We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect dinner out”
Review of Mefisto

Mefisto
Ranked #20 of 650 Restaurants in Aarhus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $62
Cuisines: French, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Restaurant Mefisto is an everyday restaurant located in the heart of the charming Latin Quarter in Aarhus. With emphasis on fish and seafood in a classical and modern combination Mefisto offers a wide selection of food ranging from brunch to a four course seasonal menu - all at affordable prices. The fact that fish and seafood is of special importance at this establishment is furthermore supported by the 2016 win of "Best fish and seafood restaurant in Denmark" as well as the fish cookbook written by the charismatic owner Lars Kyllesbech. The restaurant is casually decorated and the atmosphere is relaxed and unpretentious. During the summer months the restaurant opens its courtyard which adds another dimension to this beloved place. Whether you are looking for a professional environment to host a business lunch or a romantic setting for a dinner, Mefisto welcomes you with warm, personal and friendly service every day of the week.
Reviewed March 17, 2019 via mobile

My wife and I visited in a Saturday night and were lucky to have a reservation. The food was delicious; the staff friendly and efficient; and the restaurant cosy and welcoming. Highly recommend - this is what a restaurant should be like.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank rjeans66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 598 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2019 via mobile

Had a really excellent evening with delicious and more than adequate food, very nice service and a great atmosphere!

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank LarsIver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars K, Owner at Mefisto, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2019

Dear LarsIver

Thank you for the kind words - they are much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you at Mefisto another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2018 via mobile

Visited the cozy and cluttered restaurant on a Monday. Seafood and fish comes in many ways, I like it lean. At Mefisto the food is very rich in cream, oil, deep fry and butter. The lobster burger sounded fun but is just a deep fried fish ball in a bun.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank 614uj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars K, Owner at Mefisto, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2019

Hello u j

Thank you for your review - unfortunately we weren't able to meet your expectations of Mefisto neither on the food side or the frames of the restaurant..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2018

Mefisto always delivers a good quality food experience, and pricing taken into account it is really good value. However, for me it pulls down a bit that I do not get a feeling of being at an actual french restaurant, though the management might well have decided on this deliberately.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Vogn84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars K, Owner at Mefisto, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2019

Dear Vogn84

First of all thank you for taking the time to review Mefisto. We have never really claimed to be a typical french restaurant but I can see why you think so and it is true that we have a love for certain things french.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2018 via mobile

In looking for a fish restaurant close to hotel I found this place and now aching to return.
They have a La carte or (considering time of year) a Christmas menu. And if your on business it can include wine ;)
I wanted the fish stew but would be too much to have and have a main course but they were happy to give me a small portion.
Then it was a toss up between lobster or turbot, the turbot won and I let them choose a glass of wine to complement it.
I came away feeling fantastic but wanting more so now trying to rearrangemy schedule to go for lunch tomorrow!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank nzlpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars K, Owner at Mefisto, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2019

Hello nzlpilot

I am very happy to hear we were able to accommodate your request for a smaller portion and even more happy to hear you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mefisto also viewed

Aarhus, East Jutland
Aarhus, East Jutland
 
Aarhus, East Jutland
Aarhus, East Jutland
 
Aarhus, East Jutland
Aarhus, East Jutland
 

Been to Mefisto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing