We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu H.C. Andersen Hotel, Odense
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Odense
Ulm, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
418 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Average hotel, good location”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

The Radisson in Odense is very well located in the city center. Otherwise the hotel is just average. Rooms are ok and clean, but old. Parking spaces are in front of the hotel, but since this is a public parking, one needs to be lucky or early. Breakfast is ok.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank christpost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    160
    167
    54
    22
See reviews for
71
142
18
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Rooms were clean and quiet. Corridors are long but it's not bad. The gym was my biggest gripe as is states "extensive weights and cardio" where there is only a chest press, a lat pull down, a shoulder press and a leg extension for weights, and a row, bike and step for cardio. The machines were in terrible condition and the weights stuck through lack of greasing on the slides. Breakfast is good considering its free, salmon, eggs, bread, meat, cheese, cereal etc. Truth be told it isn't bad but the could make it so much better!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Would_I_Go_Back
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfort, France
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Hotel very well located close to the beautiful Andersen's area.
Hotel is comfortable and pleasant. The restaurant was good and breakfast was suitable.
Staff was very kind and helpful. We got a non smoking room but it smelled very strong Tobacco. Immediately Staff was find another room.
Public parking is behind the hotel, not easy with our luggage.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alain V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I can not stay calm when it goes about cleanliness. The whole bathroom is covered with black mold...the bathtube i was supposed to wash my kids in...
The hotel has an ineffective or out of order ventilation. The windows in our room started to cry after the night, it was extremely humid.
The rest did not mean a lot personally to me after i saw the room...still to provide the hotel a chance to improve it all (i don't believe they are really interested to do so)
The parking lot is 3 min walk. with your bags. No way can you park behind the entrance.
Quick check in with no smile. The restaurant was closed in the evening...I can understand it was the 25th of December...but it is not honest in my opinion. Almost everything around is closed (just a pizza & kebab 10 min walk from there, to go option only..) You may choose to close the hotel completely for that night or keep both the hotel and restaurant (or at least bar) open for snacks.
Long corridors are hard to cope with when you have small kids.
The room was large. Two single beds made a double bed. Baby crib offered was nicely decorated with baby motives. No minibar at all.
The breakfast was a highlight after all. Fish, good choice and variety, hot dishes. Enjoyed.
The property has a potential but seems either not interested
in improvements or not well managed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night on a sales trip around Scandinavia. On this trip I've stayed in different Radisson BLU hotels in Oslo, Gothenburg, Copenhagen, Aalborg etc.
The Odense hotel was dissapointing though. It is apparently located quite central in town, and has a Casino in the basement. For the casino, it has no glamour over it. Expect middle eastern danes as guests, who come in packs.

The room was tardy and old with an annoying automatic light with a very nervous sensor. The hotel had made a nice information folder telling you to turn on the slow and cheap TV set to get any information. Apparently to save the environment, but they could fit the information in the folder they made to tell you this...

Staff were uninterested and the minibar didn't even offer a bottle of water. Put your head under the tap or put your clothes back and walk a mile down to the reception on to quench your thirst.

Two things I don't understand about this hotel:
1) Why do the manager ignore the standard he is offering? (Or is he/she incompetent? If so, why is he still employed?)
2) Why is this a Radisson BLU hotel? Why did they buy it? It doesn't fit their profile! It would be more at home in "Best Western".

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Garrrrden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Odense hotels

Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Maybe I've been travelling too much lately, but this hotel stay was not a pleasant experience. It's very close to the railway station which is good and very close to downtown restaurants, but the room was very basic. The power sockets were very hard to find making it difficult to charge my devices, but it was quiet and comfortable at least. The staff were quite inattentive, bordering on plain rude - quite unexpected and abnormal for Radisson hotels. I tried to have dinner at 6.20pm (on my own), I had to wait for 5 minutes until I was seated - then, I waited a further 15 minutes twiddling my thumbs - I don't know what the staff were doing, there were only a few diners in the restaurant at the time - I just got up and left, went downtown instead to eat. Inattentiveness is very irritating when you are dining alone! Afterwards I tried to get a drink from the bar, but the bar was unattended - the only other source of refreshment was a cash vending machine. The minibar in the room was empty too, referring the guest to the cash vending machine. All in all, not what I expect from Radisson hotels in Denmark. In the room itself,
I did have to wait 15 minutes for a taxi in the morning - again, unusual for a city centre hotel.
I guess this is how things are out in the sticks of Denmark. I would say I won't come back here, but points make prizes...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

The hallways had hard floors, so you could hear people walking down the halls while in the room. Other than that oddity, the hotel was quite nice. The room was large. There were plenty of available outlets, a good sized couch and an ironing board.

The bathroom was large and clean. The bed was comfortable.

The location was great. It is just a block away from the HC Andersen house museum. It is a block off the main shopping street. But, it is near one end of the shopping strip, so most of the stores are a few blocks away. We were able to easily drive to the Svendborg ferry and Egestov Slot from here. Each was about 30 minutes away.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Odense hotels
0.3 mi away
First Hotel Grand
First Hotel Grand
#2 of 17 in Odense
791 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Knudsens Gaard
3.3 mi away
Scandic Odense
Scandic Odense
#1 of 17 in Odense
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Odense
Hotel Odense
#4 of 17 in Odense
172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Milling Hotel Plaza, Odense
0.4 mi away
Milling Hotel Windsor, Odense
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu H.C. Andersen Hotel, Odense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu H.C. Andersen Hotel, Odense

Property: Radisson Blu H.C. Andersen Hotel, Odense
Address: Claus Bergs Gade 7, Odense 5000, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Funen and Islands > Odense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Odense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu H.C. Andersen Hotel, Odense 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu H.C. Andersen Hotel, Odense is a charming accommodation choice in idyllic Odense, Hans Christian Andersen's cobblestoned hometown. The delightful Concert Hall invites guests to attend a lovely programme or production, while the nearby train station allows travellers to easily access the rest of the city. Enjoy Free high-speed, wireless Internet in the 145 rooms and suites and the convenience of on-site dining at Restaurant Hans Christian, which hosts the Super Breakfast Buffet. On-site fitness facilities include a sauna, and the 17 meeting rooms are ideal for seamless events. Enviable location near attractions like the Hans Christian Andersen House Adjacent to Odense Concert Hall and 550 metres from the train station A total of 145 Odense hotel rooms with Free high-speed, wireless Internet French and Danish cuisine at on-site Restaurant Hans Christian Odense hotel with lively in-house casino State-of-the-art exercise facilities with sauna and sun bed Adaptable, contemporary meeting rooms for galas and seminars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Rezidor, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Radisson Blu H.C. Andersen Hotel, Odense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing