We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very proficient business hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Aarhus City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Scandic Aarhus City
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Aarhus
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
130 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very proficient business hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Spent 2 nights on business and was very pleased. The hotel is brand new, from June 2012, so nothing is worn or outdated. Booked a standard no-thrills room, asked for a low-noise room at check-in and got it - no noise what so ever. Very good beds. Room was a bit small with no cupboards or drawers, but adequate for staying a few nights on your own. Bath room was nice and spacious. Everything in the romm/bathroom worked perfectly. Full and pretty good breakfast buffet. Free newspapers. Adequate fitness facilities (brand new machines, as everything else in the hotel). Limited TV channels, and they seemed to have a bit of trouble with the TV system. The corridor at my floor smelled a bit funny, like a pet store, but the room did not. Excellent central location, no obvious jogging opportunities as it is in city centre. Would come again and will recommend it.

Room Tip: Facing the hotels inner yard will be the most silent ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ohlnielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina C, General Manager at Scandic Aarhus City, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear ohlnielsen,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is highly appreciated. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Scandic Aarhus City.

Yours Sincerely
Nina Carlslund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    330
    80
    27
    10
See reviews for
159
188
20
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tienen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

We had a nice stay here.the hotel is situated central to places of interest so we could walk everywhere, even with the children. We had two connecting rooms with an extra bed, there was enough space. The wooden floors make it look clean en contemporary. Staff was friendly and helpful. Due to our son getting ill and a late night visit to hspital they allowed us to check out of the room later, which was a great help. We asked for a room away from the elevator, which gave us the peace and quiet we wanted, but the wifi didn' t work well. We ate in the hotel's crestaurant once which was nice but definitely overpriced. There were vere nice touches for the kids e.g they were given a viewmaster as a menu with a selection of Jamie Oliver 's dishes from the children's menu. Also at check-in there was a nice little gift for the children as well. The shower was nice, but i would have liked the possiblity of a bathtub. Also, a small fridge in the room would be nice. breakfast was nice with a good variety and selection. I only missed freshly pressed juice. There was a nice little playroom in the breakfast area so the parents could enjoy the buffet a bit longer when kids were fedup.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank amoebeTienen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina C, General Manager at Scandic Aarhus City, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear amoebeTienen,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is highly appreciated. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Scandic Aarhus City.

Yours Sincerely
Nina Carlslund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed here with my fiance while he was on business in the city. Having never been to Scandinavia I was unsure what to expect with regards to standard of hotel. I was pleased on our arrival to find a functional room that was clean and tidy. Yes, there is no bathtub in the bathroom but I find that this is not unusual in modern hotels (I'm not sure about showering directly opposite a mirror though - a little bit too much of myself first thing in the morning!). I would have liked a mini bar in the room to keep drinks cool but the shop based at reception was handy enough so long as you remember to take any drinks up with you at bedtime. I loved that the waste basket was organised into recyclable material sections (we in the UK could learn from this example) but the plastic section wasn't big enough for all my empty coca-cola drinks bottles from the shop!

The location is excellent - my fiance was able to walk to the conference he was attending at the Musikhuset within minutes. For me, there to explore the city, it was also a perfect location. In fairness, the city is very compact and you can walk anywhere on a nice day (thankfully the three days I had were lovely and it only rained on our arrival and departure!). The nearby Art museum and Rainbow Panorama is a treat and there are a number of lovely restaurants at a maximum of 15 minutes walk.

The staff at front desk were always polite and we were even able to get a few restaurant recommendations. As I hear about the rest of Scandinavia eating out was rather expensive for the size of portions. I was happy with the more reasonable portions (not heaped on the plate) but would have liked it to have been easier on the purse strongs. The restaurant in the hotel is a step more expensive than this but definitely worth eating in. We ate here twice and the vegetables are so fresh, the food is cooked perfectly and the staff will do anything they can to help you. I really felt like I'd had a proper wholesome meal after eating in the hotel restaurant - the real gem in the hotel's crown.

The hotel had only been open a few weeks when we visited in the middle of June and they were experiencing a few teething problems; the fire alarm went off three days in a row and on the first day we had just arrived and got woken from our nap only to find the fire exit confusing as it only seemed to take us into a maze of paths at the back of the hotel (and I had actually studies the exit map on our door!) - thank heavens it was only an alarm! I think they got it sorted eventually though as it stopped at the end of our trip but the lack of information from staff about it being a drill was a little concerning. Also, I couldn't buy city passes to get discount on attractions as they didn't have a license to sell these yet. However, I think this should be sorted by now and the staff advised other hotels (including a neighbouring Scandic nearby) where I could purchase the pass.

All in all, a lovely first experience in Scandinavia. While other aspects of the trip were responsible for me wanting to visit Scandinavia again, the hotel helped contribute to this desire; primarily because of the high quality restaurant and exposure to local cuisine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisonannk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina C, General Manager at Scandic Aarhus City, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Alisonannk

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is highly appreciated. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Scandic Aarhus City.

Yours Sincerely
Nina Carlslund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Spent one night on a business trip while the hotel had just been open for a week or so. Location is definitely good if you want to stay downtown Aarhus, but no fancy views etc. Nice that everything is brand new of course, but the atmosphere was sad and boring and I found the staff rather impersonal. Breakfast had probably been good were it not for too many beginner's problems.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomasdk1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina C, General Manager at Scandic Aarhus City, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear ThomasDK1974,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is highly appreciated. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Scandic Aarhus City.

Yours Sincerely
Nina Carlslund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Great location in the center of Aarhus, nice and new but a bit small rooms. the breakfast and the service at the breakfast was outstanding. parking is in the basement under the hotel this is not includede.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MG-Marienlyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina C, General Manager at Scandic Aarhus City, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear qahd,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is highly appreciated. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Scandic Aarhus City.

Yours Sincerely
Nina Carlslund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Scandic Aarhus City hotel is relatively situated within major attraction of the city. It is roughly less than 500 meters walking distance from the central station. It is also quite new, in fact, as of this writing, you cannot find the entire building on Google Earth Street View.

The lobby was agreeably welcoming with lots of couches. The room looks a bit generic like most other major brands of hotel chain and it doesn't have enough uniqueness worth to be mention.

Internet connection in the 4th floor was good and the TV has enough channels to be entertained. However, the room is not equipped with a fridge or a mini bar and the WC doesn't have a tub. As for their breakfast buffet, which is included in the rate, served continental breakfast with plentiful to choose from.

All in all, I recommend this hotel for future guest solely on the merit that this is new and working accordingly to most visitors' basic needs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina C, General Manager at Scandic Aarhus City, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Ulrick,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us during your visit in Aarhus. And thank you for taking the time to write us feedback. This only helps us improving our services.
I will encourage Google street view to do some new satellite fotos of aarhus city so that we can appear on them as a hotel and not as a construction site - thank you for sharing that!

Best regards
Nina Carlslund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Close to the rainbow, dock and the old houses. The room Was spacius with comfortable beds.
The bathroom contained products from FACE which was nice. Internet is free. Nice dinner in the hotel. PArking is close by.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekqvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina C, General Manager at Scandic Aarhus City, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Ekqvist,
Thank You very much for takting the time to do a positive review on tripadvisor. It is highly appreciated and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Scandic Aarhus City.
Best regards Nina Carlslund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aarhus hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Provence
Villa Provence
#1 of 22 in Aarhus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oasia Aarhus
Hotel Oasia Aarhus
#2 of 22 in Aarhus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Aarhus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#7 of 22 in Aarhus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.3 mi away
First Hotel Atlantic
First Hotel Atlantic
#6 of 22 in Aarhus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comwell Aarhus
Comwell Aarhus
#4 of 22 in Aarhus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Aarhus City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Aarhus City

Property: Scandic Aarhus City
Address: Oestergade 10, Aarhus 8000, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > East Jutland > Aarhus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Aarhus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Aarhus City 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to hotel Scandic Aarhus City Hotel Scandic Aarhus City opened on 1 June 2012 and is situated on Ostergade, in the centre of Aarhus. This hotel is the second Scandic hotel in Aarhus. This hotel is centrally located in Aarhus, within walking distance of shops and sights. Visit Aarhus' Old Town and the AroS art museum with its famous Rainbow panorama. Find Aarhus' popular pedestrian street, "Stroget", with its shops and department stores such as Magasin and Salling, just outside the hotel. Climb to the top of the hotel for an impressive view over Aarhus city and the harbour, as well as the woods and beaches.Facility Our hotel restaurant and bar, The Grill - Drinks & Dining, is a central meeting spot, both for hotel guests and Aarhus locals. Here you can enjoy a drink, a tasty dinner, or just relax with a cup of coffee. There're solar panels on the roof of hotel Scandic Aarhus City that supply the hotel with 90% of the electricity used in our hotel rooms. Our hotel is also one of Denmark's most accessible hotels, with 22 rooms for disabled and a fully-accessible conference area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Scandic Aarhus City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing