We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a kind! ”
Review of Den Gamle By

Den Gamle By
Ranked #2 of 263 things to do in Aarhus
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of a kind! ”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Just paid a visit to this childhood vacation spot of mine. Now - as then - The Old Town is unique and delivers plenty to experience for young and old.
Visiting Aarhus without going here means missing a unique experience!

Helpful?
Thank gubbe
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,789 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,119
    522
    118
    21
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis
Level Contributor
221 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great museum for a lovely day out”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

When visiting Arhus, this museum is a must-see!
It's an open air museum which shows life in Denmark throughout the ages.
There are lots of different displays, you can enter most of the houses to look inside and wander the little streets.
The food and drinks are very pricey, so if it's a nice day, I would recommend taking your own lunch as there are lots of pic-nick areas where you can sit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hholiday2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“a must do if you visit Aarhus as a Tourist”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

You can really experience how life was in Denmark years ago. Also the "new" part with original houses and decor from the 1970ties is really fun

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DaneReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Perfect time travel, we enjoyed every minute in the "old" and the "newer" world. Perfect deal, don´t miss it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert2227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lotte W, Marketingkoordinator at Den Gamle By, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Robert2227

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review.. I'm delighted to hear that you had a wonderfull experience with us. We hope to welcome you again some day.

Kind regards

Lotte W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Arhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideallic, quaint, authentic, clean fun for all ages.”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is a must see. I live in aarhus and have a season's pass. Although my friend from Switzerland would disagree. She said, once is enough. It reminds me of Barkerville. There is something new around every corner. Don't miss the ceramics museum and the 1960's apartment in the modern quarter and the garden in the back. Skip the cafeteria. Den Gamle By is also a short walk from Aros Art Gallery.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank readgroves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lotte W, Marketingkoordinator at Den Gamle By, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Readgroves

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm happy to hear that you enjoy visiting us. Regarding our cafeteria I can inform you, that we have just started the process of improving our food and beverage offers.

Kind regards

Lotte Waltersdorff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Den Gamle By also viewed

 

Been to Den Gamle By? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing