We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super cosy restaurant in the heart of Aarhus”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of L'estragon

L'estragon
Reserve with
L'estragon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 476 Restaurants in Aarhus
Price range: $30 - $100
Cuisines: French, European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Midtbyen
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
130 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Super cosy restaurant in the heart of Aarhus”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This restaurant is a "must" if you visit Aarhus, just right in the heart of the old city of Aarhus, super cosy restaurant with good food and very attentative waitress.
They offer special promotions, today we got two dishes with two glass of wine and wonderful homemade bread + free sparkling water for 300 kr. per person.
Highly recommended but keep in mind that the place is very small so remember to book in advance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Orly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    27
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
149 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Much better this time”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I've earlier made a review for l'estragon, Where I only gave this restaurant an average, mostly because of missing information regarding their daily menu. I've just been back to L'estragon with my wife, and we had a very lovely evening, We had the daily menu - and had first mussels followed by a dish of haddock. We where served first a delightful Riesling followed by a good chardonnay to the dishes. There was plenty of bread and the waiter, Janek, was very attentive bringing us water, explaining the dishes and so on. The daily menu is 300 dkk for two dishes and two glasses of wine, but the bootle stays on the table and you're welcome to have fill up - unluckily I was driving! This is very good value for money - the dishes was very well presented and tasted lovely.
As I have written in my earlier review there's absolutely nothing wrong with the food and the service, and this time I overheard Janek presenting the menu at another table, where he also explained about the daily menu (a very good offer). We ended the evening buying a dessert, apples in different forms. It was as the rest of the food delicious. We'll be back. The restaurant is quite small, so book a table to be sure.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank freqtravAarhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming little place”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Cramped, but charming little slice of Paris in Aarhus. Great food (mainly French in style) using locally sourced produce.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very romantic and cosy”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We went there on a date and had the Sunday 4 course meal for 444kr each. This came with the corresponding wines and with delicious food that was definitely enough. The fish soup was great and the dessert was especially nice! Warm chocolate cake and cold vanilla parfait with liquorice sprinkles. Mmmmh!
It is such a tiny restaurant, but they really make an effort to make you feel good!
Perfect place for a romantic dinner!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
149 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“very good food and service, but it also costs”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We've just been to l'estragon. We've seen the offer on the website, as another reviewer mentioned earlier - that they offer a menu with a starter and main course plus two glasses of wine for 250 kr. (34€), we also looked for the offer on the menu we were given, and couldn't find it, but we didn't ask about it, and thought that we had made a mistake. We didn't want this to spoil our evening, so we ordered from the normal menu. We went for a three course dinner with the wine menu, and also got a glass of sparkling wine to start. The food was really good, and looked really nice. The wines for starters and for the dessert tasted delicious, and was a good choice with the food, but the wine for the main course fell through. The waiter was attentive, but there also wasn't that many guests. The total price-tag was 1440 kr. (194€), which is somewhat more than the 68€ that the offer was for two persons. That said we got a glass og sparkling wine and one more dish than the offer.
After coming back home, and on my way to making this review I read the former review about not having the offer mentioned on the menu, and I'll agree that it seems rather stupid: Either You have the offer AND display it - or You don't!
We had a nice dinner, but it takes away some of the good feeling that you and a way find yourself fooled, so therefore my rating drops from a 'very good' to 'average' - so my advice to l'estragon is - You take away the offer or you display it on you menu!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank freqtravAarhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'estragon also viewed

Aarhus, East Jutland
Aarhus, East Jutland
 
Aarhus, East Jutland
Aarhus, East Jutland
 

Been to L'estragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing