We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average”
Review of Nyborg Strand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nyborg Strand
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Nyborg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Nyborg Strand is a very large hotel located just on a beach at the outskirts of Nyborg, about 20 minutes walk to the city center. Although it looks quite moder from the outside, the interior has not been renovated for a long time. Rooms and bathrooms are quite shabby, and the common areas definitely have their best time behind them. There are two restaurants there, which saves you a walk to the city center just to have dinner. Service is polite but not particularly friendly. Breakfast is rather simple, but freshly made pancakes are a big plus. There is a swimming pool and a self-service laundry in the basement.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanna102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 213 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2010

This is one of not-so-many hotels in Nyborg, so they can be sure to have clients even if service is average.

Advantages:

+ quiet location
+ sea and beach view
+ swimming pool
+ free internet access
+ self-service laundry with dryer
+ fresh pancakes for breakfast

Disadvantages:

- far away from the city center (but OK, if you have a bike)
- old decor, shabby bathroom
- no garage for bikes

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Awal10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Lovely Hotel with various wings, several restaurants and a great location on the beachfront, ideal for anyone. 2 minutes by taxi from nyborg station, great food, good service.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benceltic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

This is an extremely large hotel catering for seminars and conferences and is like a large university campus. The decor is dreary and the beds needed replacing. The breakfast was way below the standard encountered on our two week tour of Denmark and Sweden and this hotel was the most expensive that we stayed in and the poorest value for money

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

This hotel is a bit pricy for what you get. It's a very big hotel, in a very small town. You have a nice view of the sea from the restaurant patio.

Staff is distant but professional.

Parking is hidden in the back, follow the signs....

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Voortor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

I was recently at this hotel for a meeting. It is very much a place for conferences and business meetings, being so centrally located in Denmark (within sight of the Great Belt Bridge). There are lots of facilities (including a pool) but I didn't have time to make use of them. The hotel is big, somewhat soulless, but clean and comfortable, with good food in the restaurant. I would be happy to go back, but for a private stay I'd rather go to the much smaller and more friendly Hotel Villa Gulle in the centre of Nyborg.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Matthew303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2007

Arrived at darkness. Was given a key at the reception (hidden quite far inside the main building). Told me the room should be accessible from outside. Went outside heavy luggage, started looking for different entrances. Lanterns outside on face height do only throw light on your face; you can see hardly any direction sign on the vaste area. Chaotic room numbering through the buildings, made by the team of B. Fawlty? Had to pull the luggage back all the way in, ask again and now got the building pointed out from the stairs of the main bld. The room had bad ventilation, smelly in spite of a well functoning smoker ban; bathroom with two-taps cheap shower directly on its floor. I was too tired to go to reception a third time ...

At check out the gloomy staff (not same as at check in) took my credit and my milage card, registered and said goodbye. Used to wait a little longer for mileage registration, I did not answer goodbye but asked about the mileage - only then I was told she did not register because not recognized by her ... (BTW, a card of a major airline with Best Western Hotels as mileage partner)

Restaurant was as good as you can expect at 4-stars rating, friendly staff both at supper and breakfast. Barely saving Nyborg Strand from being rated "terrible" by me.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milan_Miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nyborg
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hesselet
Hotel Hesselet
#1 of 5 in Nyborg
172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sinatur Hotel Storebaelt
19.1 mi away
Hotel Christiansminde
Hotel Christiansminde
#3 of 8 in Svendborg
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Gulle
Hotel Villa Gulle
#4 of 5 in Nyborg
52 reviews
13.2 mi away
Comwell Korsor
Comwell Korsor
#1 of 4 in Korsoer
184 reviews
19.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Svendborg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nyborg Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nyborg Strand

Address: Oesteroevej 2, Nyborg 5800, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Funen and Islands > Nyborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Nyborg
Price Range: $132 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nyborg Strand 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nyborg Strand. Restaurant. Bistro. Bar. Park. Beach. Indoor swimming pool. Sauna. Free parking. 100% non smoking. Conference facilities. Free internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nyborg Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nyborg
Nyborg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing