We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Wildlife Park Ever!”

Knuthenborg Safari Park
Ranked #1 of 26 things to do in Maribo
Certificate of Excellence
Flagler Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“The Best Wildlife Park Ever!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This place is advertised as a place to take your kids. I guess it is now a kids' world. BUT, we are dedicated nature and wildlife photographers who don't really like zoos. . . and we absolutely loved this place! This is the closest you will come to many African animals in a good simulation of their natural habitat without spending thousands on a safari. The animals are very well cared for, as evidenced by the many, many youngsters we saw along with their moms.

You are able to drive your own car through the different areas to get up close and personal as many times as you like during your day there. . . even with rhinos, wolves and tigers. There are even some places where you can touch and interact with some of the more tame animals.

TIP:If you plan to go more than 1 day (and you should), buy an annual pass. . . it is a better deal!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sherrrrry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    84
    20
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“You have to see this - we keep coming back”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Driving into the tiger enclosure and having a wolf cub slowly walk by your car and playing with the other cubs right next to the car is an amazing experience. You could just open the car door and pet them (NO - DON'T). In the ZOO you are often equally close to them but the experience here is so different for some reason.

We drove in into both the tiger and wolf enclosure. Stopped about 10 meters from rhino's and watched them eating right next to a group of giraffes. The baby giraffe was so cute that the kids didn't want to leave anymore.

The drive through the monkey enclosure was fun (again). You get a handful of food that you and give the monkeys through a small opening in the window while driving through in a tractor pulled closed cart. The monkeys are all over the place - they jumped up with babies on their backs and all - really fun.

Food was quite good for a part - above the standard usually seen and service was friendly. Smiles and helpful attitude. There is an awesome playground right next to the restaurant - we would not have seen anything of our kids for hours if it wasn't for us keeping an eye on them - they loved it. Don't miss this part of the park - we didn't see it on our first two visits. It is right next to the Oasis Restaurant.

The all time high of every visit are the ponies on the fields just before leaving the park - our 11 year old son was lying on the ground just cuddling with a small foal. Both were having a blast I think - there are also Lamas and Camels there.

DON'T park your car close to the group and especially NOT in the shade below the big trees. The Camels WILL rub themselves against the car and side mirrors will not make it. We saw a camel almost crawling on top of a small car to scratch its chest leaving some pretty serious dents - remember the handbrake and keep in mind that the park is not liable for ANY damage to your car. We also saw cars blocked in by pony's that did not want to move and when the driver tried to move the car, the pony kicked on the side of the car. We parked further ahead where there is a big tree on the right side of the road. No animals around and still a bit of shade.

You have to see this place -

You have to see this - we have even gone when it was raining, and have had a blast.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JAJ9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Just to see these animals, it's worth going.”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Wild animals - tigers, wolves, rhinos, giraffes...- in a quite good environment: you drive in the park safely. Outside the huge reserved zone to wild animals there is an amusement parkmfor kids, with water games and adventure small tour. Not too much people. Well organized. You can eat inside at the amusement park, good prices. Perfect for families.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cristina393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greve, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A great family place”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Spend a whole day here.
Spend a few hours driving around the park to see and pet the animals. Take a timeput on one of the many green areas where you can have your lunch. There are located tables and benches around the park or otherwise take a blanket with you and picnic.

Tigers have plenty of room to romp, and you can get pretty close to them. They are large and fascinating animals. The wolves have almost the same effect, but the cups are just so cute. Also remember to take a ride on the monkeybus where you can feed the monkeys while they are jumping around and fighting over the snacks. Kids will love that.

After a few hours you can go in Smaaland and totally relax. There is plenty of room for the kids on the many playgrounds and the expanded water playground. You can even pay a little amount to get the clothes and towels tumble-dried. Here children and adults can burned their energy entirely before heading home again.

We have season tickets and since our little boy was 1 year old, he have loved to visit this park - and we as parents too!

Remember also to buy Knuthenborg's delicious strawberries, cherries, peas and new potatoes on the way out ;)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank NiauHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karkola
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“See and touch the animals”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Knuthenborg is a combination of safari, animal park, picnic area and playing ground. In some parts of the park you have to stay in the car, but in some parts you are allowed to walk amongst the animals. The animals have plenty of space, so you don't need to watch animals in small cages. There is a playing ground with climbing structures, ropes etc. for children (and of course for adults, too).

I don't know if we were just lucky, but all the animals were easy to spot and see. Wolfs and tigers were even walking in front of our car so we had plenty of time to admire them. Our daughter scared a little of the camel, which came quite close while we were out of the car. Nothing happened and I did not feel the situation to be any dangerous.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arto_Maatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Knuthenborg Safari Park also viewed

 

Been to Knuthenborg Safari Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing