We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice break”
Review of Scandic Olympic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Olympic
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Esbjerg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed for one night with my wife and daughter as part of a Scandinavian seaways break. The hotel was clean and comfortable. We had a good view of the harbor from our room.
my daughter(5) received a large pack of goodies from reception on check in. she loves the hotel mascot siggee.
all the staff were polite, efficient and helpful.
the breakfast included in the price was very good and filling.
we would use the hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank startech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 290 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

The staff are what make this hotel .It is really just an upmarket travelodge but it has very friendly staff .Ist floor is to be avoided if possible .Its ok for one night but longer than that is a bit much
Food is ok
Hotel is mainly used by business travellers and probably isnt great for families but there are much worse places out there and the staff make up for whats lacking

Room Tip: Top floors are by far the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank utmpiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My employer booked this up, and after this trip, ven with frequent user points, I will go elsewhere.

As is typical with Scandics, the hotel is a bland block, but it is situated near the town centre. Parking is troublesome, as the hotel does not have any, except at a daily rate, free p[aring is availableover the road but spaces can be hard to get if you arrive late.

My welcome was warm enough, and in fact the stafff are fine. I went to my room, which is comfortable enough, except it feels like it has not been renovated since being built, as it has a 70s radio alarm thing still stuck to the wall. But, the TV and free wireless internet works well.

Food is, well, and lets be honest here, Scandic Hotels don't vary the menu much, so you know what to expect as the menu is the same at most locations. However,last night of my stay, the management tried laying on a buffet style meal which consisted of overcooked and cold chicen in tinned beans, mashed potatoes and salad. I had worse whilst in the Air Force frankl, and had I have known how poor it was going to be I would have gone elsewhere.

As I am in town again and staying at the Britannia, I will not be staying at the Scandic again. Shame as the staff work really hard to make it work.

Room Tip: Other hotels are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jelltex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

The room was very old and smelly, also having a big dirty window pointing directly towards the street without any day curtains. Breakfast experience is poor as well; eating half baked bread and fightig over a free clean spot while it wasnt that busy. Next time go to Britannia Hotel, not that much more expensive but a completely different world.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BR-Square
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The room first given to us was kind of smelly and worn down. In fact the entire floor had an unpleasant smell.

My luck is that its my third stay here, so I asked for to get a new room - that is one of the recently refurbished rooms. Here everything had a new and fresh smell and I have nothing to complain about.

When staying at the hotel we were a total of 15 guests so I was a bit puzzled why they would not let all guest enjoy a decent room. The price is the same anyhow.

Breakfast was included and it was slightly above normal Danish breakfast standard.

Free wireless internet.

All in all I would say that the impression was a bit above average and I would not mind returning again.

Room Tip: Make sure you dont get one of the old rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Under_many_stars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel is very convenient for people working in the port, and is only a very short walk from the town centre bars and restaurants.

The food in the hotel is also very good if you can't be bothered walking into town.

Some rooms are newer and better refurbished than others. I've not figured out which yet.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GSP1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Had a room on the 5th floor which was very clean. Plenty space in the bathroom. Retaurent was nice with good selection of food available. Staff very friendly with quick service. Recommend hotel for a short stay. It is right next to main road so during the day, the noise level could be an issue.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank Balhill21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Esbjerg hotels
5.2 mi away
Hjerting Badehotel
Hjerting Badehotel
#2 of 15 in Esbjerg
240 reviews
0.4 mi away
Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel
#4 of 15 in Esbjerg
204 reviews
15.9 mi away
Ribe Byferie
Ribe Byferie
#1 of 6 in Ribe
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Hotel Dagmar
Hotel Dagmar
#2 of 6 in Ribe
257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cabinn Esbjerg Hotel
Cabinn Esbjerg Hotel
#12 of 15 in Esbjerg
127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ansgar
Hotel Ansgar
#7 of 15 in Esbjerg
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Olympic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Olympic

Address: Strandbygade 3, Esbjerg 6700, Denmark (Formerly Scandic Olympic Esbjerg City)
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Esbjerg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Esbjerg
Price Range: $127 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Olympic 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, seven-story hotel located in the town center, within view of the harbor; 1 km to railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Olympic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Olympic Hotel Esbjerg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing