We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Quiet”
Review of Hotel Propellen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Propellen
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Billund
Reviewed April 27, 2010

I stayed here on a business trip and it's a nice place. Nothing fancy, but well-maintained. It is about a 15 min walk from the center of Billund and a 7 minute drive from the airport. When I stayed, it was so quiet you could here a pin drop. My room overlooked a nice courtyard. I had a double and it was big, especially by European standards. The bathroom is modern and has a shower, no tub, which was fine by me. There is free wifi in the room, no password needed. There is also a water boiler, hairdryer and trouser press/iron. The TV is nice, quite new, with about 25 channels, including a few English ones. I heard no noise from the other rooms.

The breakfast is included and very good. It has scrambled/soft/hard boiled eggs, bacon, sausages, yogurt, bread, cheese, granola, fresh fruit, croissants, danish, juice, milk, coffee and tea. There are not really a lot of restaurants in Billund, so I would advise eating as much as you can in the morning there and maybe you can even skip lunch.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krs001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 365 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2010

A flying visit to Denmark and Legoland and Hotel Propellen was perfect base for the day and evening. Although the price was the usual for the country (i.e., expensive) the hotel is nice, rooms were clean and open up onto a central courtyard. We'd forgotten swimming gear which they rent out for very cheap Wifi is free and there are PCs which customers can use. The fact that the hotel is used by cabin crew means they've a full stock of toiletries which is helpful in the era of over zealous airport security staff and the 100ml rule. Pool is a little small, and slightly odd that drinkers in the bar are looking in while you have a swim but other than that excellent!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StBrendanIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

Good hotel for European standards, at least better than Legoland Hotel. It is a little on the pricey side. Try to stay on the first floor, since the second floor has cathedral ceilings that take half of the room. The restaurant is very nice and the customer service is great.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OT2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2009

Having looked at the available accommodation for a Legoland trip I decided to take this hotel over hotel Legoland. Luckily I found Hotel Propellen a great place to stay, and would happily do it again.

The staff were excellent, professional and completely non-pretentious. On both nights of our stay they were accommodating with preparing specialty vegetarian meals in the large and well appointed restaurant.

The Internet services were fantastic with high speed wireless broadband in the room for free which was both reliable and quicker than the average wireless I have used in Europe.

The rooms were clean, comfortable with both water pressure and hot water in the shower (a combo which seems hard to find!).

I think this hotel is the perfect launchpad to Legoland, with a quick walk up the road to the front gates. There is also a large family aqua complex across the road which houses restaurants and many kids amusements that is open til late, the perfect stop if the kids aren't tired from a day (or 2) at Legoland.

The only (minor) issue was the close proximity to the airport which lead to an early wake up in the morning as the planes seem to start at about 6:30-7:00. This wasn't a big problem as the hotel is well insulated from noise, but thought I should mention it!

Thanks to everyone at Hotel Propellen!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DigiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Great location across the st from a HUGE mall with Lalandia and 1/4 mile from legoland. Easy walk.

Great service, large rooms. A little on the pricey side but in a tourist town nothing to do.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank permanentwaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

This is really an excellent base for Legoland which is a 5-7 minute walk away. The hotel has a bright and clean air to it. The rooms are perhaps a little small but spotless and have good facilities. There is free WiFi, also a PC in reception and a little office with another PC and printer. The staff were all very helpful and friendly.
Good breakfasts, didn't eat in the evening there but passing the wine cabinets on the way to breakfast I would agree with a previous reviewer regarding the choice available.
Pool was perfectly adequate for a little swim / play with children. There is also a bar downstairs.
Across the road in Lalandia which has a selection of restaurants, some of which are buffet style.
Overall a great place to stay if you are there for Legoland

Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank jpw262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

I liked this hotel. Near by the Airport and Legoland. Very frindly staff. They were so helpfully. The brekfast was big and great. In the restaurant in the evening we had a nice big steak, very good. The winelist was big, i'd never seen so large a list. The waitres was nice and smiling. Pool is a littel bit small but ok.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nke22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Billund hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel LEGOLAND
Hotel LEGOLAND
#2 of 13 in Billund
1,385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Svanen
Hotel Svanen
#11 of 13 in Billund
384 reviews
0.7 mi away
REFBORG Hotel Billund
REFBORG Hotel Billund
#3 of 13 in Billund
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Zleep Hotel Billund
Zleep Hotel Billund
#7 of 13 in Billund
481 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Svanen
Hotel Svanen
#2 of 2 in Grindsted
134 reviews
6.6 mi away
Filskov Kro
Filskov Kro
#1 of 2 in Grindsted
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Propellen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Propellen

Address: Nordmarksvej 3, Billund 7190, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Billund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Billund
Price Range: $157 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Propellen 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Propellen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Propellen Hotel Billund
Hotel Propellen Denmark/Billund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing