We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Svanen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Svanen
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Billund
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Do not staying the sleep hotel it is vv basic and I have to say that the Svanen is not four or five star. But an OK three star from a room perspective. Room 15 was functional but the floor was grubby as you come into the room and this is probably because you come from the outside and the rooms ar pe in a chalet style. The cleaner was not up to speed and for my second night pulled the duvet up and did not even tidy the sheet below from the night before !

I have to say the breakfast was a good spread and quality and that the reception area and dining also above average. The hotel proximity to the airport is also good five minutes In a taxi and Lego Land is two minutes away for families.

All in all OK but get a cleaner to VAX the carpets and tidy better and you have got a better review.

Room Tip: Taxi cost 84 Krone in the day and 120 at night to the airport but a perfect place for Legoland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    105
    105
    51
    32
See reviews for
146
53
9
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kopavogur, Iceland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed over night with my 2 sons and we got upgrated room for some reason and great service over all. Food was also very good and the outdoor sitting area just super.
The playground for the kids was excellent and we were very happy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zebitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Room very clean. Not enviromentally friendly hotel, they changed towel even when I hanged it up (wanted to use the same again), and no recycling. Party noises. Restaurant experience not good, breakfast ok.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMartti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I am an Englishman from London and my wife, son and I stayed at Hotel Savnen for two nights last weekend during our stay at Legoland. We stayed in room 411. - I have to confess that I was a little nervous about staying in this hotel as I had read closely all the reviews on Trip Advisor. Having now stayed at the hotel, it makes me really quite angry that there are some people in life who for whatever reason, have nothing better to do than be negative and criticial when it is totally unjustified and undeserved. - You can always find something wrong (however small) but that doesn't mean that you have to be plainly rude which i feel is the case here.

I have stayed in many hotels around the world including some of the very best and have good experience of Boutique hotels, Business hotels, Tourist hotels etc etc. Obviously the Hotel Svanen is catering for the Legoland tourist. That means lots of families with young children, which of course makes it difficult to keep all mothers and children happy! The hotel is certainly not marketing itself as a luxury option. However we thought the Hotel was absolutely excellent from our newly decorated room (411) which was perfect for three people and extremely comfortable, to a wonderful breakfast (honestly thought the breakfast was as good as any 5* hotel that i have stayed in including the Four Seasons), from really helpful waiters with a smile on their face to a comfortable and relaxed reception area where you could play different board games. It was also especially convenient to be able to park right by our bedroom.

I would recommend this Hotel as i think it is a good, economical option, opposite the safari park and a close walk to Legoland.

Well done Hotel Svanen.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located walking ditance from both Lalandia and Legoland. The rooms are clean and decent but overpriced of what they provide. But the hotel does offer addiitonal cots, even in the smaller rooms - so can cram a lot of people in. Dinner buffet was very average for the cost (and they did charge for tap water!). Breakfast buffet was nicer with lot of hot and cold options. Overall, a very touristy hotel, overpriced but conveniently located for a family holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAllavurS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a conveniently located but expensive motel next to legoland. Breakfast ok. Dinner was expensive and not that good. The cold dishes were warm and warm dishes were cold in the buffe.

Rooms. Would need some refurbishment if they want to call this a hotel. No airconditioning and no fan. You can hear everything from neighbouring rooms and hallway. Earplugs needed to get some sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stiiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Billund hotels

Ljunghusen
Level Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

The breakfast is not very impressive compared to normal Scandinavian standard. Nice dark bread though. If you can get a good price and stay in the tower rooms it's ok, otherwise I probably would try another hotel next time in Billund. Location is good for Legoland/Lalandia. The restaurant is very expensive, but the food is now not even close to the standard when I was here the last time 2 years ago.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Billund hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel LEGOLAND
Hotel LEGOLAND
#2 of 13 in Billund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Svanen
Hotel Svanen
#2 of 2 in Grindsted
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.3 mi away
Zleep Hotel Billund
Zleep Hotel Billund
#8 of 13 in Billund
3.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
REFBORG Hotel Billund
REFBORG Hotel Billund
#4 of 13 in Billund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Propellen
Hotel Propellen
#5 of 13 in Billund
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
6.8 mi away
Filskov Kro
Filskov Kro
#1 of 2 in Grindsted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Svanen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Svanen

Property: Hotel Svanen
Address: Nordmarksvej 8, Billund 7190, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Billund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Billund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Svanen 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Hotel Svanen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svanen Hotel Billund
Hotel Svanen Denmark/Billund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing