We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality and affordability in Fyn”
Review of Hotel Hesselet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hesselet
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nyborg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The Hotel Hesselet is a wonderful place to stay when visiting Fyn. Located right on the beach, this luxurious, but affordable hotel offers an indoor pool, great dining, lovely if simple rooms (but large bathrooms), and extras typically found in much more expensive hotels.

For example, the cost includes a sumptuous buffet breakfast, which had smoked salmon, all kinds of cheese, eggs, sausage, pastries, etc. Like a Ritz Carlton buffet!

The beach is beautiful, and the hotel staff very helpful - all English speaking too.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 171 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2011

We spent to glorious nights at Hotel Hesselet. It was the perfect respite after 4 days in Copenhagen. The 1967-built hotel has retro charm but a modern attitude. Our spacious room had a beautiful view of the Baltic Sea and the well kept hotel lawn. We were greeted with cake and coffee at a table for two set up on the terrace. Dinner both nights in the restaurant was superb and Simon was truly an amazing waiter! The front desk staff was very attentive. The bikes provided by the hotel were the perfect way for us to explore the charming town of Nyborg (visit the castle and the church--the organist was practicing when we came in and gave us our own private concert!). The breakfast buffet each morning was plentiful. The pool is beautiful. We watched the kitchen staff cutting fresh herbs in the garden just outside the pool and we tasted those herbs in our dinner later that evening! The artwork throughout the complex (most pieces painted by Funen artists we were told) is spectacular! We had a memorable stay at Hotel Hesselet. It was a wonderful experience and I hope we can visit again some day!

Room Tip: Be sure to reserve a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcschleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

We only stayed for one night but from the moment you enter the driveway you know that the experience will be very special. The Hotel was fantastic in every way and the pool/fitness areas are exceptional. The view of the bridge from our room across the beautiful gardens took your breath away. Our only complaint was of Nyborg itself. We had hoped to walk into the town and have a meal in a local restaurant. We walked into town OK but everybody had gone home and turned the lights out. It was lifeless and with all of the restaurants closed (it was a Monday) we ended up having a pizza in a take away

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aprilia10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We travelled with our daughter and my parents and therefore booked three different rooms. When we arrived at the hotel we asked if we could have two of the rooms with connected doors. The staff obliged immediately. We had chosen a package with wine fruit and chocolate on arrival, and the staff nicely offered to arrange the whole setting in one room so that we could enjoy it together. It was a very touch. The rooms were very nice and cozy with beautiful bathrooms. All with see view. We enjoyed the swimming pool and jaccuzzi, played ping pong in the basement and took a nice walk in the neighbourhoods. The food was good and service impeccable.
All in all an excellent hotel with a very nice staff.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank secret0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Great hotel, on coast with distant views of the bridge between Zealand and Funen (5 mins from motorway and but well away from any noise in quiet wooded area outside of Nyborg itself).
Fantastic rooms, with reall nice modern scandic style furniture and soft furnishings with great marble bathroom, brilliant glass and wood balcony and all the mod cons (fridge, aircon, TV, ironing board in room etc).
This was the nicest hotel we stayed at in our trip around the Denmark countryside.
Gourmet restaurant on site, with really good (if very expensive) food. Pool in hotel and tennis courts. About 1 hour to Egeskov Slot (well worth visit - Caste/stately home with extensive landscaped grounds with restaurants, museums, lake etc).
A 10/10 experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We chose this hotel for a weekend stay because their webpage made the impression it is a very welcoming and design oriented hotel with a bit of gourmet food.
When we checked in we were not welcomed, nothing was explained to us, we were only handed a key and that was it. You may say that is very efficient but for that price I expect that at least someone wishes me a nice stay. We booked a double bed, but it was only 2 single bed put next to each other (not even connected). Upon asking the reception if there are any double beds (without a 5cm gap between 2 matraces) we were told "no, that's Denmark".
We had a seaview terace room with modern furniture, which was nice, but the furniture beeing new had a really strange smell.
I don't want to go into more details, my general impression was that staff was not very friendly and did not care much about the guests. In general the guests in this hotel are elder couples and the athmosphere during dining / breakfast was rather stiff.
The location of the hotel is nice, although you should not expect a great beach - not sure if it is nice for swimming, it didn't seem like.
Overall I had expected much more and would not recommend it for a romantic minibreak.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank okristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

We were on a roundtrip through Denmark and since we hate to rush just because any hotelroom that was pre-booked, waits for us somewhere. So we started to look for a decent hotel when we felt we needed to rest - and The Hesselet was our choice of the day. It seemed that almost all rooms were booked that day and we were offered a discount for late check-in. That was a pretty good start and we were absolutely not diappointed by anything that followed.
The Hesselet is all but a discount hotel - but worth every Kroner, Dollar or Euro. Spacious Rooms with walk-in-closet for suitcases and clothes, very clean bedroom and (even more important to us) bathroom, free bath robes, free swim clothes for Him and for Her to lend, inviting pool, first class breakfast (cloth napkins, silver cutlery, huge variety of food for every style of breakfast).
The hotel is located just a few yards from the Baltic Sea shore with great view of the Storebelt-bridge and embedded in a beautiful forest.
Service offers of cours room service, shoe shine and much more - things we did neither need nor use. But it felt great to have all these offers at hand.
Clear recommendation though not for near empty wallets.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nyborg
21.2 mi away
Stella Maris - Hotel de Luxe
0.8 mi away
Sinatur Hotel Storebaelt
0.2 mi away
Nyborg Strand
Nyborg Strand
#3 of 5 in Nyborg
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Hotel Christiansminde
Hotel Christiansminde
#3 of 8 in Svendborg
152 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Gulle
Hotel Villa Gulle
#4 of 5 in Nyborg
52 reviews
13.7 mi away
Munkebo Kro
Munkebo Kro
#1 of 1 in Munkebo
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hesselet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hesselet

Address: Christianslundsvej 119, Nyborg 5800, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Funen and Islands > Nyborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nyborg
Price Range: $153 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hesselet 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation Hotel Hesselet in Nyborg is one of the leading quality and conference hotels - Why? Because we create personal relationships with our guests and make an extra effort for the unique and personal experience. Love and passion for food, and a pounding heart for the inn is the essence of Hotel Hesselet Set in tranquil surroundings between beech and forest and direct view to the Great Belt. With a location, 3-minute drive from the Great Belt, we are the ideal hotel, if you are looking for an overnight stay on your journey through the Danish country and looking for delicious frames. We are open at the front desk 24 hours a day, We have minibar - coffee / tea in the room, and always helpful with a bite to eat if you arrive late. holiday Find an escape from the everyday hustle and bustle in quiet surroundings at Hotel Hesselet. The view and the surroundings is something for every nature lover. Whatever you're into bird song or wave splashing and simply looking for the perfect place to pull you away from everyday life and reset, then we are the perfect place for you. We look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Hesselet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hesselet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing