We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Christiansminde
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Aero(Svendborg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Hotel Troense(Svendborg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Badehotel Harmonien(Aeroskobing)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Monica(Aeroskobing)
View Hotel
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveler rating
62
74
21
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
74
21
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice roomlovely viewfree bikeseggs and baconlovely placebalconyapartmentcyclingconferencefloorreceptionkitchenettesound
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 167 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel is directly on the coast with fantastic views from the restaurant, some of the rooms, and some of the conference rooms. The food is so so, and the basement bar is a self-service bar based on a honors system. I found the staff very helpful and service minded with technical issues and the AV equipment is up to date.

If you are there during the season, do not forget to take a trip with the steamship Helge which stops at the pier just outside the hotel. Helge will take you as far as Valdemar Castle on Tåsinge.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank Bo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Large hotel, very busy with family events during weekends (and probably conferences during weekdays). Attractive location in green surroundings at the strait of Svendborgsund, 15-20 min walk along the coast to downtown cosy Svendborg, same distance to the romantic island of Thurø in the opposite direction.

Large rooms, comfortable and well equipped. First we got a room facing the kitchen, with yellow stains on the toilet seat. After complaining we got a nice room with sea view and terrace. Breakfast OK quality, good choice. Expect very crowded breakfast restaurant at weekends due to loud family parties.

Friendly and helpful staff at front desk. The place is value for money if you can get a discounted rate.

Room Tip: Go for a room with sea view.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eagle_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a nice room with patio and grassy area in front. The room was clean and comfortable, a bit expensive but so is everything in Denmark. My only complaint would be breakfast there is a reasonable choice but it's poorly laid out and not well organised which means when the hotel is busy breakfast is not much fun!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshine4456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here before some years ago, but I had forgotten how poor this place is. OK, I should have left a review with Trip Advisor at that time to refer back to.

This time we visited this “hotel” (it is more like a 3 star motel) for a week at short notice. The view from the restaurant and some of the rooms is superb. And that is about as good as our stay gets.

We stayed in Room 1, which is very close to reception and has a lovely view of the water and a terrace. At check in, we were told by a charming receptionist that our room has private parking outside. Unfortunately, no-one else realises this and we were unable to park in our space for most of our stay.

On Saturday, some private functions took place and we couldn't find a space for our car anywhere. We asked reception for help, but were told there was nothing they could do because they don't write numbers on the spaces, so people just park anywhere. Well, actually, they could do something ... arrange to have the spaces numbered! Meanwhile, ask the driver of the car parked in our space to move it. No chance! So, we had to park a long way from our room and then carry our shopping through the snow to our accommodation. Not good!

And those private functions went on until 2 am. The noise from the live band (so it couldn't be turned down) was totally disturbing in our room, so we lost a good part of a night's sleep in the process.

The staff at reception are friendly and helpful as far as they are able, which isn't that far. For example, the "free" wifi allows internet access, but no emails can be sent/received, because, according to reception, their wifi isn't capable. Especially with Apple products, apparently. Guests expectations are set when booking a room here that wifi throughout means internet and email access, so this isn't good news, especially if you are staying more than one night and need to work. Goodness knows what my phone bill will be ... downloading everything via 3G :-(

Breakfast was very poor. It is laid out at 7 am and some of the food (meat, cheese, eggs, yoghurts, smoothies) just isn't very palatable later on. Breakfast ends at 10 am each day, including weekends. I would prefer a "no breakfast" option, but this isn't possible. The scrambled eggs were the worst I have ever tasted (once was enough) and I think most people agreed as a large pile of these were left each day. What a dreadful waste. Nothing is prepared fresh, guests just help themselves to whatever is laid out as well as coffee/tea from a machine. Service is almost non-existent, but you may occasionally catch someone appearing from the kitchen when you need a clean plate. If you are lucky.

The rooms - well, we had an "apartment" - are tired. Storage is really poor and could be greatly improved. In our room, the front door opened onto a small twin bedded area (open plan) with no storage for clothes. The twin beds have a gap between them, so no chance of cuddling up together with your loved one. There is a tiny, separate double bunk room with a small wardrobe to the side, so we put our clothes in there. The "kitchen" is two electric rings, a fridge, a sink, and a microwave, with some crockery and poorly maintained pots, pans, and utensils. So cooking potential is very, very, very limited. There are no scissors (I needed some :-) and the knives are blunt as blunt could be. There is a small shower room, complete with mould and a damp smell, and a good sized lounge diner with a small flat screen TV and a door to the patio.

Room servicing is very limited. I had to call to ask for some shampoo and shower gel on day two. I was told that each apartment only gets one tiny tube of these every two or three days. What?? Why?? Are we only expected to shower and wash our hair every two or three days ... or, if there are two guests, every four to six days? This is ridiculous.

Two bottles of wine and three bags of crisps are left on a tray in the room, which are chargeable. Fair enough. We ate the crisps one night, but they were never replenished. Hmm, perhaps guests are only allowed to have crisps once a week ... maybe on the same day that they are allowed to wash their hair and shower?

The beds are made each day (but the top cover is sometimes left on the floor under the beds) and bedding appears to be refreshed once a week. I don't think any cleaning is done judging from the dust and dirt on the floor. Towels are replaced if you leave them on the floor. There is a notice to tell guests that they must wash up their dishes, as this isn't included in room servicing. Fine, but how about giving us a cloth and some washing liquid to do this with? No chance. I mean, if you can't even get shampoo and shower gel each day, how can you expect to get washing up liquid?

You too can have all this for the 5 star sum of DK 1775 (about £207) per night. For 3 star accommodation and service. All in all, a very, very disappointing stay. One that won’t be repeated. Ever again.

Room Tip: As far from reception as possible, that way you may get a good night's sleep and a parking space ... except on Saturdays if there is a private function going on. I would go somewhere else instead.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonJem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The rooms in the hotel have been rebuild since, I last visited Hotel Christiansminde. This is OK, but doesn't give basis for a 30% price increase since 2011. I find the hotel is overpriced, the service is slappy with at least 3 errors in reservation and payment. The breakfast was not very good, warm yogurt, cold scrambled eggs etc. The surroundings at the waterfront are magnificent, and worth visiting though.

Room Tip: Take the room at the waterfront. No stairs, parking right at the room. Magnificent view in the morning and evening.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 64MichaelCHurupThy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews