very proud that everything comes from one particular island in Denmark. The beer was bitter,the wine choices poor, and the menu and thus choices minute. The only thing large was the bill. The fish was tasteless and the pork so fatty it was not edible. There was nothing at all attractive about the few dessert choices. We were more than disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Warren K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    114
    42
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely Dining Experience”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

3 Australian couples all fresh from a wonderful Seabourn cruise, still found this lovely little restaurant a delightful experience. The food was beautifully prepared and presented. It was different and delicious and all members of staff seem to really love their work. Quite expensive - but then, that's Scandinavia. The quality is there!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KerryM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Over rated, disappointed.”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We were expecting to much! They had 3 entrees, a beef, pork, and fish. So a very limited menu. 2 desserts plus a cheese selection. The food was fresh, and they are very proud of the 'farm to table concept' but it really was not that good, and you can't ask them to change any item, or alter what they want to do. The food was good but not great, not worth what they are charging. Look around, lots of great dinning options in Copenhagen

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MCD0601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meal on the trip!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had dinner at Koefoed and it was so good we returned the next day for lunch. Recommended by the concierge at the local Marriott Hotel. We found the food very fresh and the flavors just great. We were at the end of a cruise and this (dinner) was the best meal of the trip-even though Seabourn did an excellent job with the food on the cruise. We wanted a low key, quieter place for dinner and this was it as well. Service was attentive and friendly but not too much.
Very highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
181 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Top marks for effort, but didn't hit the spot”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

From the confirmation of our online reservation, to seeing us out after lunch it is apparent that the whole team is trying hard to please in a tasteful, stylish way.

But for me, restaurants are pretty much all about food. Some of the smorrebrod were tasty, but my generous chunk of pork and a big piece of crackling were missing an essential ingredient - pork fat. I'm sure this took skill and effort to achieve. The other dishes seemed to me to have too many ingredients - more fuss for less enjoyment. Other diners however, looked to be enjoying their food very much.

The wine list has a good selection of classic appellations.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kuaychap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Koefoed also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Restaurant Koefoed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing