We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideallic, quaint, authentic, clean fun for all ages.”
Review of Den Gamle By

Den Gamle By
Ranked #2 of 259 things to do in Aarhus
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Aarhus, Arhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideallic, quaint, authentic, clean fun for all ages.”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is a must see. I live in aarhus and have a season's pass. Although my friend from Switzerland would disagree. She said, once is enough. It reminds me of Barkerville. There is something new around every corner. Don't miss the ceramics museum and the 1960's apartment in the modern quarter and the garden in the back. Skip the cafeteria. Den Gamle By is also a short walk from Aros Art Gallery.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank readgroves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lotte W, Marketingkoordinator at Den Gamle By, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Readgroves

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm happy to hear that you enjoy visiting us. Regarding our cafeteria I can inform you, that we have just started the process of improving our food and beverage offers.

Kind regards

Lotte Waltersdorff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,740 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,082
    513
    115
    21
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great attraction for all ages. ”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Great place of you are interested in history. You'll be able to experience what it was like to live in Denmark from the 18th century up to 1974. Our kids love coming here and look inside the old buildings, ride the horse carriage and have a nice picnic. Kids, patents, grandparents and great grandparents love this place.

Helpful?
Thank Dicktaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lotte W, Marketingkoordinator at Den Gamle By, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Dicktaid

Thank you so much for your great review. We appriciate it. We try very hard to make Den Gamle By a place for all generations, because history is for everyone.
Hope to welcome you again some day.

Kind regards

Lotte W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlissingen
Level Contributor
160 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“It actually feels like being a timetraveller”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I loved the Old Town (also named Den Gamle By), the staff wears old-time costumes, and the entire atmosphere breezes 200 years back. I didn't expect a lot, but was positively surprised by the large amount of buildings.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jesse V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne K, Museum assistant at Den Gamle By, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Jesse V
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your visit to The Old Town. We’re very glad to hear you had a good experience traveling back in time with us.
Kind regards
Anne K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Den Gamle By - The Old Village”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The Den Gamle By (open-air / living history / folk) Museum features 75 original historic structures collected from around Denmark as well as costumed period characters. Most of the buildings range in age from the 15th - 18th centuries. There is a lot to see so you can easily spend several enjoyable hours here. Since you are going to be walking on rough cobblestone streets, make sure you wear appropriate rubber-soled shoes. We arrived in Aarhus via cruise ship and, although Den Gamle By is not real close, it is certainly within walking distance from the port. I read that Den Gamle By means the old village - very appropriate.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank CPaM68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Outstanding walk back in time.”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

This really is a special must see place. I have been all over Denmark and despite there being many old houses in the Danish towns, this is a way to see history come to life, with costumed attendants baking bread in the kitchens of the old houses the way they did centuries ago. I have been every time I visit Denmark and never tire of seeing it. An amazing museum fully interactive and a real education for children.

Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiesinice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Den Gamle By also viewed

 

Been to Den Gamle By? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing