We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family hotel for Legoland”
Review of Hotel Propellen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Propellen
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Billund
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good family hotel for Legoland”
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Stayed 1 night as part of a Legoland 2 day package booked on Legoland holidays website. We are 5 and the room had 2 twin beds, a double sofa bed and a pullout extra bed, and it was a big room so plenty of space for us all. Most rooms seem to open out on a little courtyard with patio tables and chairs. Good for families - hotel has a playroom, games room, small indoor swimming pool and snacks/drinks for sale at reception. With the package there is the offer of a Legoland menu deal at the hotel restaurant - worth taking as, though the choice was limited, you get 2 courses off the menu for 190DKK which is about the same as one main dish from the normal a la carte. Quality of food both at dinner and breakfast was good - not Michelin standard obviously, but perfectly fine for a family hotel. It is about 5 mins walk to the main entrances to both Legoland and Lalandia, so pretty well located. All in all it was a good choice for us. We stayed last year at the main Legoland hotel - Propellen is considerably cheaper, but the rooms and food were pretty similar.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5intokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    167
    91
    14
    10
See reviews for
192
17
8
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Comfy beds. Quiet rooms - couldn't hear the planes at all.
Food was a real surprise! Really tasty, stylish and huge portions. Great wine too. The only problem was flies. Midges and big black flies. There were loads in our room, and in the restaurant: landing on the food. Its a shame, because the place is lovely.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrspoon1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We were two mothers with 3 children who spent one night at hotel Propellen early June. There was some error with reservation so instead of two rooms we offered a one one bedroom mini suite with sofa bed which we gladly accepted. After exhausting day in Legoland we waited to get nice sleep but the sofabed was unmade. When I called the front desk told that guests needed to make their own beds. The room cost nearly 450 euros!! I tried to make the sofabed but because of the 3 tables in the room it could not be opened! Nice young lady from reception came and moved away one table. Whe the bed finally was ready we started to sleep but after 5 minuts the sofa broke down and we had to sleep on
the floor. It was a total rip off!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank loves-to-travel358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

I have no idea what sort of hotel rating system they use in Denmark fact is, this is NOT a four star by a long shot. Most probably a two and a half star at a push.

The pillows on the beds were an absolute joke. Must be the cheapest they could find! In fact throughout it seemed to be a case of employing "cheap and nasty". There was no bath in our room (always nice for the kids/wife). The water pressure in the shower was poor. Also, much to my surprise there was NO proper soap or shampoo in the bathroom (a first for me!) - just some disgusting "stuff" from a dispenser! We had to buy our own from reception!

The food was ok but boring - the same stuff was dished up every morning and night - the chef (if one could call him that) obviously, lacks complete inspiration.

The staff was not particularly friendly either and I would go as far to say, fairly arrogant at the best of times.

On a positive note at least the kids enjoyed the pool. There was also a jacuzzi area but was out of service.

Needless to say, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Durbz911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Stayed for three nights with two small children. Very close to Legoland and nice pool! For some reason they tried to charge my norwegian credit card with US$ and I got a bad exchange rate, but the difference was later refunded when I called and complained.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuneOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Our family stayed at Propellen for 3 nights. The location was excellent.
The only thing that was not at all good was that there was a wedding at the hotel the last night we stayed there. Our room was very close to the restaurant where the wedding took place and the noise was terrible. It did not help at all when we closed all doors and windows. We did not sleep a wink until the wedding festivities were over after 2 a.m. and we had to wake up at 6 a.m. again for our flight back home. We will not come back to this hotell again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syvanensi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We opted to stay at Propellen instead of Hotel Legoland. Propellen is just a 5 min walk from Legoland itself and parking is free for guests. We found a package that included accomodation, dinner, breakfast and one day tickets to Legoland - and it was still cheaper than a stay at hotel Legoland.
The staff at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. The room was nothing special, a double bed and a sofa bed for the kids but it had a small terrace just outside the room which was nice in the evening.
The dinner buffet was a bit disappointing (not that many vegetarian options) but the breakfast was really good! There is an playroom close to the restaurants so that the kids can go off and play when they've finished their food,
Another good thing is that you can buy small bottles of wine at the front desk to enjoy in you room when the kids have gone to sleep.
There is a also small pool and free wifi.
All in all I would say it's good value for money, clean and quiet. I was suprised to see all the families with kids in the morning becauses I hadn't heard them earlier.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room with access to the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Christin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Billund hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel LEGOLAND
Hotel LEGOLAND
#2 of 13 in Billund
1,279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Svanen
Hotel Svanen
#11 of 13 in Billund
373 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Svanen
Hotel Svanen
#2 of 2 in Grindsted
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Zleep Hotel Billund
Zleep Hotel Billund
#9 of 13 in Billund
437 reviews
6.6 mi away
Filskov Kro
Filskov Kro
#1 of 2 in Grindsted
77 reviews
11.8 mi away
Sdr. Omme Kro
Sdr. Omme Kro
#1 of 1 in Soender Omme
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Propellen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Propellen

Property: Hotel Propellen
Address: Nordmarksvej 3, Billund 7190, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Billund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Billund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Propellen 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Propellen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Propellen Hotel Billund
Hotel Propellen Denmark/Billund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing