We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location suboptimal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Limfjord Hotel, Aalborg
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Aalborg
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
753 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“location suboptimal”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Although this hotel is near the centre of town, when you walk out the front door you are faced with the red light district of the city. For me this is a serious drawback to the hotel. Otherwise this is a fairly normal business hotel although not with the features I have usually seen at Radisson.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waiake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    91
    135
    51
    21
See reviews for
38
74
19
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
506 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Hotel is centrally located and is situated near the bridge across Limfjord on the promenade. Half of the rooms therefore have "water" view, another half overlook parallel street. I think Radisson Blu can be considered "business oriented" hotel chain - it is not cheapest but quality is somewhat better than say Holiday Inns. It is in the middle of what can be described as "entertainment" district with several strip bars/night clubs and casino nearby (I was told area can become quite noisy at weekends).
Hotel is within easy reach from the Aalborg airport (taxi fare will be ~150 DKK). My room rate was ~120 eur/night

Judging by number of signed aircraft photos in the hotel lobby, it is frequented by military (esp. air force).

Room I received was overlooking the fjord and was quite small, but yet had everything needed - comfortable double bed, writing desk with chair and a minibar. Tea/coffee making facilities were provided. No water for free and water from minibar quite pricy (~4EUR for 0.5l and ~7.5 EUR for 1.5l). Bathroom was similarly tiny with the smallest shower cubicle I've ever seen. Every shower ended up as an exercise in battling shower curtain which tended to constantly stick to my feet. Toiletries were Radisson Blu standard - Anne Semonin.

Internet was provided through external supplier (Quadriga) with basic internet free of charge and "improved" internet for 99dkk/day. Basic internet was quite alright for everything including skype calls.

Breakfast was reasonably good with above-average spread of cold cuts, yoghurts/fruits/scrambled eggs/sausage/bacon. The only disappointment was coffee machine that produced only instant coffees.

Dinner in hotel's restaurant however was complete letdown with below average "Italian" food.

There was gym in the basement - rather small with 1 rowing machine, 1 bike, 1 treadmill and 1 elliptic trainer plus one weight exercise machine with hit and miss attendance - one day it could be completely empty, another completely full.

Checkout was fast and bill was accurate.

Bottom line - reasonable option to stay in Aalborg but have dinner elsewhere.

Room Tip: rooms with fjord view are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

A nice hotel in a great location. The rooms are small but well kept. Across the road are various strip clubs which bring the classiness of the hotel down in my opinion. Also across the road is a great street lined with bars and restaurants. Great for choice of food and drink but can become noisy in the early hours if you have a room facing the street.
The breakfast included is fantastic with a great selection of food.
Wi-fi seemed very slow.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights from 25th October. It is designated as a 4 star hotel but I feel a 3 star rating would be more appropriate. On the plus side the hotel is conveniently located in the centre, with bus routes running outside to most destinations including the Airport, Rail Station and the Gigantium Stadium. The entrance on the street side facade is most unfortunate being opposite 3 strip clubs and Jomfru ane gade, one of Aalborg's business streets for nightlife. The back and right hand side facades of the hotel overlook the Limfjord, a much more pleasant and quiet outlook. The view of the hotel from the waterway is more attractive. The promenade along the Limfjord has undergone redevelopment making it a pleasant area with restaurants to suit every pocket. The room was adequate but certain features/facilities were disappointing. The television had limited channels, if you wanted radio or films these could be selected and paid for. However, don't bother because the pay selection is worse than that freely available. Tea, coffee and chocolate making facilities are available - and could be topped up each day - just as well as the smallest quantity was provided. The bathroom, though modern, required some maintenance. The door handle backing plate, which was covered in paint, was held on by one screw , the grouting around the floor tiling stained and the mastic sealant between the glass shower screens and tiled base had penetrating mould. One wall hook was loose - a robe hook on the back of the door would be useful. We only used the hotel restaurant for breakfast each day, preferring to sample the superb local cuisine offered in many of the restaurants further into the town. The breakfast selection was large but the quality could be improved: small hard croissants and Danish, only sugar cubes for sprinkling on cereals, bacon as black as burnt toast, good mini frankfurters, cooked tomatoes and mushrooms but scrambled egg like modeling clay, good continental selection; ham, salami, cheese and breads etc. Tea and coffee from a machine. The staff were pleasant and helpful - a special mention going to the gentleman on duty at night who went out of his way to assist.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the hotel are preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staratmidnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skien
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This hotel are only suitable for people who have no need for sleep. We stayed there for three Nights from 4. - 7.Oct 2013. In the evenings (after 7) we stayed mostly hotel. The hotel promised one Norweian TV-channel; there was none. The Fitness-room was small, with bad air-cond. With two children you must find another hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room against the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 367Gunnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aalborg hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

A very nice hotel, in a very convenient central district of Aalborg. Within 5-10 minutes walking distance you can reach several central cafes and restaurants. Car parking within the hotel can be a slight problem, as the parking lots are very narrow. I stayed in a very clean and big room, with a comfortable bed (maybe little softer that I actually like it). The bathroom was medium sized, but everything (at least) a business traveler would need was provided. Hot water was available at all weird times I tried to wash myself. As other people mentioned, the rooms get a little bit noisy, as there seems to be no proper insulation. However, I should say that it was actually not that disturbing. One of the greatest advantages is the breakfast buffet - big variety of many different stuff, for everyone to be satisfied, and it starts very early in the morning (6.30am). The breakfast lounge was actually overcrowded, as many business travelers stay there and leave in the morning - but that was not a problem at all. Finally, I should not forget to mention about the very helpful and smiling staff of the reception, who were ready to provide any information needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny_S80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here whilst on a business trip and whilst I can highly recommend the staff (esp the lady in the piano bar) and the breakfasts, the rooms are starting to look a bit tired. In addition, there's no air con in the rooms so you will need to leave the window open during the night and then you'll get (from my 3 night, midweek experience) the delights of drinkers in the bars opposite until the early morning and at least 1 guy a night in a car or motorbike who chooses to rev his engine to an ear shattering volume just for giggles.

A shame as its otherwise a decent hotel in a good location

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Fox2319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aalborg hotels
0.3 mi away
First Hotel Aalborg
First Hotel Aalborg
#1 of 19 in Aalborg
508 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandic Aalborg City
Scandic Aalborg City
#2 of 19 in Aalborg
382 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comwell Hvide Hus Aalborg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Milling Hotel Gestus, Aalborg
0.2 mi away
Phoenix Hotel - Aalborg
Phoenix Hotel - Aalborg
#9 of 19 in Aalborg
242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jomfru Ane
Hotel Jomfru Ane
#15 of 19 in Aalborg
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Limfjord Hotel, Aalborg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Limfjord Hotel, Aalborg

Property: Radisson Blu Limfjord Hotel, Aalborg
Address: Ved Stranden 14/16, Aalborg 9000, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Aalborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Aalborg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Limfjord Hotel, Aalborg 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel in city center with views of the city or the River Limfjord; offering bar & restaurant; near casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Radisson Blu Limfjord Hotel, Aalborg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Aalbourg
Aalbourg Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing