We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stinky” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Svanen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Svanen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nordmarksvej 8, Billund 7190, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Billund
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Stinky”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

I've been in room 51 (see pictures published here) where there is a very bad smell of dirty feet. Very uncomfortable tryjng to get to sleep with such a bad smell all around. The pillow is also smelling bad.

The quality is below the minimum expected standard.

Never again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pauliferus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    95
    94
    48
    29
See reviews for
131
47
9
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Granville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
124 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

I was in Billund for a week on business and had to move to this hotel the last two nights of my visit. I had heard from some colleagues but the hotel was very nice, so I was expecting a nice stay. I was quite surprised when I found my room dirty and spiders all over the ceiling. Because of conferences in town I have no other option but to stay here, but I'll do my best to never stay here again, although the breakfast buffet is very nice.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Granville75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Billund hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed here as I had to catch a flight next morning. Close to the airport. Good size room with excellent wifi connectivity. Underfloor heating in bathroom! However room charge seemed very high, especially considering the fact that Legoland was closed, so it effectively was off-season. Also note that the hotel has surcharge for use of credit card. Very good breakfast spread. Lounge area seems to have lot of items, though did not have opportunity to sample them.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NJain1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed in October, and the welcome was not the warmest, but we are in Dk, and even though I m not expecting too much, I do still expect, to receive a warm welcome and smile at the reception. I thought, he definitely woke up on the wrong side of the bed, but the next day, he was in the same mood.. The I guess, he really have a wrong attitude, and he shouldn't be at the reception.
So I guess my evaluation it's quite split about the service and that's why I gave only 3 stars. Anyways..
the room was fine, and clean and I really like that the good parking facilities, close to your own room. Great walking distance to Legoland.
The breakfast was good and with a lot of choice, with a kind service. And that's very important to mention. How is it that the waiter are actually, more service mind then a receptionist?
Th room was perfect size, we were 2 ad and 2 chldren.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viviana1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

It's a solid choice if you want to stay near the airport.

The room was quite large and they had a nice selection of shower accessories, Breakfast had a wide variety of choices and the WIFI was good with no connection problem and a high bandwith.

But the hotel is in my opinion a little to expensive for the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimsoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapur
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as a family of four (kids at 1 and 3 years old) for one night during a 2-day Legoland visit. Room in one of the single-storey "barracks" was spacious enough, although nothing fancy. The (small) lobby has been nicely done.

Breakfast buffet was appropriate and caters well to kids.

At 230€ incl. 2-day passes to Legoland for 2 adults and 1 child I'd consider this a decent deal.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank the_freshcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribeirao Preto, SP
Level Contributor
141 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Fitting to both Legoland and Lalandia visitors as well to overnighters of Billund Airport, it is a very new and modern building with excellent facilities.Rooms are spacious and bathroom much larger than what you find in European hotels. A nice buffet restaurant provides good food and a good wine list. Breakfast is a must. A nice surprise.

Room Tip: You can park your car right outside your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruiflavio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Billund hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel LEGOLAND
Hotel LEGOLAND
#2 of 13 in Billund
4.0 of 5 stars 748 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Propellen
Hotel Propellen
#3 of 13 in Billund
3.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Svanen
Hotel Svanen
#2 of 2 in Grindsted
3.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Zleep Hotel Billund
Zleep Hotel Billund
#9 of 13 in Billund
3.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
6.8 mi away
Filskov Kro
Filskov Kro
#1 of 2 in Grindsted
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
0.8 mi away
REFBORG Hotel Billund
REFBORG Hotel Billund
#5 of 13 in Billund
4.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Svanen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Svanen

Property: Hotel Svanen
Address: Nordmarksvej 8, Billund 7190, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Billund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Billund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Svanen 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Svanen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svanen Hotel Billund
Hotel Svanen Denmark/Billund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing