We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveler rating
102
143
93
23
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
102
143
93
23
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station perfect location working internet bread breakfast was amazing service minded staff clock tower business trip open the window city hall a couple of minutes walk within walking distance on foot every morning breakfast selection breakfast included rooms are small
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 367 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2019

Polite and courteous staff. Good bar and food. Clean and tidy rooms, loved the under floor heating in the bathroom.
Ideal position in th centre of town.
Secure parking. Same day laundry facility and very comfy beds

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlene K, General Manager at Scandic The Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2019

Dear Dave A

Thank you very much for your kind review which I am so pleased to read, especially your comment regarding my colleagues, I look forward sharing it with them.

I really hope we get a chance to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Marlene Kristensen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2019 via mobile

1 minute walk from the train station, easy downtown access - great view of clock tower makes the location perfect

Bed was comfy, price was right, really can’t complain - I would definitely stay here again

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank ilovecorndogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadsPeterBugge, Front Desk Receptionist at Scandic The Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2019

Dear ilovecorndogs.

Thank you for your nice review, we appreciate it. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay, and our location. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back sometime.

Kind regards
Mads Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2019

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marlene K, General Manager at Scandic The Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2019

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 14, 2019 via mobile

I stayed here for a few nights while in Aarhus on business. My impression of the hotel was positive on the whole. The staff at the check-in desk were excellent, as were the staff behind the bar who served me promptly and were able to advise on different wines, etc. The breakfast service is impressive, with lots of choice. It can get a little busy at peak times but the staff, again, deal with things efficiently so there are no queues, etc. There’s a nice waiting area in the reception with amenities available too.

The location of the hotel is real plus: right by the railway station, and adjacent to where the airport bus drops off in the city centre. It’s a 5-10 minute to walk to the shops and restaurants, while the University can be reached on foot (uphill!) in about 25 minutes. The wonderful Aarhus Art Museum is a couple of minutes’ walk away, and well worth a visit.

As others have said, the rooms are small and rather tired-looking, and there is some bleed-over of sound between them (especially above/below). My first night’s sleep was disrupted by some ardent revellers upstairs... so pack some ear plugs. It’s clear that there’s been something of a de-scaling in recent years: my room had all the plugs and cables for a mini-bar, but a large empty cupboard awaited when I opened its door. Perhaps this space might have been used more efficiently, or fully de-installed? That said, the rooms were clean and the cleaning staff dealt with them each day promptly and efficiently, and there were plenty of towels, pillows, safe, et al., which was good to see.

Final words of advice for international travellers: Denmark is not cheap, so do think about the high cost of a cheeky coffee or snack during the day. My advice would be to fill up at the hotel’s well-stocked breakfast and keep your casual spending to a minimum!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank DrMacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlene K, General Manager at Scandic The Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2019

Dear DrMacca

Thank you very much for your review which I am so pleased to read, especially regarding my colleagues and their service and efficiency, the breakfast and cleaning as well and also thank you for constructive feedback, I will for sure take that into consideration.

I hope we get a chance to welcome you back.

Kind regards
Marlene Kristensen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2019

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marlene K, General Manager at Scandic The Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2019

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews