We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful hotel in a charming city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Knudsens Gaard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Knudsens Gaard
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Odense
Certificate of Excellence
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in a charming city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

As a stop in the summer holidays, this hotel was a nice experience. Spacious, newly decorated, clean, friendly and professional personell added this to otherways perfect summer holidays in Denmark. But - a heatwave in Scandinavia these actual days made sleeping impossible. No Aircondition innstalled or at least a minor air facilities possible made the nights with interior temperatures up to over 30 degrees C, uncomfortable.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hans Otto L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    74
    35
    11
    0
See reviews for
36
71
5
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
345 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Not sure if it is four star as I found that it needed a bit of TLC and smartening up in places. The exterior is really nice and gives the impression that it is better than it is. The staff were very helpful both in reception and restaurant which always helps. The restaurant is very traditional in décor and the quality of both breakfast and dinner were very good. I stayed here some years ago and in many ways little has changed. The main disadvantage is that it is out of town so if you don't have a car its a taxi if you want a change of scenery for something to eat. However I like the place and would stay again if I had the car with me.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao
Level Contributor
109 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Needed a stop over on the way to Copenhagen. This is s cozy hotel with easy access to and from the main road. Easy parking. Very helpful staff. Good Wifi. The restaurant was nicely decorated in traditional Danish style. The food ,( dinner and breakfast)was excellent. We stayed in the newer part room 135. It was modern and up to date.
We did not visit Odense city as such and cannot comment on how suitable this hotel is for a visit to Odense itself.
All in all this was a nice cozy Danish hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter19502013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Like so many Best Western hotels in Denmark, this one is a little tired, esp. with regards to the room quality. The one I had (no. 111) had the typical stale smell, and featured several minor issues (for instance, one whole wall had electrical outlets that did not function). The sleep quality was not great - an overly soft mattress and a creaky four poster frame. The bathroom was adequate, but again not great: cold water tap never actually got cold, the shower curtain didn't close properly. Overall, nothing major wrong with the room - but small annoying details a plenty. The hotel is simply too expensive for what one gets, and that is the bottom line.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank i12bent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The lovely grounds give this inn the flavor of a country retreat. The dinners we enjoyed were the best of our ten day bicycle trip. I would drive a hundred miles. (Not bike) to enjoy this jewel.
This. Place is worth a Detour.
All this charm was evidenced by the kindness of a desk clerk who went down to a dark basement room and tried about 45 keys to get me a wrench to fix my bike--god bless her!
If you upgrade to a suite you will be pleasantly surprised with the size and amenities. Basic rooms are clean and pleasant but may be considered small by American standards. We stayed two nights, one on each end of our bicycle trip, and enjoyed our stay in both room types.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jukelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talybont
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Comfortable and well-equipped room. Good breakfast and the dinner in the restaurant was very good. The resception and restaurant staff were very friendly and most helpful. Good WiFi. Plenty of parking spaces available.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IoloTalybont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This is a motel style looking hotel but it is more upscale than it appears. I stayed on the ground floor and my room overlooked a beautiful green part with the street in the distance. There is no lobby so having someone wait for you is a case of standing around. The laundry service was very slow for some reason -- fortunately I did not need the jacket till the end of my stay. Had a very enjoyable dinner in the restaurant which is transformed from what it looks like during the day. Very nice breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djp789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Odense hotels
1.2 mi away
First Hotel Grand
First Hotel Grand
#1 of 17 in Odense
3.5 of 5 stars 598 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu H.C. Andersen Hotel, Odense
2.5 mi away
Scandic Odense
Scandic Odense
#3 of 17 in Odense
3.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Odense
Hotel Odense
#5 of 17 in Odense
3.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cabinn Odense
Cabinn Odense
#6 of 17 in Odense
3.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel AnsGar
Hotel AnsGar
#8 of 17 in Odense
3.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Knudsens Gaard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Knudsens Gaard

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Knudsens Gaard
Address: Hunderupgade 2, Odense 5230, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Funen and Islands > Odense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Odense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Knudsens Gaard 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel Knudsens Gaard is a 4-star hotel with a rare combination of peace and modern comfort - studwork and paving stones - stylan and elegance. Only 3.5 km from highway and 2 km from Odense city centre. Free parking and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, HRS, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Knudsens Gaard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Odense Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing