We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Den Gamle By - The Old Village” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Den Gamle By

Den Gamle By
Ranked #3 of 256 things to do in Aarhus
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Den Gamle By - The Old Village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

The Den Gamle By (open-air / living history / folk) Museum features 75 original historic structures collected from around Denmark as well as costumed period characters. Most of the buildings range in age from the 15th - 18th centuries. There is a lot to see so you can easily spend several enjoyable hours here. Since you are going to be walking on rough cobblestone streets, make sure you wear appropriate rubber-soled shoes. We arrived in Aarhus via cruise ship and, although Den Gamle By is not real close, it is certainly within walking distance from the port. I read that Den Gamle By means the old village - very appropriate.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank CPaM68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,028
    489
    111
    20
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Outstanding walk back in time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

This really is a special must see place. I have been all over Denmark and despite there being many old houses in the Danish towns, this is a way to see history come to life, with costumed attendants baking bread in the kitchens of the old houses the way they did centuries ago. I have been every time I visit Denmark and never tire of seeing it. An amazing museum fully interactive and a real education for children.

Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiesinice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
133 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Went on a day trip from Aalborg by train. Enjoyed all the old houses and shops, we visited in June and the weather was very nice. We also had a nice lunch there. Would vist again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

It is a very beautiful place in any season. It is rich with historical buildings and facts, so i would strongly suggest to visit this place with a guided tour. A lot of details and facts will let you feel the real atmosphere of the old city.

Helpful?
Thank Kristla123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menges, Slovenia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

I was there in winter time, so this "old town" full of old houses, history and culture...for me it was just like a small romantic town with beautifull houses, workshops, pharmacy...It was very cold but when you can go into small bakery and buy all that goodies and eat them walking around in the snow...and followed by little ducks ....just wonderful:)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tjasaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Den Gamle By also viewed

 
Aarhus, East Jutland
 

Been to Den Gamle By? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing