We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
First Hotel Atlantic
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Aarhus
Reviewed August 23, 2014

The hotel might not look super promising from the outside but is worth to stay in. Modern rooms, friendly staff and an breakfast room with a 360 degree room over Aarhus. The beds where somewhat to soft, that is the only point to complain. For any other things: thumps up!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com
Thank dscheykopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerAtlantic, Receptionschef at First Hotel Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear dscheykopp

Thank you for your nice review of our hotel.
We hope we can welcome you back to our hotel next time you visit Aarhus.
Have a lovely day!
BR Silje Stakston
FO Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (827)
There are newer reviews for First Hotel Atlantic
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

302 - 308 of 827 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2014

If you are expecting to get some sleep on a Saturday or Sunday morning, make sure that you do not get a room on the harbor or street side. Construction and a disco will keep you up since there is no AC.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerAtlantic, Receptionschef at First Hotel Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Greg
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.
I am sorry the stay did not live up to your expectations. We also look forward to the harbour area beeing finished. Primo 2015 the entire area will be done with the kanal running passed the hotel and the new multimedia building will be in use.
We hope we can welcome you back then.
Have a nice day!
Br Silje Stakston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

I chose this hotel as it is the same brand of hotel in which I had stayed in Gothenburg and therefore I assumed that the standards would be the same. However, I was disappointed that this particular did not match expectations. The positives of the hotel are its location and the breakfast buffet. The negatives are the standard of the room and the customer service from reception. The room was small, very warm and did not have any proper storage facilities for clothing apart from two hooks. The bathroom or should I say toilet come shower was extremely small that you had to side step to get inside. Based on the star rating of this hotel, I expected a proper shower cubicle or actual bath tub not a shower head and curtain. When checking in, I asked if we could have a twin room and the receptionist tried to charge an extra further 200 DKK per night for this. I simply do not understand how a hotel could charge more for a twin room opposed to a double room. When I realised that there was no hairdryer in the room, I spoke to the receptionist at the desk to inform her of this. Her response surprised me to say the least. She at first said that there is definitely a hairdryer in each room and then said unless someone had stolen it. I did not like this sort of attitude as it makes you feel as though you are not to be trusted. I certainly would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Neni83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerAtlantic, Front Office Manager at First Hotel Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.
We are sorry your stay did not live up to your expectations. I understand you booked and stayed in our moderate double room that is our cheapest room type. The upgrade rate you were offered is for our standard double room with either twin or king size bed, bathtub, shower and wardrobe.
I am very sorry our receptionist did not immediately just provide you with a new hairdryer instead of discussing why. I will of course make sure that does not happen again.
I hope you will have a nice day, and again thank you for reviewing us.
Br Silje Stakston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Everything was perfect and I'd def go there again :)
The rooms are big, modern and clean with a bathtub and 40" tv.
Parking for 75 dkk per night in the hotel area was great too! I'd love to go here again

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com
Thank PeterMalmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerAtlantic, Receptionschef at First Hotel Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Dear Peter

Thank you for that fantastic review, I can assure you that we would also love to see you again.
Have a lovely day and visit again soon.
Best regards Silje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed here as part of touring holiday to Scandinavia. There is a lot of building work going on in the area but we were not disturbed by any noise. Well located as near lots of restaurants, spacious and clean rooms. Breakfast is served on 10th floor which in time will have lovely views, really nice breakfast offerings. Wanted to eat at Flammen next door, arrived at 9.01pm to be told they had stop serving, it's a buffet restaurant! Discovered Bones instead, as we were looking for something healthy, they have a great salad bar!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerAtlantic, Receptionschef at First Hotel Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Dear Alison

Thank you for your review and the lovely comments about our hotel.
We hope you will pass through Aarhus again soon.
Have a nice day!
Best regards Silje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

After making an error with our ferry booking we needed a place to stay for a night and found this reasonably priced hotel in the centre of århus. Unfortunately at the time of our stay the key card machine was broken which led to limited flexibility with accessing our room. However the staff was very kind about it and was always smiling as they brought us up to our room. Breakfast was nice with lots of choice. Really appreciated this hotel

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerAtlantic, Receptionschef at First Hotel Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Jen

Thank you for your review and the nice comments about hotel and staff.
We are very sorry for the delays it caused you with the key card problems.
We hope you will visit us again next time you pass through Aarhus.
Have a nice summer!
Br Silje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Great location in the middle of the train stain, ferry and city centre, and car rental just a block away. Room was nice and clean, although quite small, but has everything you need. Terribly warm room, and no possibility of getting a fan for the night to ventilate room. Noice from seagulls/seabirds on the neighboor house roofs, from traffic and a annoying fitness center during night and morning hours at our room (facing south). Nice balcony, but no chairs. Great view of Århus from restaurant, and breakfast was good, but simple, although they offered a nice selection of fruits and good selection of coffees! Service at the reception was good. Due to building work in the area there was a lot of sand and dust outside hotel entrance, but the reception area was clean and nice. Elevators worked well and fast. Good value for the price. If you are concerned about the green profile they have one, but we were a bit disappointed that they replaced our towels although we followed their guide in how to avoid that.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 813Gro_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerAtlantic, Receptionschef at First Hotel Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Gro

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor, and thank you for all your nice comments.
You are right the summer has been very warm this year..We hope to be better prepared next year.
The new harbour front will be done in the beginning of 2015, and then we will have less traffic outside the hotel and the river will run passed us.
We hope to welcome you with us next time you visit Aarhus.
Br Silje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aarhus hotels
0.3 mi away
Scandic Aarhus City
Scandic Aarhus City
#3 of 22 in Aarhus
840 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Aarhus
0.5 mi away
Hotel Oasia Aarhus
Hotel Oasia Aarhus
#2 of 22 in Aarhus
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Provence
Villa Provence
#1 of 22 in Aarhus
437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comwell Aarhus
Comwell Aarhus
#4 of 22 in Aarhus
392 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western The Mayor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Atlantic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Atlantic

Address: Europaplads 10/14, Aarhus 8000, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > East Jutland > Aarhus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Aarhus
#5 Luxury Hotel in Aarhus
#7 Business Hotel in Aarhus
Price Range: $130 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Atlantic 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten-story Hotel in city center, directly opposite harbor & ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Hotel Atlantic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Atlantic
Comfort Inn Århus
Comfort Hotel Århus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing