We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow. Gotta try here.”
Review of Den Lille Kro

Den Lille Kro
Ranked #64 of 666 Restaurants in Aarhus
Price range: $23 - $50
Cuisines: Danish
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed July 18, 2018 via mobile

I highly recommend this restaurant. It was recommended by reception at my hotel for traditional Danish food. They have traditional fare but I asked what they were famous for and got their Danish Beef Sandwich. They have a good selection of beers on tap. I paired it with Jacobson brown ale which was excellent.

The sandwich was like a giant burger. Inside it was topped with what think were artesian pickled beets and pickles. With a roumalade that I can't describe except it was like nothing else and good.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank StayedHereB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 266 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2018 via mobile

Very bad. We ordered 2 Danish favorites, the dish consists of 4 courses but after more than an hour we were able to eat only two courses and had to leave. The restaurant was practically empty so all this waiting was not justified. At the time of the account there was also not even a minimum discount despite the fact that it was not possible to complete the meal given the excessive slowness of the service. Forget it!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank nicol_d357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2018

When we first arrived at the restaurant we received a warm greeting by the waitress. There is calm atmosphere and the decor is superb. My Danish companion ordered the fried pork dish which was absolutely delicious. We had such a good dinner that afterwards we could not managed dessert. It was fabulous. I loved the menu which is quite and varied and quite a good selection.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2018

Very traditional Danish food. Den lille kro does not try to change because of time. That is the concept.
Came in Saturday evening. Quite full, but only ONE waiter at work. That was a disaster. All guests were waiting for everything. Sorry that is not OK and quite anoying to be honest.
Menucard is very tradional old Danish (that is why you are there).
Decent winecard and a great selection of beers.
Chose "Kalvefrikasse" and "Dansk Bøf". Well prepared food but kitchen needs to work with the taste. Both dishes too tasteless.
Desert is healthy (meaning take care!!!)
Prices is not cheap and not expensive.

All in all a little disappointment, especiallly because of the service.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JensU526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2017

Went to have a Danish Christmas experience, their lunch platter (just 159kr) was delightful and delicious (it's not on the English menu) and had a little bit of everything. Bread was complimentary. Also had some aquavit. The decor and atmosphere was amazing (even the washroom was well decorated) and made me feel warm and welcomed. Would visit again :)

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alexistentialcrisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Den Lille Kro also viewed

 
Aarhus, East Jutland
Aarhus, East Jutland
 
Aarhus, East Jutland
 

Been to Den Lille Kro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing