We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food and atmosphere”
Review of Den Gamle Kro

Den Gamle Kro
Ranked #6 of 245 Restaurants in Odense
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice food and atmosphere”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Old Inn (Den Gamle Kro) serves nice food in a very cosy dinning room. The prices are fair and the staff is friendly and service minded. Really nice place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    128
    25
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch menu”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Excellent lunch plate with delicious herring, salmon, plaice and pork filet with creamy mushrooms. Nothing to complain, nice cosy atmosphere in very old house.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlesBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An oasis of cultured gastronomy”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The setting and ambience, both outside visually and inside were top-notch – good décor, comfortable, not noisy, but enjoyable and you did not feel alone. Seating was easy with tables that can extend and allow for larger parties than the three of us there that night. The food was excellent, good natural flavours, delicate reductions and the meat cooked to perfection. The wine list – oh the wine list – this list was and has to be the most impressive I have seen in many years- whoever ruins this place has a taste and a good one – wines from far and wide globally, and most far beyond my budget, but good to see them on a menu! I stuck with the local beer, it was great.

http://www.dengamlekro.eu/35-presentation.html

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicktet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always good.”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were visiting Odense to see if things had changed in the last 50 years since my wife lived here when she was 6-10. Her sad was overseeing building tankers for Chevron. DGK was great back then and still is. We had the best meal of all of our time in Denmark. Service was great. Prices were deffinately more than we usually spend but was actually reasonable for Denmark. The next time we go to Denmark we'll eat here. Hopefully sooner than. 50 years.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Simply superb”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Really great food and service.
Try the traditional Danish meal, with herring of all styles, plus fish, plus steak, plus cheese, then you will not need to eat for a week. The quality is excellent and the inn restaurant is very very nice inside. Try the meal with Danish beer and , or snaps.

It is also situated near to the old town, a great place to walk and browse around.

Helpful?
Thank nicoslindos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Den Gamle Kro also viewed

Odense, Funen and Islands
Odense, Funen and Islands
 
Odense, Funen and Islands
Odense, Funen and Islands
 

Been to Den Gamle Kro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing