We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“super!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nordens Folkekokken - CLOSED

Nordens Folkekokken
Price range: $14 - $62
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Hull yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“super!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is one of the best places i have ever eaten, was taken on a business trip with my work colleague. Food - absolutely excellent! Service by the 2 Danish waitresses was fantastic, they were so knowledgeable about all the dishes and wine, more so than in any other restaurant I have visited. They didn't have an English menu but the staff spoke excellent English and explained everything on the menu and more! Would definitely recommend a visit to anyone who is in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 19sheryl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    14
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal and ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Was taken out here for dinner during a business trip to Aarhus. The restaurant was very warm compared to the cold weather outside. We were sitting upstairs, though there is also lot of seating downstairs. There are lot of different menu options. Unfortunately there was no English menu, but our waitress and hosts did an excellent job of explaining all the menu items to us. When each item was served, it was accompanied with a detailed description of the dish including the source of each of the key ingredients - definitely something I have not experienced elsewhere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NJain1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Danish dynamite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I was on a business trip to Aarhus, Denmark, where my business partner decided for us to go to NFK. A nice decorated restaurant in the heart of the city. I had not have any experience with the nordic cousine, and was somewhere between excited and skeptical.
We got to the restaurant at rush our, 19.30 a friday evening, and was met by a young, very warm-hearted waitress. We were seated in the corner of the restaurant, next to the bar. She quickly found some english menus and explained the concept to us. We decided to go with the big package, called Full Monty, with champagne and appetizer, 5 courses with wines, coffee and a cognac.
The bubbles and the appetizer arrived very quickly, and was a great way to start a nice dinner. After this we were blown away, by the next five courses and the fantastic italian wines. At first we were a little disappointed, that we had to drink italian wines for the danish food, but as soon as we tasted them, we forgot all about which country they were from. Each one of them, was perfect combined with the food, and it was clear there was put a lot of thought into the combination.
We both had the same five courses. Salmon, goat, veal, cheese, and chocolate sorbet. All the dishes were prepared and cooked perfectly, and with garnish that made some great flavor impressions.
All in all a great first meeting with the nordic kitchen, and if I ever go back to Aarhus, Denmark, this will definitely be the place I will eat.
If I had to say one bad thing about the restaurant; the coffee wasn't great. But at the price of 799, it didn't really matter.
One of the best experiences with food, I have ever had abroad.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Porsche Boxster of fancy Aarhus restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

This restaurant has a concept that's a little weird - up-to-the-minute trendy new Nordic fine dining with set menus and wine pairings and all the rest, but at a low, low price. Well, it's not cheap. But for this caliber of food and service it's certainly cheaper than anything else you would find in Aarhus.

Basically, it's like a Porsche Boxster: it's for people who want to drive a Porsche but can't afford the more expensive model. And eating here feels like, well, driving a Porsche Boxster (I imagine...) - not quite as perfect as a michelin-worthy (bringing up michelin makes this a very confusing analogy, actually...), 1000 kroner per person experience, but still pretty damn nice. They make an effort to use seasonal, local, ingredients. They choose very interesting and good wines to go with the courses. We had their 350 DKK weekday three-course deal and it was great. I'd definitely recommend this to someone who's interested in this kind of fine-dining new Nordic experience without going bankrupt.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

Went with friends who lived in Aarhus who said it was the best Danish cuisine in town. It did not disappoint- service was excellent, decor and ambiance exactly what one would expect from a modern Skandinavian Restaurant.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelinBobCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nordens Folkekokken also viewed

 
Aarhus, East Jutland
Hinnerup, Aarhus
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing