We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and wine”
Review of Restaurant Et

Restaurant Et
Ranked #4 of 482 Restaurants in Aarhus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Midtbyen
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
102 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great food and wine”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We keep liking this restaurant for several reasons:
Food is really delicious. Can f.ex recommend their "Torskeryg Basque" (Cod in a light, delicious fond).
As to the wines, it is highly remarkable that they serve their whole range of wines from the wine list by the glass!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clausglogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    89
    18
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plattsburgh, New York, United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere on a chilly night in Arhus”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I was out with colleagues for dinner and we went to this French-flavored restaurant. I was impressed that they were able to accommodate such a large group! One of my colleagues doesn't eat gluten. Because the restaurant was told this in advance, they prepared a bevy of breads for her to enjoy just like the rest of the group, but without the gluten. It looked as tasty as what the rest of us were having!

I'm a vegetarian and they were more than able to provide me with a tasty salad that was packed with flavor! The main course was barley served in a lovely cream sauce with mushrooms. I'm usually not a fan of barley, but this meal was so impressive that I initially thought it was risotto!

The wines were also well-thought out and matched up based on the courses we were having.

I thought this place had subtle lighting, was laid out in a way that made one curious about the other cool-looking diners that were there, and just an interesting place to have a meal overall. It was a pleasant discovery during my brief stay in Arhus!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cat Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Solid”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Flawless service. Nice food. But lacks soul. It is good restaurant. Absolutely nothing to complain about. However it fails to deliver that edge you would expect. Not that extra taste, not that extra smile, no surprises. Just solid. And how fun is that?

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Björn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great service and value for money”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I visited Restaurant Et with my husband on a Tuesday night in July and we had an excellent evening. The atmosphere in the restaurant is informal and relaxed, with a simple but cozy interrior and down-to-earth service. We felt very welcome and both our food- and wine servers took their time explaining menu and wine in detail and had time for a friendly chat.
We started of with a glass of crisp Crémant and delicious (free) snacks, had a special summer-deal menu - crab sallad, braised veal with sauce supreme and strawberries/white chocolate - with a set wine menu and finished with coffee and petit four. All courses were delicious and well prepared and the portions were quite large - a little bit too large in my opinion, they could have been 20-25% smaller and I would have still been satisfied. The wines matched the food excellently. We paid around 11-1200 dkr for snacks, aperitif, 3 courses with wine, coffee and petit fours - really good value for money considering the quality of the food. We will gladly return another time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dittelund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Trying too hard...and not getting there.”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Had received a tip from some friends who had heard about Et in Århus and decided to first check their web-page for info and the menu and later we also checked Tripadvisor for resumes. It all seemed very good not to say promising. Heading to the restaurant, we found that the construction work close to the restaurant was not just a small one, but you had to cross a small causeway to get to the place = minus for atmosphere.
They had an impressive wine list with some really good wines from France. A bit restricting though to be honest, even for those who love French wines.
Then came the food menu which seemed to be simple, yet sophisticated with a good variety of choices and the dishes carried a very simple explanation of ingredients and preparation = promising.
Our starter, Moules Marnières, were delicious, even though they came prepared with 4 different herbs and topped with some fine mustard = innovative.
Finally, we got our main course; catfish! Great fish if it hadn't arrived on a huge pile of watered risotto full of green peas, green beans and lots of dill. What was even worse, the fish was topped with a poached egg! :(
Since prices for both wine and food were high compared to the level of quality you got, we ended up a bit disappointed.
But again, to summarize, a place trying a bit too hard (too creative) to be able to play with the big boys. Definitely not worth a 4 or 5!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Et also viewed

 
Aarhus, East Jutland
Aarhus, East Jutland
 
Aarhus, East Jutland
 

Been to Restaurant Et? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing