We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed Jan 09 - June 10”
Review of Hotel Aero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Aero
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Svendborg
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Stayed while working in Svendborg. Very homely and welcoming, staff were great, could not praise more highly.
Had tried other hotels in area but found this to be the best. Lounge has real fire which adds to ambiance.

Room Tip: Stayed in many different type of rooms during my stay, the older building has carpets in rooms, newe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimmy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 114 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2011

Room without wardrobe, just two closes hangers, small tv and no other facilities. First floor and no elevator, despite request to change the room because of walking handicap.
Extremely slow service in the restaurant the first day, about 1 hour to get a fried fish, that was more burned than fried. Breakfast was quite sparse.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheisB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

I have stayed at Hotel Aero for one night during our biking trip through Denmark and that was one of the nicest hotels we found on our way. It is located directly at the Svendborg harbour, which saves you some precious sleep time if you aim at catching the early ferry to Aeroskobing. Our room was in the new part of the hotel and was rather large, quiet and nicely furnished. Breakfast was good - maybe not much choice, but OK for a provincial hotel. The only disadvantage for cyclists is that there is no locked storage for bicycles - they can be kept in the backyardon the opposite side of the street, which also serves as a car park.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Awal10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

This is a nice, small hotel just steps away from the harbour, which is very convenient if you want to take the first ferry to Aeroskobing in the morning. We stayed in a room in the newly-built annex, which was fairly large and clean with nice, dark furniture and comfortable beds. The room faced the inner patio, so there was no great view, but at least it was very quiet. There is a kind of bar/pub and a small restaurant downstairs, which we haven't tried, but it seemed to be very popular, also among locals. They also have a small car park round the corner, but unfortunatelly no locked place for bicycles.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanna102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Older style Hotel with some character. My room was rather small, although other I know are larger. If you ask there is a small Hotel carpark around the corner. Dinner was good, breakfast by Scandinavian Hotel standards was poor (variety). 5 minute walk to some really nice shops, BAD NEWS is you have to pay for internet - medieval: will stop me staying there again on principle.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jermtheworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Hotel Aero is an older, fairly typical Danish provincial hotel. We have stayed in the "Annex", which features very nice modern rooms, and...yes, Hotel Aero does offer an elevator.

With all due respect, I think that comparing Hotel Aero to an "chain airport hotel" in Copenhagen is like comparing oranges to apples. Prices: If you are an American traveling in Europe in this day and age, I can certainly understand the issue of "sticker shock"...!!!

I do know that the restaurant at the Hotel Aero caters to a lot of locals, and the service might therefore be considered somewhat "informal" by someone not speaking Danish. The food at the restaurant is good. I would call it "Traditional Danish".

The location of the hotel is superb....if you are in to maritime matters as the hotel is only steps away from the harbor. Svendborg is known as a maritime center, and sailors visit from all over the world. Southern Fyn and Svendborg is one of our favorite places to visit in all of Denmark.

We would happily stay at Hotel Aero again...!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ebrynnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

One previous review is very positive and one very negative, so I'll break the tie: Do stay at the Aero. It is charming, special, and superbly located right at the ferry landing in Svendborg, a block from the main pedestrian shopping streets. We stayed in a suite, which was spacious with hardwood floors and plenty of sitting room. There were two small balconies. Free parking was one minute away, off the street. The receptionists spoke English and were uniformly friendly and helpful. When I asked if they had a lobby internet machine, they let me use the computer behind the front desk. Contrary to a previous review, they DO have an elevator, so lugging luggage uphill is not an issue. The beds were very comfortable. The only negative for us was that the shower was a little strange, and we did end up taking "Navy showers" to keep from flooding the bathroom, but this issue is hardly life threatening. At the price we paid, there should be soap in the shower (there was only shampoo), but again, if you can't survive that, you shouldn't be traveling in Europe. The restaurant downstairs was superb, both for breakfast and dinner, and the decor (both restaurant and room) was 19th century, warm and cozy. We took the ferry one morning to Aeroskobing, which departed literally just outside the front door of the Aero. There are several other restaurants in the immediate area, although I would advise people to skip the Bella Italia across the street, which serves sort of fake Italian food and doesn't even know how to run a credit card without a PIN. The Aero's lobby is warm and rich, with an inviting pub atmosphere. We heartily recommend Hotel Aero if your travels take you to Svendborg.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RebelVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Svendborg
0.9 mi away
Hotel Christiansminde
Hotel Christiansminde
#3 of 8 in Svendborg
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Svendborg
1.7 mi away
Stella Maris - Hotel de Luxe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Troense
Hotel Troense
#4 of 8 in Svendborg
151 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hotel Aeroehus
Hotel Aeroehus
#5 of 5 in Aeroskobing
87 reviews
24 mi away
Best Western Hotel Knudsens Gaard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aero

Address: Brogade 1 | 1-3, Svendborg 5700, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Funen and Islands > Svendborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Svendborg
Price Range: $145 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aero 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Aero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing