We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & clean”

Danhostel Odense City
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Danhostel Odense City
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great location & clean”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

It's located just next to train and bus station. The room is quite clean and not to small.
Wifi streng is acceptable.
Don't forget to bring your own bed sheet, duvet cover, and pillow case. Anyway you can rent it, but it's expensive.
Staff at reception is not there for the whole day, might need to check in with kiosk.

Room Tip: It's on the corner of the streets, sometimes it's a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JIBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
8
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Bit expensive for a hostel, but I can't fault the location, facilities or staff. Aside from the squeaky stairs for my top bunk, everything was really nice. Staff were super friendly and helpful also, we arranged to store my luggage even though the reception wasn't open. There is key card access to everything and lockers in the room. Location is literally at the main bus and train station, and a short walk to the city center so perfect for me visiting Egeskov Castle and Funen village. Linen was not included however, so if you don't have your own it's 60DKK extra. The best choice that I could find budget wise for a solo traveller.

Also note that if you are a member of Hostelling International there is a discount, and also I believe that if you book through their own website you get a 10% discount.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiligreeBells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The hostel was located in a great location, easy to walk to the sites. However, it was overpriced for what you get. We had a 4-person room, which was tiny! To fit the beds in the room, they had to fold up two against the wall and the third had to slide under the fourth bed. We were only there for one night but there was nothing going on in the hostel, we didn't see a single soul. All-in-all, good if you just want to stay there to get some sleep, other than that, not much to offer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmckenzie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackinac Island, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Right next to train station, room facilities are excellent- with TV! Floor with carpet, comfortable mattress, strong hot showers, big windows with fresh air and sunshine! We had a twin room and ensuite bathroom. Kitchen is fully equipped and clean. Need your room card to enter the building and all the rooms/kitchen/laundry room etc, so it feels very safe especially for girls like us

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Danhostel Odense City was just your average hostel, fine for a few nights rest while you stay in Odense. The room I had was a 4-bed female only dorm. Tiny, tiny room! As it turned out, I actually had the place to myself the whole duration of my stay so the smallness of the room didn't bother me. However, if you had 4 people in there it would be very crammed. The bathroom attached to the room is also very small and basic, the shower is directly next to the toilet so it took a bit of getting use to having the water pour onto the floor just in the corner.
The common areas (they have a kitchen, lounge and dinning area) were a bit dreary and not overly inviting. But more could be said of this during high tourist season instead of my stay in April/May.
Overall, this hostel is totally fine for a stay, don't expect too much and you'll be fine. Point is to go out and spend your day exploring the city anyway! I'd try out other hostels before going back there, but it wasn't too bad.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2009

A good well-run place, with clean and fresh rooms and bathrooms. We booked a twin/double room but they were not full so gave us a 4-bed dorm room to ourselves. There were 2 bunk beds with comfy mattresses, carpeted floor (looked fairly new), and an ensuite bathroom with a good hot shower and new tiling. There were also 4 lockers in the room and a card entry system so very secure.

Our room was on the 1st floor (1 floor up) with a view over the park, and the location was great - right next to the station but we didn't hear the trains. You can see it to your right the moment you leave the station.

Friendly staff. A basic breakfast was included and available downstairs on the ground floor (also included a cafe). In the basement there was a large kitchen and an eating area, a laundry, and a common room with cable TV and a coin-operated computer for internet access, along with a few board games.

All in, a good deal. I had expected a lot less from a hostel.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and security
  • Disliked — Internet was a bit expensive
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Odense hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabinn Odense
Cabinn Odense
#7 of 17 in Odense
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
First Hotel Grand
First Hotel Grand
#1 of 17 in Odense
779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Milling Hotel Ansgar, Odense
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Scandic Odense
Scandic Odense
#2 of 17 in Odense
287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu H.C. Andersen Hotel, Odense
0.2 mi away
Milling Hotel Windsor, Odense
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danhostel Odense City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danhostel Odense City

Property: Danhostel Odense City
Address: Oestre Stationsvej 31, Odense 5000, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Funen and Islands > Odense
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Odense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Danhostel Odense City 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danhostel Odense City is situated in the former Park Hotel next to Odense Banegårds Center, with views of Kongens Have. There are bus connections to all of Odense’s attractions, sports facilities, educational institutions, etc., several times an hour. There are trains to Copenhagen and Århus every half hour. Odense Danhostel City has 4 storeys with lift. There are 39 rooms with 2, 3, 4 and 5 beds. All rooms have en-suite shower and toilet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Danhostel Odense City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing