We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful dinner in a lovely setting.”
Review of Under Lindetraeet

Under Lindetraeet
Ranked #13 of 257 Restaurants in Odense
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $130
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A wonderful dinner in a lovely setting.”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were wandering around the old section of Odense and decided to have dinner here. Excellent choice. The service was perfect, the meal was inventive and delicious, and the wine list was interesting. We feel so fortunate to have found this spot. We have been in Denmark for 10 days and, by far, it was the best meal we have had. It was very special!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amw3102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    40
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Odense
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best gastronomic experience in Odense”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is super cozy place in Hans Christian Andersens' quarter in a house from 1771. Setting is ideal for special occasions or if you want to take somebody for a nice treat. They seasonal menu and what you can choose is 3 course menu in 5 servings or 5 course menu in 7 servings. That basically means that you get pre-appetizer and pre-desert.

Since their menu is changing it is a bit difficult to talk about food. My boyfriend and I had 3 course menu. You can expect some familiar products like potato be prepared differently, for example smoked potatoes or quail egg, super thin bread crisp, carrot shaped white chocolate curl on top of orange sorbet. Seems quite simple but everything is very tasteful and served with great detail.

Service was outstanding, nothing I have seen in other restaurants (not that many of good ones in Odense). And waitress spoke good English
Price: 3 course menu 550 DKK (~ 74 EUR or 63 GBP or 96 USD)
5 course menu 730 DKK (~ 98 EUR, 84 GBP or 124 USD)
Wine price per bottle starts from 350 DKK (~ 47 EUR, 40 GBP or 61 USD) and from 90 DKK per glass. Sparkling wine - 120 DKK

So I would highly recommend this restaurant, if you have one evening to dine in Odense choose this restaurant (though it is open Tuesday to Saturday).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alinariskute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A top class restaurant with chefs who would be at home in any Michelin starred kitchen.”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This place is without doubt the best fine dining experience I have had in Denmark. The taster menu included ingredients such as champagne, caviar, beef tenderloin, monkfish. As a chef myself, I truly appreciated the fantastic techniques demonstrated by the kitchen in the preparation and presentation of these dishes. The service was outstanding, with the waitresses introducing each dish with a description of each aspect of the plate. They were obviously very passionate and knowledgable about the dishes. I would love to go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toptaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cosy old restaurant with quality food”
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

The apertizers/amuse bouch were a bit odd, and the fish as starter a bit dull. But everything else was great: the atmosphere, the service and the christmas duck we had as main course. It was sooo tender!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Magz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glostrup, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Creative cuisine, excellent quality and service!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We took the menu and the wine menu. Everything was nicely prepared and very good. The wine menu was very appropriate, both in quality and quantity. The atmosphere is really nice and cosy. Service is very friendly.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DianeChayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Under Lindetraeet also viewed

Odense, Funen and Islands
Odense, Funen and Islands
 
Odense, Funen and Islands
Odense, Funen and Islands
 
Odense, Funen and Islands
Odense, Funen and Islands
 

Been to Under Lindetraeet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing