We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely Hygge retreat in Odense”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of First Hotel Grand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
First Hotel Grand
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Odense
Devon
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A lovely Hygge retreat in Odense”
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Lovely characterful old hotel:
high ceilings, large dining rooms with impressive columns, relatively up to date rooms with super comfortable beds. Baths available (uncommon in Denmark). Gorgeous cocktail bar. Impressive breakfast. Parking 50 meters away at the Q park, the hotel has the top floor.

Remarkable feature.... That the hotel serves Honey from its own rooftop bee hives.

Service was spot on.

Would I revisit?. Certainly.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sumoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    283
    148
    66
    35
See reviews for
125
234
28
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed at this hotel a few times as my Company makes the travel arrangements. Hotel is nice, but over rated. I stayed in the "Grand Suite" for two nights just recently. Shower was in-operable. Plug for the bath didn't fit the hole in the bath ?!?! Food is highly over priced, along with the beverages.

Staff are always very pleasant, but there are better hotels in Odense and they are cheaper. Getting a good night's sleep, certainly on the weekend, is difficult. Late night revellers are noisy, especially as the windows are single pane windows.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LGWATCHER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

A really terrible or a really excellent hotel is easy to review. It is in fact hard to describe a hotel that is close to being very good but is in the end quite bad. And this is the case with the First Grand. A place which still has single beds that are hard for adults to sleep in, a restaurant and a reception where you stand before 20 minutes before you get acknowledged and rooms that can be cold in the winter.

There is no gym and no parking and they are systematically understaffed. Don't expect then to answer the phone when you call from nearby asking for directions or to find public parking areas. They do have a deal with a nearby excellent gym so that is not too bad, but they don't tell anyone this, I am not sure why.

When I stayed there last I asked for a wake up call at 7:00am and nothing happened - no call. This is unforgivable but I had my phone alarm set because I didn't trust the hotel to deliver.

The bathroom towels are paper thin and the shower in my room didn't work very well. Water came out of two different shower heads and it couldn't be fixed to only one. The water temperature was tepid and there was no way of heating it up. The room itself was also a bit too cold and I couldn't find heating controls anywhere.

On the plus side, the deal with the nearby gym is good, the bar is excellent but small (expect to wait a while to get service) and the Salmon Great salad from room service is fantastic.

Room Tip: You must ask for a double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasofitzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Located centrally in Odense this hotel gave good service and value for money. Beautiful old buildning which has retained some pleasing details such as old paintings, staircases etc. Friendly staff, cozy bar, excellent breakfast and large rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cymruambeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a great hotel, well located withing walking distance of the railway station, and right on the restaurant/cafe strip. We walked everywhere.
On our first night when we both used the shower, a sewer blockage became evident and flooded the bathroom. I accept that such things can happen - it is how they're dealt with that's significant. In this case, on reporting the problem to reception, we were informed that we should change to a room on a different floor. This in our pyjamas, at 10.00pm, and no help offered by the hotel to re-pack and relocate our clothes and luggage. I even had to go down to reception to collect the new room key! On checking out after our stay, no apology, no gesture (eg a free breakfast or bottle of wine).
So, nice hotel let down by inept customer relations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XJ6man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

After a drive from Esjberg we needed a friendly welcome and we got one, in fact we were greeted with a smile and a friendly welcome every time we passed through reception.

The room was very spacious and had a good modern feel to it despite the old (but in a good way) look of the rest of the hotel.

There was a huge choice at breakfast and we never struggled for room in the restaurant,

Location was excellent with the city centre just a short walk away and an equally short walk to the train station.

Recommended if you are stating in this beautiful city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scfc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanpur, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

It is a gorgeous historic building at the heart of Odense. The staff is very nice and helpful. Unfortunately, the good things end here, at least for me. The room HVAC system is not good. The toilet is the problematic part. In my room (220), the toilet bowl is tiny and the seat is SIGNIFICANTLY bigger than the bowl. Flushing the toilet takes 15-20 minutes and a lot of acrobatics. I tried and tried hard could never get the shower to work, the hand shower works. The breakfast buffet leaves much to be desired. My guess would be, the establishment is seriously understaffed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amitabha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Odense hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Knudsens Gaard
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu H.C. Andersen Hotel, Odense
0.2 mi away
Milling Hotel Ansgar, Odense
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Scandic Odense
Scandic Odense
#3 of 17 in Odense
233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabinn Odense
Cabinn Odense
#7 of 17 in Odense
169 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Odense
Hotel Odense
#5 of 17 in Odense
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Grand

Property: First Hotel Grand
Address: Jernbanegade 18, Odense 5000, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Funen and Islands > Odense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Odense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Grand in the heart of Odense has been the city's most illustrious hotel since 1897. First Hotel Grand has undergone major remodeling and has reopened as one of Scandinavia's most stylish and classical hotels in keeping with its time-honored reputation as Odense's premiere hotel. Located in the heart of Odense and restored to its original grace with state-of-the-art conference facilities, First Hotel Odense is a palatial hotel and the perfect choice for travelers on romantic city breaks as well as discerning businesspeople. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Hotel Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Grand Odense
First Grand Odense
Odense First Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing