We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect for family and visiting Legoland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skjoldbjerg Garnihotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Skjoldbjerg Garnihotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Billund B&B and Inns
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for family and visiting Legoland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were travelling with kids (4 and 7) and couldn't have a better place. Kids loved it and so did we, parents. Hotel has a really nice playing area outside and lots of toys (mainly Legos) also inside. There is no restaurants nearby, but it is really nice to go to Billund centre and buy your food there. Hotel has a nice area for barbecue and also a normal kitchen that guests can use, and own refrigerator for guests to use. Outside sitting areas are also nice to sit at the evening when kids are already sleeping.

Breakfast is good and very homely.

Room was not luxorius but more important, really clean and big. Beds were really comfortable and even the extrabeds gave a good night sleep.

For rainy days the room has a tv and also channels for kids.

The host couple is very friendly and so helpful, makes you almost feel like visiting your parents.

You can drive to Legoland in 10 minutes. And you also might want to park your car to Lalandia, there was more space and short walking to Legoland entrance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FamilyM06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

The service from Garnihotel Skjoldbjerg was fantastic, we'd had a email from the owners within 1 hour of making our booking and it carried on in that way.

The hotel is small (6 family rooms), and situated in the Hamlet of Skjoldbjerg about 10 minutes drive from Bilund - which is of course the home of Legoland and Lalandia resort.

The owners are pleasant and friendly without being intrusive, and for those whose Danish is a little rusty speak good English and German.

The hotel is immaculate, very child friendly with toys and a big play area outside. Breakfast is a good selection of healthy, tasty foods and drinks.

Top tip: if you want to avoid Bilund's restaurant offerings, which mostly seem to be extortion by heart attack on a plate, the Garnihotel has a gas BBQ you can use to grill food from the local shops.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were supposed to stay for only one night this summer, since we planned for a day a Legoland and then back to Sweden. It turned out that we needed to stay for 3 nights since we all got sick during this short stay.
If it something you don't want to be when abroad it is to be sick. But if it happens you want to be in a place like this. Great hospitality and great big family rooms. Even if we only had booked for 1 night they arranged for us to stay for another night and then another night again. Superb.
I truly recommend this place if going to Legoland. A few kilometers away but calm and nice after a hectic day at Legoland. And very pricey too.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LarsSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

My family and I have spent a lovely stay in this hotel. The owners are very kind. The rooms are large and comfortable. For breakfast you can taste home made jams, bread and fresh fruit. The hotel is located only 9 km from Legoland and Billund airport.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazzarino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haute Savoie
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here when visiting Legoland and had arrived by train/bus from Copenhagen in the late afternoon. The hotel owner came to the bus station to pick us up and advised us that as there were no restaurants nearby he would drive us to the supermarket on the way back so we could buy something to eat - and upon our return we were welcome to borrow plates, cups etc. The next morning after a nice breakfast he drove us to Legoland! Both he and his wife were unbelievably kind and I felt went out of their way to make us feel welcome. In addition the bedroom was enormous, very comfortable and with lovely views over the garden - which you are also welcome to use and has a sandpit, climbing frame and goal posts. And should it be raining, boxes of toys for the children to play with are inside. I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xavier74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We staid at this hotel during our visit to Legoland. This is absolutely the best place to stay if you're visiting Legoland either with your own car or a rental. The hotel is about 10 minutes drive from Legoland.

The hotel is small and has less than ten rooms but the rooms are big. There's are large backyard where children can play and where you can grill your own food if you like. Hotel has children's toys (especially Legos) which was a pleasant surprise to our daughter.

The hotel serves a breakfast. For lunch or dinner you need to either eat somewhere else (for example in Lalaland or Legoland) or bring your own food. After a long day at Legoland we grilled our dinner at the hotel which was very relaxing. 

We especially enjoyed the home-like feeling at this hotel an the service was excellent. 

Room Tip: The family rooms are very good when traveling with 1 or 2 kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was a little guest house which had all the comodities - the bedroom also included a nice living room with armchairs, spacious toilet, good English breakfast (also continental if desired) and a nice lawn where the children could run and play. The location is quiet and not very far away from Legoland - however you do need a car to go there as there is no public transport. The owners of the guest house are very courteous and very helpful. Very nice people indeed! She even washed my children's clothes when we arrived because they headed straight to the lawn which was wet and ended up very dirty and soggy.

Very good value for the money we paid. We would love to go back again.

Legoland was nice, similar to the one in Windsor, perhaps a bit smaller. Pricing of food is slightly higher than what we are used to in Malta.

Room Tip: Rent a car - the streets are literally empty. No traffic at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nbd028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Billund hotels
3.7 mi away
Hotel LEGOLAND
Hotel LEGOLAND
#2 of 13 in Billund
4.0 of 5 stars 833 reviews
9.3 mi away
Filskov Kro
Filskov Kro
#1 of 2 in Grindsted
4.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Svanen
Hotel Svanen
#2 of 2 in Grindsted
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
REFBORG Hotel Billund
REFBORG Hotel Billund
#5 of 13 in Billund
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
4.6 mi away
Zleep Hotel Billund
Zleep Hotel Billund
#8 of 13 in Billund
3.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hovborg Kro & Kursuscenter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skjoldbjerg Garnihotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skjoldbjerg Garnihotel

Property: Skjoldbjerg Garnihotel
Address: Skjoldbjergvej 45 | Vorbasse, Billund 6623, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Billund
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Billund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Skjoldbjerg Garnihotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Skjoldbjerg Garnihotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skjoldbjerg Garnihotel Denmark/Billund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing