We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located and good value motel”
Review of AnsGarhus Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
AnsGarhus Motel
Ranked #1 of 33 Odense B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well located and good value motel”
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The location was ideal, an easy walk to the centre of Odense, for sightseeing etc. The breakfast was good, with cereal, yoghurt, several different types of bread cold meats and cheese. Plenty of orange juice and coffee were also available. The room was comfortable and clean, with comfortable beds and a reasonable sized en-suite. Car parking was available at no cost. Very good value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Billthornthwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    35
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
42
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Only a few minutes walk into the centre of Odense but in a peaceful residential location with easy parking. The room was large and comfortable, and very clean. Breakfast was really good, and Kenneth, the owner, very helpful and friendly. Good value and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stix80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

motel is in a good location - a walk away from the centre of town (if you have luggage that is quite heavy you'll have to get a taxi from the station...lighter luggage then you could walk - about 20 mins...a bit less)
the motel is situated opposite a church and a huge park - there is a lovely walk down through the river off the right to the park (across the road)
the motel is basic and functional - like all thinks danish (after my experience of visiting denmark i doubt i will ever be going back - its way too expensive and you get so much much more for your money elsewhere in the world...including other scandor countries...Sweden and Norway have more personality and va va voom than Denmark alas)...back to the motel...
nice breakfast room - the Danes seem to have a thing for loading up on carbs so except the obligatory different types of breads, cheese, meats, yogurt etc
the only gripe and issue i had with the room i was staying at was that the curtains in the room are not heavy enough to stop the light - so when the sun goes up....which in May can be around 4am - you find yourself in a sun drenched room (I would suggest that it may be a wise investment to have blackout curtains added for the 'summer' months..although i get hte feeling that the motels idea is to have people in and out - it seems to be a busy place with lots of people staying overnight)
If I had to go back to Odense (although i'm praying to all the gods that this is never transpires) then i would stay here again - its expensive but thats Denmark for you - the motel is located in a great location, Kenneth is lovely and extremely helpful - the motel is clean and beautifully furnished (an oasis of calm) and the bedrooms are comfortable, clean and functional

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EastLondonGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

There was only a twin bedroom left when we booked this b&b. The room was large with a sofa, desk and tv.

The bathroom was adequate, with a "wet shower" in one corner. With the shower curtain then this ensured that the whole room didn’t get wet.
The bedroom and bathroom were clean and towels were provided.
There was free wifi in the rooms which was handy.
Breakfast was nice, cheese, cold meats, yoghurt, cereals, tea, coffee and orange juice provided.

The b&b is very central and you can walk everywhere. There was parking outside and on the road so we didn’t have any problem with this.
The owner was polite and helpful and made our stay pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Italian_kilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afula
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

This motel is modest but we had a comfortable room which was more than adequate. The breakfast was excellent and there is a pleasant garden to sit in. The proprietor, Kenneth, is a great alker nad very helpful. Thoroughly recommendable, all together.

Room Tip: The rooms differ in size. Make sure when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jastary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
294 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We only stayed here for one night to see the town of Odense and the HC Andersen house. The motel (I think they should call it an inn, instead of a motel) offers free parking and has a great central location. Only a 3-5 minute walk to the central commercial district of the town.

Our room (number 4) was on the ground floor and had 2 single beds and a good size bath with large shower. Everything (carpet, bath decor, bedroom walls) seemed to have been recently re-done. Very Danish (basic ... but comfortable and functionable).

The host is a marvel, always on the go but always having time for you to answer questions and help make your stay pleasant. The breakfast was abundant with fresh baked goods, in addition to the usual Danish breakfast items.

While our room was on the ground floor, I had a look at the stairs up to the 1st floor which seemed rather steep and could be problematic if you had a lot of luggage to move upstairs (since I don't think there is an elevator). Best to ask for a ground floor room.

I would stay here again if I ever return to Odense ... you never know! :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor (no elevator and steep stairs)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mascalzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

It was my first visit to Denmark, actually to Scandinavian countries. This motel certainly gave me and my family a fantastic first impression. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are very comfortable and the windows open to a lovely garden. Our rooms were on the ground floor. We took 3 rooms (2 for 2 person and 1 for 1 person). The single room was very cosy. Breakfast consisted of the normal continental breakfast (bread, cheese, cereals, etc) and guests can choose to have it in the dining room or in the back garden. When leaving the motel, I quietly hoped that all the hotels that we'll be staying in for the rest of our travels in Scandinavia would be like this motel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linbewie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Odense hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Knudsens Gaard
0.5 mi away
First Hotel Grand
First Hotel Grand
#1 of 17 in Odense
3.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu H.C. Andersen Hotel, Odense
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cabinn Odense
Cabinn Odense
#7 of 17 in Odense
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.6 mi away
Milling Hotel Ansgar, Odense
0.5 mi away
Milling Hotel Windsor, Odense
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AnsGarhus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AnsGarhus Motel

Property: AnsGarhus Motel
Address: Kirkegaards Alle 17, Odense 5000, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Funen and Islands > Odense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Odense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — AnsGarhus Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ansgarhus is a comfortable little motel with the best location and reasonable prices. It is located in one of the most beautiful neighborhoods in Odense. Personal service, good atmosphere and careful cleaning are the keywords of the staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your AnsGarhus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing