We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the packet!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Aarhus
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Aarhus
Denmark, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the packet!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Nice hotel in a convenient location.
Stayed her a few nights when touring Denmark. On arrival, checking in went smoothly and we parked our car out the front (not free but convenient). Parking is a bit odd to figure out at first but yes it is the big bay right in front of the hotel, through the boom-gate. Once you check in you are given a "pass" ticket to come and go from there for a few days. I forget the cost!
The hotel itself was a nice, middle of the range hotel, good service, clean rooms. A few issues hampered their wi-fi and it kept dropping out, as apparently it was being upgraded.
Food at the hotel is good and not too overpriced, breakfast was the expected good hotel fare.
The small bar and larger restaurant to your left on entry also serves food and drinks until late.
The hotel is very convenient to the great art museum, theater, cinemas and center of Aarhus, and caters not only for tourism but also business conventions.
For the money, I don't feel you get great value (especially compared to Asian hotels with doormen, bellboys, service people everywhere etc), but it is not a rip-off either. After a hotel stay earlier in our trip with a few issues, this was just what we needed to restore our confidence!
Keep in mind that in winter, many museums etc in Denmark seem to be closed. Most art museums were open however, and the restaurants and cafe's nearby were bustling.
Book with confidence.

Room Tip: Rooms were quite small, but clean and with a good bed and bathroom. No special tips I can think of!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coompy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBlu_Aarhus, General Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Aarhus, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Coompy,

I glad that we could restore your confidence in hotels in Denmark! I take that as a big compliment.
As most hotels problems will occur from time to time, and at the time you were at our hotel the WIFI was under an upgrade. This has now been done and the WIFI is now even better and faster and doesn't keep dropping out.

I hope that the rest of your Denmark tour went smooth and once again I hope that we helped making your tour remarkable in a good way.

Kind regards

Peter Møller Laursen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    317
    103
    30
    15
See reviews for
93
179
38
266
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

For around 250€ you should get a better room with a better wc.. The breakfast was good though... And free wifi is always nice... But the room.. The tv was not very responsive.. However, I must say: the bed was good

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank santvf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBlu_Aarhus, General Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Aarhus, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our class-leading WiFi solution and the Jensen beds in the room. Still, I am very sorry that the room you stayed in, did not meet your expectations. As I have written previously in these pages, our hotel is in the final stages of a complete refurbishment of our hotel rooms and I hope to be able to welcome you back to experience these in the near future.

Kind regards

Peter Møller Laursen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed a night for work. The location is fantastic and there are many good restaurants within walking distance. The rooms were fantastic and clean. They left me a complimentary bottle of dessert wine (not sure why, but not complaining). Gym access was with a charge, which was new for me. Breakfast was adequate, but with limited variety. Chances are you are here for work as well, and this hotel serves the purpose.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arpitagr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBlu_Aarhus, General Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Aarhus, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review of your stay at the Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel. As you noted, our hotel offers a truly excellent location in the very heart of Aarhus, just a few steps away from both restaurants and shops - a feature enjoyed by business and leasure guests alike. Moreover, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our recently refurbished rooms and noticed the truly excellent work that our housekeeping department does.

Again, thank you for the review and for sharing your experience with the users of TripAdvisor.

Kind regards

Peter Møller Laursen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

About 500m from the heart of the city, this one does pretty much everything you need. Refurbished from a hotel originally opened about 15 years ago, with very relaxing rooms and a good breakfast. It was a weekend when I stayed, so the restaurant service is in the bar area. The upside was that the stay wasn't too expensive (even by Danish standards!)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ICE-Zugfahrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBlu_Aarhus, General Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Aarhus, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you very much for the wonderful feedback and for sharing said feedback with the users of TripAdvisor.

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed staying with us over the weekend and that both location, accommodation and services were to your liking. Moreover, I am pleased that you were able to take advantage of our very reasonable weekend rates.

Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I hope to see you back at our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Peter Møller Laursen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle Heights, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed here for a weekend break during a work trip away in Denmark while working with Grundfos. The room was cosy with fantastic views of this historic seaside township. The cleanliness of rooms and professional manner of the staff was a bench mark many hotels I've stayed in will simply never achieve. The bar environment was relaxing with fair drink prices. The hotel is centrally located and within minutes walk to many popular restaurants, tourist must see's and cafe / bars. I dont think I look elsewhere for accommodation in Arhus.

Room Tip: Take a higher floor to experience views of the town and historic buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanGret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBlu_Aarhus, General Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Aarhus, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you very much for the glowing review of our hotel and for sharing your stay at our hotel with the users of TripAdvisor. It is always a great pleasure to relay such kind words to our employees and let them know that their considerable efforts do not go by our guests unnoticed.

I wish you a happy new year and hope to have the oportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Peter Møller Laursen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Our family stayed here for a few nights while visiting our daughter who lives nearby. The hotel is quite pretty on the outside with nice lighting and a nice location near the city center.

The room size was quite comfortable and the bedding was standard upscale European duvet with lots of down inside.

The only negative was the high step into the tub and shower. It could be quite difficult if you have any physical limitations. Once there, lots of good hot water and a nice shower.

While we were here on family travel, the Internet connection was good and it looked like a nice place for business as well.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms all have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Medas2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBlu_Aarhus, General Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Aarhus, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and for choosing to stay at the Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel whilst in Aarhus.
Regarding access to the shower, we have designated rooms without bathtubs for easy accessibility. If you would prefer such a room for your next stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact us in advance, so that we may make your next stay even better.

Kind regards

Peter Møller Laursen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

As close to perfect as possible! Reasonable price for this kind of hotel. Very close to city centre (walkable) and next to Aros and other cultural attractions. The hotel is a striking building itself, with interesting internal walkways and views (possibly not for young children). Reception was prompt and courteous, allowing us into our room early. The room was modern, clean and with all standard faciltiies. A very comfortable bed made for a great night's sleep. We skipped breakfast due to cost but had a room service evening meal, which was very good and promptly delivered. Check-out was smooth, very little wait. We had an all-round delightful stay and would certainly come here again.

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms for children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBlu_Aarhus, General Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Aarhus, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you very much for the impressive review of our hotel.

We live for satisfied guests at the Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel in Aarhus. In that very vein, I must admit that it is one of the highlights of my day, when I receive feedback such as yours. I am very happy to hear that both location, facilities, room size and style and above all service lived up to the very high standards we at Radisson Blu hold ourselves to.

Thank you for sharing your 5-star experience at our hotel with the users of this site - we look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Peter Møller Laursen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aarhus hotels
0.3 mi away
Scandic Aarhus City
Scandic Aarhus City
#3 of 22 in Aarhus
816 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Provence
Villa Provence
#1 of 22 in Aarhus
421 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#9 of 22 in Aarhus
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comwell Aarhus
Comwell Aarhus
#4 of 22 in Aarhus
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oasia Aarhus
Hotel Oasia Aarhus
#2 of 22 in Aarhus
772 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western The Mayor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Aarhus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Aarhus

Property: Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Aarhus
Address: Margrethepladsen 1, Aarhus 8000, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Jutland > East Jutland > Aarhus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Aarhus
#5 Luxury Hotel in Aarhus
#5 Business Hotel in Aarhus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Aarhus 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Aarhus. The city's only international hotel chain, located in the middle of the city of Aarhus. The neighbours are Concert Hall, Aros museum, and the city's Town Hall. The hotel has 234 newly renovated guestrooms, and 1,100 p spaces. In Restaurant La Pyramide you can enjoy fine dining or a nice drink. The restaurant is part of the "White Guide" in the "very high level". The hotel has won the Danish travel Award 10 times as best hotel in Denmark outside Copenhagen. We are looking forward to welcome you :-) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Rezidor, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Aarhus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Aarhus Hotel Aarhus
Radisson Arhus
århus Radisson
Radisson Århus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing