We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Fascinating”

Lindholm Hoeje Museum
Ranked #2 of 165 things to do in Aalborg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The burial site of Lindholm Hoje is one of the most beautiful ancient monuments in Denmark from late Iron Age and the Viking Age. Several hundred stone circles indicate the tombs. In the museum, you can see an exhibition on the lives of the Vikings on Lindholm Hoje as well as a new exhibition on the ancient time in the land of the Limfjorden.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Fascinating”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Lindholm Hoje was one of the highlights of our trip through Denmark. We spent close to 3 hours, casually wandering through the museum and lingering for a bit in the beautiful cemetery.

The museum was well laid out and full of fascinating information on Vikings, the discovery and excavation of the cemetery, and history of the area. There were many relics on display that were recovered in the area, and great descriptions and depictions of life in Viking times. All exhibits were presented in both Danish and English, so it was easy to make sense of everything without a guide.

The cemetery was amazing. Some of the oldest burial sites here are from the year 400 AD! It is so beautiful and tranquil; I can imagine being at peace resting there for all eternity. It was so interesting to see the different shapes of the stone structures and read about what each shape meant. The cemetery has signs scattered throughout giving different information about where homes were erected, where people were buried, what the stones mean, etc.

If you're in Aalborg, don't leave without stopping here.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank grateful_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    60
    14
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Vikings and graves”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

A lot of stuff to look at! Even a bit too much information. For the history/viking era enthusiast. Not all too easy to find though.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sofia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Do not miss this museum and cemetery”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Lindholm Hoje was one of the highlights of our two week car trip around Jutland and Copenhagen. The museum covers prehistory through the Vikings, and is extremely well done. The exhibits are beautiful, informative, and all have English explanations as well as Danish. It's not too overwhelmingly large - we took our time, and were in the building about 1.5 hrs. There is a separate area inside explaining the cemetery which does not have English explanations, so we only spent about 20 minutes in there. Then out to the cemetery itself - which is amazing. This would be a good activity for kids as the museum is captivating and a good size, and then you get to roam outside through the graves. We really enjoyed this trip.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank travelmolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Worth visiting!”
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Both the outdoor and indoor museum were absolutely fascinating - a lot to do with my local guide (a professional in viking history). In case you are interested in history and past, this place is suitable for you :) I give two thumbs up to the beautiful area, well put together museum and fascinating graveyard. A lovely little museum shop deserves an extra plus.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Anthropol_FI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodland, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“a hidden treasure”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We were staying in Alborg one night and decided to check out the Viking Burial site. We were pleasantly surprised at this hidden treasure. They have a fantastic musuem. I loved the decorator and lots of Viking treasures and murals that depict the day in the life of a Viking. Most of the Museum is underground. They handed us folders with the items written in English so we could read everything and asked if we had any suggestions as we speak English. the burial ground was facinating to walk through too. this was to be a quick stop but we spent 2 hours and everyone enjoyed it. None of my American travel books said anything anout the bruial ground and museum.... sad

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank globalgal14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lindholm Hoeje Museum also viewed

 

Been to Lindholm Hoeje Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing