We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stop over. Decent price. Good food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Knudsens Gaard
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Odense
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Needed a stop over on the way to Copenhagen. This is s cozy hotel with easy access to and from the main road. Easy parking. Very helpful staff. Good Wifi. The restaurant was nicely decorated in traditional Danish style. The food ,( dinner and breakfast)was excellent. We stayed in the newer part room 135. It was modern and up to date.
We did not visit Odense city as such and cannot comment on how suitable this hotel is for a visit to Odense itself.
All in all this was a nice cozy Danish hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter19502013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Hotel Knudsens Gaard
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 240 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014

Like so many Best Western hotels in Denmark, this one is a little tired, esp. with regards to the room quality. The one I had (no. 111) had the typical stale smell, and featured several minor issues (for instance, one whole wall had electrical outlets that did not function). The sleep quality was not great - an overly soft mattress and a creaky four poster frame. The bathroom was adequate, but again not great: cold water tap never actually got cold, the shower curtain didn't close properly. Overall, nothing major wrong with the room - but small annoying details a plenty. The hotel is simply too expensive for what one gets, and that is the bottom line.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i12bent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The lovely grounds give this inn the flavor of a country retreat. The dinners we enjoyed were the best of our ten day bicycle trip. I would drive a hundred miles. (Not bike) to enjoy this jewel.
This. Place is worth a Detour.
All this charm was evidenced by the kindness of a desk clerk who went down to a dark basement room and tried about 45 keys to get me a wrench to fix my bike--god bless her!
If you upgrade to a suite you will be pleasantly surprised with the size and amenities. Basic rooms are clean and pleasant but may be considered small by American standards. We stayed two nights, one on each end of our bicycle trip, and enjoyed our stay in both room types.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jukelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Comfortable and well-equipped room. Good breakfast and the dinner in the restaurant was very good. The resception and restaurant staff were very friendly and most helpful. Good WiFi. Plenty of parking spaces available.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IoloTalybont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This is a motel style looking hotel but it is more upscale than it appears. I stayed on the ground floor and my room overlooked a beautiful green part with the street in the distance. There is no lobby so having someone wait for you is a case of standing around. The laundry service was very slow for some reason -- fortunately I did not need the jacket till the end of my stay. Had a very enjoyable dinner in the restaurant which is transformed from what it looks like during the day. Very nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djp789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The hotel is listed as a 4 star hotel and I am guessing that the last star is coming from the smiling friendly staff and the quality of food
The hotel itself is a renovated old farm which also leaves some limitation - to my taste - in amenities and style
My wife and I was placed in the "newer part" which to us still seemed a little tired and old in the style and decor - Mustard yellow carpets should be replaced and paint could be freshed up a little
The bathroom also seemed institutional like and we were missing normal bath articles such as body lotion and cue tips
Everything was clean and working and as mentioned before the staff was very welcoming and smiling
The location you could say is conveniently placed between high way and city centre (2 km to city centre) but some might say it is 2km too far from centre ....
All in all an OK performance

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterRavnRasmussen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in May 2014. Great service by front desk staff and restaurant staff. Very reasonably priced hotel. Room was nice. Internet worked well. The restaurant really stood out for service and quality of food for dinner. Breakfast buffet was not bad either. They upgraded us to a better room for no charge.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Odense hotels
1.2 mi away
First Hotel Grand
First Hotel Grand
#2 of 17 in Odense
809 reviews
2.5 mi away
Scandic Odense
Scandic Odense
#1 of 17 in Odense
307 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu H.C. Andersen Hotel, Odense
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Odense
Hotel Odense
#4 of 17 in Odense
176 reviews
1.4 mi away
Milling Hotel Plaza, Odense
1.3 mi away
Milling Hotel Windsor, Odense
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Knudsens Gaard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Knudsens Gaard

Address: Hunderupgade 2, Odense 5230, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Funen and Islands > Odense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Odense
Price Range: $127 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Knudsens Gaard 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Hotel Knudsens Gaard is a 4-star hotel with a rare combination of peace and modern comfort - studwork and paving stones - stylan and elegance. Only 3.5 km from highway and 2 km from Odense city centre. Free parking and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Hotel Knudsens Gaard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Odense Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing