We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice thai food”
Review of White Elephant

White Elephant
Ranked #267 of 494 Restaurants in Aarhus
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtbyen
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice thai food”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Good thai food, most of it quite authentic. Nice curries. The staff can sometimes be a bit confused which is the only drawback to this place.

Helpful?
Thank L_L225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    36
    19
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Jutland, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food at a great price”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Good value and service - it is a good idea to make a reservation - always a full restaurant. Nice and fresh food served

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank spuRisskov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gumusluk, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great staff. Revolting tasteless food”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I read a couple of Trip Advisor reviews before heading to the White Elephant so was hopeful. But good grief was I disappointed!!! Whoever thinks that this place can produce even an approximation of Thai food let alone something spicy needs serious help. I only had two dishes mind so perhaps I didn't try hard enough. However they are Thai staples so can't imagine that anything else is any better. Tom Yum (Tom Yom) comprised some watery "stock", carrot, onion, mushrooms (didn't fancy chicken or salmon and didn't ask for anything vegetarian - seemed obvious as I ordered a pork Larb (Lab)) and of all things potato! New one on me that. I asked for extra spicy. The soup had no taste at all and certainly no heat. Thank goodness they had some chillies in fish sauce that helped out. All in all it was pretty disgusting, especially the plain boiled potatoes thrown in there for bulk I suppose... The Larb came as chicken as they'd run out of pork. This was plain revolting. Had I not been hungry I wouldn't have eaten more than a mouthful and yes, I should have complained. But being Johnny no mates in a room full of seemingly happy-with-their-food Danes isn't that conducive to throwing a hissy fit in a non-native language... Anyway the worst part of this tasteless concoction was the chicken. Seems like the "chef" had decided to mix some bone and gristle in with the white meat to produce a nasty gritty mince the like of which I'd never experienced. Nothing could save this mess so I ate the salad bits with some more chilli sauce and high tailed it out. The room is OK and the amount of awards they've won is impressive. How I have no idea. The girl serving was nice and the wine was quite palatable. But if you want edible Thai food don't go near this place, It's vile!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cochonverte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best thai place in Aarhus”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Love the food, especially the really spicy food.

The place is not that cosy, but you can get the food as take-away - a great way to eat thai food.

The staff are really friendly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartinHolmslykke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Thai place”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Nice, informal Thai restaurant in the heart of Århus. Loved their duck with ginger. Would definately return.

Helpful?
Thank ingeborgv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Elephant also viewed

Aarhus, East Jutland
Aarhus, East Jutland
 
Aarhus, East Jutland
 
Aarhus, East Jutland
Aarhus, East Jutland
 

Been to White Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing