We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Indian/Pakistani food and with light spices”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurant Sahil

Restaurant Sahil
Ranked #393 of 2,310 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $75
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Indian/Pakistani food and with light spices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Although the restaurant is owned by a Pakistani individual, but seems more like an Indian affair.
The food is good and with light spices added to suit most of the customers. The ambience is good and one can always here some old hindi film songs played in the background. The food is bit expensive but still holds good for people away from home or people who want
to try these out.
The restaurant is quite busy in the evenings but one can wait and spend some time at the canal just opposite it or avail take aways which actually is faster in terms of service. The staff is also quite helpful and courteous. The seating arrangements are not that comfortable, suiting mostly to an average sized individual.
The menu however is quite limited and could be expanded. Maybe some more famous recipies could be added to the menu example "biryani". The serving quantity is also quite good but one needs to be sure what is being ordered. The starters are really good especially the "kebabs". The restaurant serves bith vegetarian and non-vegetarian food.
Overall it's a good experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shadabshaikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    82
    29
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious food for tasty take out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Maybe it's your first night in Copenhagen and you're staying nearby. You didn't sleep much on the plane and the idea of sitting in a restaurant for an hour (or more) trying to stay awake until the food arrives isn't appealing. Calling in a take-out order that will be ready when you get there is pretty tempting. Vindaloo chicken - outstanding and authentic. Eating it in your PJs in your hotel room - even better. The restaurant will encourage you to order rice, but if you get naan, rice is optional. Rice is rice, but good naan (and this naan is GREAT) is even better. Leftovers? No worries-they're great cold for breakfast. They didn't pack forks or spoons so be sure to ask for one if you don't have one in your suitcase.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paris4LDMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Level Contributor
529 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

We choose this really based on it's nearness to the City Hotel as it was raining very heavily and generally we like spicy food. It has a great position facing the water though they don't really make the best of the building or the ambiance and I'd never recommend it for a romantic meal. That said however the service was fine, everyone was pleasant and the food which we requested spicy was wonderful. Everything tasted different and the flavours were excellent. We eat Indian/Pakistani food fairly often and these dishes were some of the best we've had in a long time. Based on the food alone I would give a 5* rating but not overall.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toniShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
185 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Good Food - Service Could Be a Little Friendlier Though”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We enjoyed the meal but were served by somewhat grumpy and bored Indian men! That's the only thing that took the edge of this but we did enjoy the food!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MishasVineyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

I recently went to this restaurant twice within four weeks. Both times were fantastic. In fact the first visit was NYE and my son and I arrived with no booking.
To our surprise although they were booked out they made room for us as long as we were finished within two hours. I thought that was very accommodating of them.
Food is very good, inexpensive, (strange for Denmark). The staff are very pleasant and the position of the restaurant facing the harbour is delightful.
Can't fault it. Well done!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank gardenia09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Sahil also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Restaurant Sahil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing