We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but...”
Review of Hotel Svanen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Svanen
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Billund
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Hotel Svanen is a good hotel close to Legoland. The room (an ordinary one) was nice, and the breakfast really good! A plus for the possibility to make coffee or tea at the room. But I left the hotel with disappointment, I paid our room and the women at the hotel was unfriendly and didn't even say Thank You, or anything like that when I left. That's not professional! AND, they take 89 DKK, almost 12 euro, in credit card fee!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaManta80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Svanen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 379 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

Mostly just like a plein motel. Changed room as we had a jumper for children just outside the window, quiet noisy. First room was plein, very used, bathroom awfull, no place for your stuff, the water changed temperature during the shower. Next room was of better standard. The restaurant is very expensive and not that exclusive. First night a buffet for 25 €, nothing special but the fishes was excellent. Morning buffet a fight for food and do not go there without children, because there is a lot of noisy children (Legoland=Lego world is just beside this hotel)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhmikkelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Came across a review recommending the Hotel Svanen if, in connection with a visit to Legoland or one of the other attractions of Jutland, one wanted to pamper oneself a bit. After my stay at Hotal Svanen, I am left with 2 options concerning this review:

Option 1: the critic has been bought and paid by Hotel Svanen.

Option 2: the critic is severely debilitated.

The hotel as such is nice enough, but that's all there is to say. The staff, entirely comprised by very young people, lack knowledge as to wine as well as food and service.

The food – in the shape of undercooked potatoes and pasta, meat so thoroughly roasted that even the sole of a shoe would have been more tasty, breakfast with the only one hot dish being a soft-boiled egg – is practically inedible; the white wine served in claret glasses; the dining-room staff are more occupied with massaging one another than with providing service for the guests; and the hotel staff altogether exude an aversion to being at work.

We had booked the best room of the hotel – a so-called luxury family room w/ Jacuzzi spa – and let me be frank about this: there seems to be a distinct dichotomy between Hotel Svanen's and my interpretation of the term 'luxury'. The beds are hard as rocks, the duvets are synthetic and the pillows are the size of inflated beach balls.

The cleaning, which should preferably take place on a daily basis, is limited to a set of new towels – for activities such as emptying dustbins, tidying up and filling up the minibar are not in vogue at this place.

Relating the above to the DKK 2,100 that the room costs per night, I honestly feel ripped off since what one pays extra price for is, when all is said and done, inedible potatoes, meat and pasta; a non-existent service; and an unobstructed view of a staff taking turns at massaging one another.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank fublife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Hate to leave a bad review as its peoples jobs and any business can have an off night but my experience here was so bad that this is deserved.
The hotel is a motel set up and nothing wrong with that if done right, here it wasn't. I stray in room 30 which was next to the back of the kitchen. Keep in mind this is a kids for Legoland and airport hotel, Billund is not a late place. I was getting up at 5.30am.
The room has no ac or even a fan with only a tiny window. On this warm but not too hot night the room was frankly boiling hot. It can't be too much to provide a fan.
When I opened the door to go outside it was the onto the staff smoking area, again not nice.
The kitchen staff worked outside until around 11.20 pm, crashing plates and throwing away bottles. The walls were thin and even when I closed the tiny window, which put the room temperature up to sauna levels, I might have well been in the kitchen.
When the staff stopped I was treated to the 24/7 noise of the generator outside. Again so loud I might have well have been sleeping on it.
The curtains for some reason did't cover all the window leaving a 3 inch or so gap at the bottom. This meant the smoking staff could see into the room and incredibly there was a light outside all night so a bright strip appeared along the bottom of the window all night lighting the room.
The TV is mounted on a wall that cannot be seen from the bed. Extraordinary.
There are no power sockets near the bed, again quite a basic requirement for a decent room.
I stay in hotels 2 to 3 times a week and this was I think the worst and the ownera should be ashamed of themselves to charge for a room. If I hadn't prepaid I would have refused to. In the morning there was only the night porter on so I couldn't see the point in reporting to him.

Room Tip: Don't go
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boxman266a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

You can park next to the one-storied building. You are not able to switch the ventilator, so it is working all night. Really not a 4* hotel!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halasz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Rooms are small, dirty and have no ventilation nor AC, which makes the air in the rooms very bad. Buffet was cold and did not taste very well. Service is below average.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
Thank N1ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

This hotel is within easy walking distance from the Legoland resort. The restaurant is serving a good buffet and it is very kid friendly, with a play room right next to the dining room. Unfortunately the hotel room itself was a disappointment. It is like a motel, where you park the car right outside the door. Room standard is basic, with small rooms, despite catering to families. We also had big stains on both the carpet and pillows, so it did not feel very clean. For the price you pay, I expected more.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank PHR67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Billund hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel LEGOLAND
Hotel LEGOLAND
#2 of 13 in Billund
1,365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Propellen
Hotel Propellen
#4 of 13 in Billund
359 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Svanen
Hotel Svanen
#2 of 2 in Grindsted
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Zleep Hotel Billund
Zleep Hotel Billund
#8 of 13 in Billund
469 reviews
0.8 mi away
REFBORG Hotel Billund
REFBORG Hotel Billund
#3 of 13 in Billund
81 reviews
6.8 mi away
Filskov Kro
Filskov Kro
#1 of 2 in Grindsted
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Svanen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Svanen

Address: Nordmarksvej 8, Billund 7190, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Billund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Billund
Price Range: $150 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Svanen 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Svanen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svanen Hotel Billund
Hotel Svanen Denmark/Billund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing