We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Munch Exhibition is a must see!”

Aros Aarhus Kunstmuseum
Ranked #3 of 269 things to do in Aarhus
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Welcome to ARoS Aarhus Art Museum - one of Europe's largest art museums situated in the heart of Aarhus, and the only one with a rainbow on top, Your rainbow panorama. ARoS is a house of art where our guests can be pleased, enlightened and challenged. The architecture is of international class. The same is the art. And both offer experiences of high carat: from light to thrill, from attitude to entertainment, from joy to challenge.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Munch Exhibition is a must see!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Fantastic museum, very well organized. Munch's art has never looked better in my opinion, black walls is a very good idea, so you really can admire the fine colours in Munch's non anxiety paintings for example.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Summerbird_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,174
    593
    115
    26
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great view over Aarhus from the Rainbow Panorama”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The main reason why I visited Aros was because of 'Your Rainbow Panorama' which is a panoramic walkway formed as a circle, as an attachment to the building, it has the colours of the rainbow. It is a great way to see Aarhus from a new perspective, but all of the colours can make it a very dizzy experience. The entrance fee is a 100DKK for an adult and 80DKK if you're are a student.
The contemporary art section wasn't, in my opinion, very good, I was kind of disappointed, it was very tacky and some of it unoriginal. The modernism section was really good though.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I could have spend all day there”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I enjoyed several exhibitions and the rainbow installation. I will certainly come back another time.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank RandiViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wide selection”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

A very nice museum, with good 360 view of Aarhus. Everything from old realism, to new modern art. Liked the Edvard Munch collection very much, though this is only temporary.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anders V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice, but... not that big”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I was at a conference in the building, so we got a free ticket for the museum.

I think you need to keep an eye out for special exhibitions. I am not a big art lover, but I like culturel events. For me, Aros does not have enough to entertain me for more than 1 hour, or 1 1/2 tops.

The rainbow installation on the top of the building is the best part I think. You can get a look af Aarhus from a different perspective, and it is just pretty with all the different colors.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sjarlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aros Aarhus Kunstmuseum also viewed

Aarhus, East Jutland
 

Been to Aros Aarhus Kunstmuseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing