We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor value for money” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Aarhus Vest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Scandic Aarhus Vest
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Aarhus
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor value for money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

I like the Scandic brand but was very disappointed by this hotel.

I stayed on business, arrived late and stayed overnight. A fat tv, I hadn't seen one in months. The room was of a low standard, an uncomfortable, very basic wooden chair to sit at the "desk" and the bathroom was obviously worn and shower (and shower curtain) dirty. Thin walls and ceilings, could hear people walking in the room above me.

Check-out in the morning took 10 minutes, making it worse is the hotel has a small lobby so the queue for checkout backed out to the elevators and you were literally breathing down the persons neck in front of you. There are better ways to start the morning.

The breakfast selection was decent but with less selection than other Scandic's. Coffee was undrinkable.

For the price I paid (150 Euros) I would never stay here again. Half price I might consider it.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruno V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    112
    102
    31
    13
See reviews for
71
77
13
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kalundborg
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

They pick locations and build or buy hotels, experts in running it as cheap as possible, cutting all costs. And it shows! We were there at a lower rate in weekend, very simple room, fatscreen tv, barely kept up. Spots on carpets in hallway, tiny elevators (limit 8 on the sign) stuffed with 4 persons. We booked standard double, got two single beds, nobody bothered to ask but we would certainly prefer a double bed. Breakfast not bad, bake-off bread, powder scrambled eggs, only one girl to work the whole room. I would hate to pay full rate here!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thedanishtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stayed here during a business visit. The hotel really needs a major renovation. Rooms are worn down, and completely stripped of any kind of atmosphere. Stains and scratches everywhere. And the location is terrible - far away from the city centre, and directly next to one of the worst ghetto-areas in Denmark. I do not understand why a hotel was ever build here. Staff was nice though, and so was breakfast. But would not stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EUTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aarhus hotels

Lillestrøm
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Very nice rooms, good space.
The keycard kept not working, but a quick fix at the desk helped.
Very nice danish and european breakfast.
Only thing I didn't like is that the cleaning personnel did not vacuum floor or change the sheets during our week long stay.

Room Tip: This is out in the middle of nowhere, not really a better view or anything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

Stayed here for several nights on a business trip. The hotel is fairly large and located on the western outskirts of the city, one benefit is free parking. It’s kind of like an upmarket Travelodge, practical, provides the essentials but not upmarket.

The rooms are OK, the furniture is fairly modern (looks like IKEA) but some parts look a little tired e.g. bathroom, skirting, door etc. Don’t like the laminate flooring. My shower ran all over the bathroom floor – judging by the state of the bathroom door it wasn’t the first time. You’ll also find a small minibar, safe and TV. I noticed some suite type rooms which would have been nicer than my basic room.

There’s a small seating area, a couple of PCs and a small shop in reception, plus bar and large dining area that doubles as a breakfast room. Note: restaurant/bar not open Sunday evenings, though there were a couple of sandwiches in the shop fridge.
Free wifi throughout the hotel but could only get it to work in reception, a small gym (couple of running machines and a bike) in the basement.

Nothing of any interest apart from a petrol station near the hotel. Various places to eat in town but parking was a struggle, we ventured down to the harbour on one occasion where there was a good choice of places to eat – couldn’t really see anything of the harbour as it was dark and raining.

Final few things, Aarhus airport is quite a long way out of the city and taxis can be few on the ground outside the peak morning and evening times, there did look to be a bus but I’m not sure if it goes anywhere near the hotel. Check the restaurant/shop takes all credit cards as some only take Danish cards.

In summary, I would use the hotel again as it ticked enough boxes and I didn't have any problems, but if given a choice would pay a little extra for something nicer.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julianp-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

Our tour party was treated well for evening dinner. Our room was comfortable, airy and clean. Bathroom toilet and shower were also clean. No plug in the handbasin. The view from our room was not brilliant. Breakfast was ok - but Brits. who like their bacon home or away would be disappointed by it's absence! One night stay only . . . so cannot comment further.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

I have booked this hotel by my colleague.
The location was excellent, this is little far away from city center but good.
Room service was excellent and you can get good cooperation from the hotel staffs.
I got good food and sleep, i have enjoyed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PonPandian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aarhus hotels
2.3 mi away
Scandic Aarhus City
Scandic Aarhus City
#3 of 22 in Aarhus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
6.1 mi away
Montra Hotel Sabro Kro
2.2 mi away
Hotel Oasia Aarhus
Hotel Oasia Aarhus
#2 of 22 in Aarhus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Aarhus
2.4 mi away
Villa Provence
Villa Provence
#1 of 22 in Aarhus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
2.5 mi away
First Hotel Atlantic
First Hotel Atlantic
#6 of 22 in Aarhus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Aarhus Vest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Aarhus Vest

Property: Scandic Aarhus Vest
Address: Rytoften 3, Aarhus 8210, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > East Jutland > Aarhus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Aarhus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Aarhus Vest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Scandic Aarhus Vest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Aarhus Århus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing