We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thirty-five Years and still a Treasure!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant l'Alsace

Restaurant l'Alsace
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
Restaurant l'Alsace is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #323 of 2,286 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French, European, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Lookout Mountain, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thirty-five Years and still a Treasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

It's been 25 years since we first discovered this special cozy restaurant. And because of Josephine, the daughter of the founder, it continues to be our first choice in Copenhagen. The location is so convenient to the Stroget and Nyhaven. The food is delightful, especially the Pate Terrine. Spectacular white asparagus is in season and fabulous. The freshest of fish every day, as well as very popular oysters. Please read the other reviews as they all agree with us and we with them. We tried to go to a new trendy restaurant each night but always returned to L'ALSACE! - for three nights in a row!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    69
    31
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good find, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Was looking for an eatery around central Copenhagen, near Neuhaven and came across this place. Was going to go to another eatery literally across the strett but it was very busy so opted for this one instead.

The menu was fairly interesting and me being a fish fan, was delighted by a 4 course meal they offered. Started with fresh oysters - fantastic! - and then the terrine de foie gras - wonderful! The main course was gilthead with vegeatables, very tasty indeed. finished off witha selection of French cheeses - exquisite! The service was efficient, if a little slow but that was due to the fact they got very busy about 30mins after I arrived and there were only 2 waitresses for about 20 tables!

I had a longish wait between my 2 entrees and the main course, the waitress mentioned she had allowed me to "digest my starters" before producing the main course. However, they could have asked whether I minded, that was the only bad point of the evening.

When the bill came, no surprises. 650DKK was worth every penny........and remember Copenhagen isn't cheap!

Overall very good food and will most definitely be going back again when next in town.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bertie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clasical french dinner.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

My cousins sudden craving for oysters triggered me to suggesting this Copenhagen Classic.
I t has recently had some harsh reviews in local newspapers. The critique has been about "not following trends", "old fashioned" and so on. It is true that if you need to hang out with the gastro in crowd, this may not be for you. BUt if you - like me - value the clasical french cuisine you may spend an enjoyable evening.

We had the house aperitif (cremant w. honey) which was good. Followed by two kinds of oysters, Dansish & french. We had a glass of cremant with the oysters. The friendly waiter made the recomendatione .. and he did well. The oysters as well as the cremant were great.

Main course: we felt classic - so we went for the Tournedos Rossini (steak of tenderloin, with slided fois gras on top. When done right this ish is close to unbeatable. We wantetd the steaks rare. They were as rare as they should be. And warm in the center at the same time. Very nice indeed. We shared a bottle of cahteau neuf du pape with the main course. My choice - and a good one.

Dessert: Todays dessert was Tarte Citron Marangué .. another french classic. We couldn't resist. It was delicious.

We finished the eveing with two coffees and I had an armagnac.

The price: DKK 2000

This is a bit over the top - but eating out in copenhagen is very expensive. We could have taken the set menu and cut the cost significantly .. but if you go for oysters and the most expensive main course on the menu, you are bound to have your wallet punished :-)

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bartholdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, East Sussex
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Gourmet dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

We had a 5 course meal and wine menu, which we enjoyed tremendously. All the dishes were interesting and well presented and the wines complemented them perfectly. A liitle expensive though.

Helpful?
Thank pathaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

We visited this restaurant for lunch. Lovely atmosphere. Service minded staff. Top notch food! Definitely a place to try for seafood in Copenhagen.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofadof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant l'Alsace also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant l'Alsace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing