We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even HCA's false teeth are on display” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hans Christian Andersen Museum

Hans Christian Andersen Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$118.87*
and up
Odense Hans Christian Andersen Day Trip from Copenhagen
Ranked #5 of 142 things to do in Odense
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Even HCA's false teeth are on display”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

A very comprehensive history of the life and times of Odense's most famous son. There is a plethora of exhibits, including his false teeth!. Allow half a day at least to do justice to this first class museum

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stuart - Caroli... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    184
    78
    17
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Does its best for Hans Andersen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Hans Andersen's house in Odense does try one's patience as a reader of the explanations of the exhibits but one probably owes it to one's own childhood to persevere. The place is very attractive, complete with a pool for descendants of Andersen's swan, although I'm not sure I spotted a mermaid: best place to see that is the hilarious mock-up of a mermaid skeleton on the tongue-in-cheek exhibit in the National Museum in Copenhagen. Good facilities for children and a decent cafe to eat although, if you are sick of Danish sandwiches, you might do better to explore the town a little further. Good paid parking very near. IAN

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank NZDAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
277 reviews
161 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Paperklips, Poems, and The Princess and the Pea of H. C. Andersen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We decided to take a closer look at this facility and we were pleasantly surprised. The samples of the writer's material along with many cutout paper images were very interesting and explained to me the Kim Larsen song called Paperklips amongst other things. H. C. Andersen was an interesting and unique person who wanted to write plays, poems, and children's stories and he also wanted to be married but, due to his shortage of resources when a young man, he was unable to fulfill his wish to have a family. The facility is in a nice area in Odense where the old town homes and shops add to the atmosphere. We also saw a performance of one of Andersen's stories at the ornate playhouse found close to the Hus. I will now look for copies of Andersen's work when I return home to Florida.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Theron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Quaint little village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

I went for a day trip from Copenhagen to Odense. It was a cloudy day but I had a good time visiting the H.C. Anderson hus and museum. It's worth a day trip to see this little village and the city too.

Helpful?
Thank Viajero M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
141 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A must see in the nice Odense”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

I want to the museum during a one day trip to Odense!

I agree that the museum is not very interactive and there is a lot to read but I actually liked it!

It was like going back in time and being in a fairy tale :D

There is also a very big souvenir shop with books in many languages and other souvenirs!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank silviola86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hans Christian Andersen Museum also viewed

Odense, Funen and Islands
Odense, Funen and Islands
 
Odense, Funen and Islands
 

Been to Hans Christian Andersen Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing