We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lalandia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lalandia Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Billund
Certificate of Excellence
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We rented a fabulous cabin for two days. Yes, it was very pricey, but it was fabulous. We have 2 kids - a 5 year old and a 7 year old - it was pitched perfectly. The accommodation was very clean and had all the amenities. A wee train comes round periodically to take you to the main Lalandia centre if your cabin is far away. I think the only thing that really annoyed us, was having to purchase our own linen and towels etc. We arrived without a car, all our suitcases and had to carry 4 lots of linen etc to our accommodation, weighing a tonne!! - in 30 degree heat.....we were pouring with sweat by the time we got there! You would think that for 700 Euros for two nights they could have at least included it - or delivered it to the room!! Am I being picky? Probably. The facilities in the resort are excellent and my kids loved the Aquadome. LEGOLAND is just across the road and is fabulous. Would I recommend this - YES YES YES.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ipitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    185
    44
    20
    9
See reviews for
356
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights with our 2 kids while exploring Legoland, Givskud zoo and Lalandia. Our house was very well equipped, clean and everything was well organized. Our 4 year old son loved the little train which travels around the area. In Lalandia there is a well equipped supermarked where you can find almost everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid_h625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Glorified camping site advertised as a top holiday resort. Very disappointed. We left after 2 days of a 4 day holiday.

The central "service" building seems to be a converted warehouse/airport hanger. The advertised "Plaza" is INSIDE this "hanger" and has a fake (painted clouds !) very low "sky" that makes most feel quite dizzy. Very tacky inside this "hanger" building and very claustrophobic perhaps due to the low false ceiling, no windows and only one entrance/exit.

Be aware that your allocated house is NON-CHANGEABLE on arrival. All houses are PRIVATELY (danish families) owned. If you wish to upgrade as we did because the house was tiny, you will be told that this is not possible because the owner already has your money (Lynette), however they explain that you can purchase another house in addition so you have more space !

You are able to make house requests in advance (although no pdf map of site house numbers online since they do not want any requests !). Nobody we spoke to had their request fulfilled despite almost half the houses looking empty. All houses are in rows- many with terraces overlooking internal roads, so don't expect privacy here. Great for those wanting screaming children playing on the road outside your door.

Everything on the site seems to be operated remotely with no reception check-in- codes sent to your mail to open the house. You will not meet anyone working here since they communicate to you by email/phone- we're guessing to reduce costs. Don't try to arrive 5 minutes before 3pm on arrival- your code to the main barrier does not work and the one staff member (Lynette) will rudely inform you that you will not be let into the grounds with your car before this time, but must wait at the barrier.

If you like wearing a non-removable tight, plastic wrist band all holiday, this is the place for you! They issue these to ensure you do not switch swimming entrance tickets with someone outside the centre. So as a result all people staying must enjoy their holiday with a non-removeable, tight plastic wristband for ID.

This centre we believe is misrepresented with quite an aggressive advertising campaign- be aware !!!

Room Tip: You do not have choices at this centre- you get what you are allocated and cannot change.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 4happy_days
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked a fantastic house to 8 persons, where we was 2 families with small children. The house was with garden and parking place for 2 cars. The interior was new and clean, and there was a sauna and jacuzzi.
The house was near Lalandia water land and Lego land, so it was perfect for the whole family with a lot of fun activities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarmedK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our stay at Lalandia Resort was simply fabulous ! We discovered the houses were built and decorated following on Danish standards so it was a great first immersion into Scandinavian life !
You can either bring all you need with you (bed linen, barbecue, towels...) or either rent them at the Service Centre in the Aquadome (you can't miss this one, it's the big building with the big water slides "popping" outside and you can't miss the Centre either, you have a lot of directives inside, but in case of any doubt, you can ask one of their employees, dressed in red, always there to help you with a smile. ) The houses are actually spacious, even if you don't have the impression, they are. To check-in, you have to dial the code that was given to you when you booked (so don't forget to print the document they sent you, it's the key to your holiday !) and just to open the door after that... You have all the bed linen and towels you need in a plastic bag in the wardrobe in the entrance hall; if you rented anything, it would be nice to put the used towels and linen in the grey foldable bag. There is all the comfort you need, with really nice rooms, each decorated with a cute painting; the kids room is so nice, with double beds, with the top bed accessible by a ladder, a plasma-TV, a chest to put your belongings in and also useful to sit on to watch TV, a little table with two chairs (maybe slightly small for bigger kids, but that's not a problem) and finally, a mirror, a big painting on the wall, actually covering all the wall, painted on a fabric and also a drawer, to put all your clothes in ! The other rooms are pretty simple, with big wardrobes that almost touch the ceiling. The kitchen was very modern and practical, with all the knives, forks, glasses and so on we needed. There was even a tablet to put into the dishwasher ! But it would be really nice for the cleaning team to clean the used items by yourself and to leave them to dry on a towel near the sink and not just into the dishwasher, untouched... The bathroom was really practical also, with a washing and drying machine, we didn't need it, but it's practical if you are here for a longer stay. The dining and living room were actually in the same space, as well as the kitchen, following the US kitchen principle; there even was a little bar-space and some wine glasses so why not plan a "wine & cheese" evening... The dining room was simple, the table was pretty resistant so it was really good and the living room, very comfortable, with only leather furniture (two "rotating" chairs and a couch, as well as a small sitting space under the plasma-TV). Overall, the house was really practical and very nice and it was located at a reasonable distance from the other houses so I guarantee you you won't be disturbed at all. During the night, it was actually really dark inside, because of the stores and the curtains at all the windows (the curtains were only in the kids room, lucky us !). There was a playground into each section of an area, actually we were at midway between two of them. There also was a playground near the train stop and also near the Aquadome entrance. Talking of which, the Aquadome building had many buffets (you needed to pay only for your drink and "entrance", after that, you could eat as much as you wanted meals from the buffets, which were rather simple, no gourmet eating here) and game facilities (bungee jump, mini-golf, Monky Tonky Factory, where you can create your own stuffed animal, an indoor, enormous playground, bowling...) ! There was also a big trampoline near the exit, a mini-golf outside, a basketball and tennis court, a football area and a big meadow for goats ! In front of the Aquadome. The Aquadome is really enormous, there is so much to do... Between the wave pool, the sauna, the lazy river, the "Temple" for the kids, the little kids' pool, the small slides and... THE BIG SLIDES. You have "Octopus Racer", or 4 slides, where you have to ride on your stomach on some little mats and where you have to hold some little handles. These slides are really narrow and the ride inside is quite short, after that you slide down towards the end. It's not dangerous at all, it's quite thrilling so it's a nice ride indeed ! Then you have two bigger slides, where you can ride on your own or with someone in a double ring. Here, the rules are very strict so no more than 2 people at the same time and no riding on your back, in another direction or without a ring... Then comes THE slide, visible from outside; THE TORNADO !!! You ride on this one on a 4-people ring ONLY (really heavy and if you hold it on your back to climb the 4-floors staircase, you look like a giant butterfly...). You have a big "drop" at first, after which you slide up the big 360degrees tube and then down and you continue your ride on the dizzy (there is an effect done on purpose for that, it's up to you to discover it ! ) tube, after that you have another "drop" (so a pretty straight slide), then there is the end if the slide, where you almost land on like you would do after doing a looping with the ring ! Super thrilling instead... We did it 3 times ! You only have to wait to get your ring, if the person has finished using it, she will hand in it you (this is valid only for the 3 bigger slides). For the mats, there is a big amount of them at the end of the ride. If you're lucky enough, you will find leftover rings and/or mats in the stairs or near the rides, which could be sometimes a bit frustrating if you carried the big ring up to the last floor, but always make sure you have a ring before sliding, it's always better... For preparing to go to the Aquadome, you have to scan the blue bracelet they give you, then go to the lockers' room depending on your gender (men upstairs, women downstairs). You have lockers that don't close and a few ones that actually close (you will need your bracelet for that), as well as a shoe rack and benches where you can leave your belongings, "at your own risk"... It says you have to be totally naked to shower before going in and after going to the toilet, that they will check if you do so, but it's not true so just shower normally, like you would do before going to the swimming pool so don't worry about that. The only problem is that the "public" showers are "overpopulated" and there only are TWO private changing-showering areas, which can be quite annoying if somebody takes too much time and when you have other things to do... Also you don't have a lot of toilets so take your precautions before going. Can be quite tricky when you're on our own... There is also a big sink with a big mirror and there is next to it a plug, where you can plug in your hair dryer. After you have changed (recommend putting your swimsuit directly under your clothes and wearing a one piece swimsuit), you finally can push the red door at the back of the lockers room and start having fun ! Then we only tried the small playing area outside the Dome and not the other ones inside and outside, but they looked and sounded pretty awesome and cool. We also tried the playing area near the train stop, really cool... Legoland is at a 5 minutes-walk and Legoland Village is in the same place as Lalandia Resort so if you want to eat there... I recommend staying a maximum of 5 days in Lalandia, it is a very good basis to visit Legoland and the surroundings (Odense, for instance, Andersen's hometown, very interesting and well done to draw your attention ! ☺). The check-out is also very discreet, as the check-in. Overall, a very interesting, thrilling, great,calm, relaxing first stay in Lalandia ! I am looking forward to come back !

Room Tip: The houses are divided in different areas, depending on their capacity. So choose whichever house yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Biche B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayJC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We came back after 2 years, and nothing has changed, its as clean and new as last time. The water rides and activities are all just as good as before. This time we brought more bikes (your house may be 20 mins walk from the main building Lalandia), and we visited Legoland which is just as amazingly close as the airport is, it takes about 5 minutes to walk from the front of Lalandia and you are in Legoland. This time we shopped in the nearby Super Brugsen as it was a little cheaper and easier to park than Lalandia it self.

You need your single bed sheets, as apparently the Danes don't like using other peoples sheets, and the extra payment for water and electricity (circa 130 kr for 5 days) can come as a bit of an extra surprise, but to be honest, Denmark is expensive, so you start to become a bit immune to the extra payments. All that said, the place is lovely and the rides are the best I have tried, especially the Tornado. There is plenty to do and lots of great water rides, by far the best of the centreparcs style resorts we have been to in Europe or UK. And the shortest queues. Since last time they have added an ice rink and climbing wall, with a few other bits and pieces.

We were spoilt with great weather, but even so it was a great place to stay.

There is a high chair and cot and even a BBQ in the storage area on the side of the standard house, where there is room for a couple of bikes.

Everything in the house is listed on the big photos on the cupboard doors.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

If you going on a short break with kids - on their terms, Lalandia is a good choice. Lalandia is a bit tacky, but a lot of fun if you like waterslides. You rent a house for accommodation. Legoland is next door. Do not stay more than 2-3 days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank sunebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Billund hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel LEGOLAND
Hotel LEGOLAND
#2 of 13 in Billund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Propellen
Hotel Propellen
#5 of 13 in Billund
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
1.0 mi away
REFBORG Hotel Billund
REFBORG Hotel Billund
#3 of 13 in Billund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Zleep Hotel Billund
Zleep Hotel Billund
#8 of 13 in Billund
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
6.7 mi away
Filskov Kro
Filskov Kro
#1 of 2 in Grindsted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Svanen
Hotel Svanen
#2 of 2 in Grindsted
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lalandia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lalandia Resort

Property: Lalandia Resort
Address: Ellehammers Alle 3, Billund 7190, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Billund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Billund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lalandia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Lalandia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lalandia Billund Hotel Billund
Lalandia Resort Denmark/Billund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing